Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney at its best
For those who have never seen it Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs is a huge treat. It was Disney's first feature length animation film and the colours and artistry are wonderful, very 'art nouveau' in style, especially the drawing of the trees and the forest. As for the way the Disney studio painted water - really, Monet could have learned something from them...
Published 4 months ago by Sandra Harris

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star Film, Weak Release. The Extras Are....
This new Blu Ray release of the timeless classic Snow White contains one disc only.
It is the first disc from Disney s three disc set (2 Blu ray 1 DVD) from 2009.
A pity its only 1 disc, yes, but a welcome release for alot of people I'm sure.

The bonus features:

Audio Commentary by film historian John Canemaker
9 minute featurette Snow...
Published 8 months ago by D. Mccaffrey


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney at its best, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who have never seen it Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs is a huge treat. It was Disney's first feature length animation film and the colours and artistry are wonderful, very 'art nouveau' in style, especially the drawing of the trees and the forest. As for the way the Disney studio painted water - really, Monet could have learned something from them. Interestingly, it wasn't particularly aimed at children. This could possibly explain why it's really very scary. Especially the changing of the wicked, but beautiful queen into a grotesque old hag. Nevertheless my grand-daughter aged four loves it and I am happy to watch it with her time after time after time because of the artistry involved. A win-win situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fairest of them all (nearly), 2 July 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs [Blu-ray] [Region B and C] (Blu-ray)
Based on the Grimms Bros fairy tale, "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" remains the greatest film achievement in animation history. Filmed between 1934-1937, "Snow White" was the first full length colour animated feature told as a dramatic fairy tale. 77 years later, it still impresses viewers with its technical brilliance as well as with its emotional power. Creator Walt Disney proved a visionary and a pioneer; one can only be amazed by the attention paid to every aspect of this film, from the use of colours and sound to the storyline and character development, making it a landmark in movie history.

The quality of the image and sound is superb, the clarity and fullness that has been achieved is astounding. The restoration and remastering have removed all dust and scratches. Presented in its original 4:3 aspect ratio, the film makes its HD entry on bluray with 1080p HD picture quality and 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio. The Disney company has done a spectacular job at remastering the video and audio tapes. The sound in particular is crispier and fuller than ever before, it is remarkable what has been done with a mono audio track that now takes full advantage of the capabilities of a multi-speaker home theatre system.

In contrast with the US bluray release of 2009, this EU edition disappoints greatly when it comes to extras; some audio commentary, a small featurette, a music video, and 11 minutes of deleted scenes, are very little bonus material for a bluray release of one of Disney's most celebrated films. This is where this release fails to excite, so, for those who wish to experience and enjoy a spectacular package, they should look out for the Platinum or Diamond editions, available at a higher price, but full of exclusive bonus features (clocking even up to 25 hours in total on some editions!).

"Snow White" is a crowning achievement that deserves a place in every home library. It is probably the best family film ever to deal with the foundation for growing up, in mythical terms at least. Most may have seen this movie as children, but I think only when watching it again as adults can make obvious why this film is held in such reverence. "Snow White" is much more than a movie, it is art at the highest level, and like all great art, its magic is timeless. Despite the lack of extras, it is still a purchase of the highest standards, a precious addition to enhance any collection, and one to cherish forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It didn't make me GRUMPY!!!!, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs [Blu-ray] [Region B and C] (Blu-ray)
Absolutely brilliant. The quality was excellent, and I particularly liked the idea of putting a border around the picture.

A timeless CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Magic, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs [Blu-ray] [Region B and C] (Blu-ray)
Amazing quality academy framed image. Sound is crystal clear, pure Disney magic.

Extras are better on the platinum dvd, so keep that copy, but add this for the picture quality.

Well worth the purchase.

For those outside the UK region B & C, you will need a blu ray multi player as this is not region free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At age 26 I thought I better buy Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs as I seemed to be one of a very few group of people who has never seen it before.

It's a nice film. I wouldn't say it was "amazing", but I really did enjoy it & will be watching it again. I own a number of Disney shorts from the 1930's too so it's really nice to see how Disney developed from 7min cartoon shorts to a film lasting 1 hour & 20mins.

As for the DVD set I bought, there is no extra's, but the disk does have full subtitles. It's pretty hard to work out what review is for what set due to Amazon moving all the reviews all together, but there you go, That's Amazon for you! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snow White [limited edition sleeve artwork] Blu-ray, 24 Feb. 2015
By 
Anthony Whitfield "Tony Whitfield" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This version of Snow White And The Seven Dwarves Blu-ray [12-2014] has what is described as an O ring. It is just a different SLEEVE. The Picture and sound are as good as you can expect, with the advantage of Disney view, which creates a 16;9 image by adding various changing side panels. This also protects from screen burn after image. This disc was really inexpensive compared to the previous release, but at the expense of losing most of the interesting extras and game. It's enough for most children, of all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star Film, Weak Release. The Extras Are...., 26 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs [Blu-ray] [Region B and C] (Blu-ray)
This new Blu Ray release of the timeless classic Snow White contains one disc only.
It is the first disc from Disney s three disc set (2 Blu ray 1 DVD) from 2009.
A pity its only 1 disc, yes, but a welcome release for alot of people I'm sure.

The bonus features:

Audio Commentary by film historian John Canemaker
9 minute featurette Snow White Returns
11 minutes of deleted scenes
Some Day My Prince Will Come music video
8 minute sneak preview of The Princess and The Frog
'Disney View' which paints the black borders above and below the image (leave it off!)
three games played with your remote control.

Technical features:

1080p HD, presented in 1:33:1 widescreen
DTS 7.1 HD surround sound in english
Dolby digital 5.1 surround sound in Hindi and Spanish
DTS 5.1 in Italian, Spanish and Dutch
Eniglish, Italian, Spanish and Dutch subtitles.

I personally feel that when it comes to the UK market, Disney treat us poorly with regard to price and content, but there ya go.

CLASSIC film, POOR UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The songs seem a bit long and the voices are not very nice. But great story and if you like animation ..., 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic. Maybe one for the girls or parents. It was not fast paced enough for my 6 year old son. The songs seem a bit long and the voices are not very nice. But great story and if you like animation you will be constantly asking yourself how did they make so much great animation nearly 70 years ago without all the CGI technology they have now a days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we loved watching it together with our popcorn on the 'big ..., 1 Jan. 2015
Bought this for my grandaughter who went to see Snow White at our local theatre this Christmas..we loved watching it together with our popcorn on the 'big screen'..she thinks we're at the cinema because the tele is on the wall ;) Would recommend to anyone who loves disney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big fan of Walt Disney and loved this film as a child, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big fan of Walt Disney and loved this film as a child...Would have bought sooner but price too high and also not in Region 2 but saw this and grabbed it ..... may even have bought two - in fact believe I did!!! ... such a brilliant film ......never ages!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs [Blu-ray] [Region B and C]
£14.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews