Customer Reviews


475 Reviews
5 star:
 (375)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good performance, cheap, value for money - perfect!
When it comes to SSDs, you can't go wrong with Crucial. This is their MX100 line, which is intended to replace their M500 line (not the M550 line).

You should note that the performance on the 128GB, 256GB and 512GB models are different and at the time of writing, I believe the descriptions on the Amazon page are incorrect.

All variants have a 550...
Published 7 months ago by S. Altaf

versus
44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8.1 users beware!
This review applies only to Windows 8.1 users (though the problem I describe has been known to bite Win 8.0 users who upgraded to 8.1 after installing an MX100 as their boot drive).

Anyone using Win 8.1 who follows the advice on the Crucial website, downloads the free version of Acronis TrueImage 2014 that Crucial make specially available to purchasers via a...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good performance, cheap, value for money - perfect!, 9 July 2014
By 
S. Altaf "The Frog" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When it comes to SSDs, you can't go wrong with Crucial. This is their MX100 line, which is intended to replace their M500 line (not the M550 line).

You should note that the performance on the 128GB, 256GB and 512GB models are different and at the time of writing, I believe the descriptions on the Amazon page are incorrect.

All variants have a 550 MB/s sequential read, but they have different sequential write speeds; the 128 GB SSD has 150 MB/s. The 256 GB SSD has 330 MB/s. The 512 GB SSD has 500 MB/s. Real world measurements may differ, but those are the numbers you should see. You can get proper, more detailed numbers if you search for reviews on reputable sites such as Bit-Tech or AnandTech.

In terms of performance compared to other SSDs, this is pretty much neck-to-neck, making it a great value for money, so whether you're going for a low, mid or high end build, this will do the job just fine. Also, I have bought this in addition to an M500 480 GB SSD, its 'predecessor', which it does outperform slightly.

One of the main reasons to get an SSD is to improve your experience with your laptop/computer. So while different people may get different boot-up times, it's the wrong thing to focus on. You only reboot a few times a day (at most), but you use applications and read/write far more often than that. It doesn't matter if your computer boots up in 8 or 10 seconds, what matters is that your applications load faster than before. In terms of the big ones, these are Photoshop, Lightroom, Visual Studio, IntelliJ and SQL Server and all of them benefit from the performance improvement. (Actually, you may get misleading and overly-optimistic SQL query times on your SSDs and may want to do a proper performance profile when deploying).

Not to forget games - in some instances (depending on your build), games may load too fast, causing you to miss helpful tips on the loading screens. Browsing becomes much faster, as browsers like Chrome tend to write a lot to disk, and having a better disk means less wait times.

This is a fantastic price for a great product and I'd definitely recommend this for anyone, it will breathe new life into old machines and is now a must have for new builds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product with Pretty Straightforward Installation, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
Stewart Gillies (Stevenage, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Installation on my Dell XPS M1330 was straightforward.
Rather than cloning I used the more secure Backup / Recovery approach described in the include Acronis software users’ guide. I used a Western Digital My Book Studio for holding the backup. As this SSD had a bigger capacity than my existing HDD’s 320Gb, I had no need to shrink or omit anything
This worked well once the SSD had been initialised so that it was recognised by the system. This was not clear from the stand alone step by step description of the Backup / Recovery process.
My laptop running Windows 7 32bit now comes out of hibernation mode in a couple of seconds – very impressive & the SSD measured performance is now close to the Windows maximum. Subjectively it seems to have produced a much greater improvement in speed on this laptop than a previous in stallion of a similar but small SSD on my Windows 7 32 bit desktop. Not sure why – might be related to the amount of RAM 16Gb in the Desktop cf 4Gb in the laptop
The capacity of this SSD is easily sufficient to hold all my system, application & data files.
Overall I’m very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value SSD, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cheap and reliable. We buy quite a lot of these, and so far have had no issues. It isn't as fast as a Samsung 850Pro, but it is half the price and you would be hard pressed to notice the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most cost-effective upgrade you're ever likely to make., 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Adrian Kelly (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT256MX100SSD1 256GB MX100 SATA 2.5 Inch 7mm SSD Includes 9.5mm Spacer (Personal Computers)
I bought one of these to replace the hard disk in my wife's 3-year old Samsung laptop. It's a reasonably specced machine with a Core i5 dual-core CPU, 8GB RAM and a 750GB hard disk but the boot times had been creeping up recently to annoying levels so, with the price of SSDs falling to sane levels, I purchased one of these. I chose Crucial having had a C300 SSD in my desktop gaming machine for the past 3.5 years with no issues whatsoever. My wife won't need anywhere near the 750GB that her laptop had originally being a typical home user so I judged that 256GB would do nicely.

The laptop only has SATA2 on board so I chose the MX100 over the slightly more expensive and slightly faster MX550 and I used the bundled Acronis software to clone and shrink her existing Windows 7 installation. The whole process was easy and took around an hour to transfer around 120GB of data (using a 2.5" USB drive kit that I bought separately). After a couple of false starts due to the boot information not being written properly, which I fixed using a windows recovery USB stick, the laptop's absolutely flying now.

In the spirit of trying to be scientific about it, I noted the Windows Experience scores and Crystal Diskmark benchmarks before and after installation as well as measuring the elapsed time from 'off' to arriving at the Windows password prompt...

...and here are the results:

The Windows Experience score for hard disk performance increased from 5.9 to 7.9 (the maximum for Windows 7).

The Crystal Diskmark scores were:

BEFORE:
1000MB sequential read: 73.16MB/s
1000MB sequential write: 65.23MB/s
512KB read: 19.87MB/s
512KB write: 20.53MB/s
4KB random read: 0.273MB/s
4KB random write: 0.540MB/s
4K QD32 read: 0.482MB/s
4K QD32 write: 0.538MB/s

AFTER:
1000MB sequential read: 316.9MB/s
1000MB sequential write: 331.0MB/s
512KB read: 339.9MB/s
512KB write: 333.4MB/s
4KB random read: 22.87MB/s
4KB random write: 81.14MB/s
4K QD32 read: 181.3MB/s
4K QD32 write: 189.4MB/s

These scores would undoubtedly be even higher with a SATA-3 controller on board.

This cut the boot time of the laptop from 57 seconds just get to the windows password prompt down to 17 seconds. Then it took only a further 16 seconds after entering the password for Windows to get to a usable state which was impressive, to say the least, since this had been taking several minutes immediately prior to the upgrade.

So, in a nutshell, I unreservedly recommend this drive.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Update: I've just upgraded the same laptop to Windows 8.1 and, because it supports UEFI, the OS now boots in 6 seconds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8.1 users beware!, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review applies only to Windows 8.1 users (though the problem I describe has been known to bite Win 8.0 users who upgraded to 8.1 after installing an MX100 as their boot drive).

Anyone using Win 8.1 who follows the advice on the Crucial website, downloads the free version of Acronis TrueImage 2014 that Crucial make specially available to purchasers via a slip in the packaging, installs TrueImage on their current hard disk, then uses it to clone their current hard disk partitions on to the MX100 may be in for a surprise when they then boot from the newly-installed MX100.

In some cases (mine included) the system will boot (pleasingly quickly) and appear to run without hassle... for a while. But then, without warning, it starts to seize up in a very strange way. Applications load and start up as normal, but any attempt to select from their menus produces no response. You still (for a time) have control of the mouse and keyboard, and you can go to your desktop and try to start any other application, which will also duly load, put up its opening screen... then refuse to do anything else. Once you've tried this with a few different applications, you find that you no longer get any response from the keyboard. You can still move the mouse, and use it to select areas on your desktop, but aside from that, no mouse clicks have any effect. You now have an unusable desktop, with no way of getting to the Task Manager to attempt to close any applications or reload Explorer. Your only way out is to force a power off.

If you go to Crucial's user forums you will find many Win 8.1 users complaining of precisely this behaviour over the past several months. At the time of writing this review (early October 2014), you won't, however, find any acknowledgement from Crucial that the problem exists, either in the forums or via their support system. But hidden among all the frustrated users you will find the solution in one or two of the postings (thanks to a detailed exploration of the issue in a German computer magazine).

There is a apparently serious, so far unidentified, incompatibility between the MX100, the Acronis software provided by Crucial, Win 8.1 and some motherboards and/or disk controllers. Fortunately, there's a simple fix. Uninstall Acronis TrueImage from your MX100 and everything will be fine.

But if you set up your MX100 in the standard way, you'll need to do the TrueImage uninstall immediately you've rebooted from the MX100 for the first time, and before the freeze sets in. So a better approach is the following sequence.

1. While your old hard disk is still in place, install the supplied TrueImage on it as per the instructions.
2. Start TrueImage from your old hard disk, and from its menu select Create Emergency Startup Disk. Follow the instructions to create a TrueImage emergency boot disk on a CDROM or a USB stick.
3. Now uninstall TrueImage from your hard disk (that way you won't clone it on to your MX100 in the next steps, so you won't need to uninstall it from your SSD boot drive afterwards).
4. Attach your new MX100 to your PC alongside your existing hard disk (either connect it via another SATA cable to your disk controller, or use a USB external drive adapter)
5. Set your BIOS to boot first from either your CD drive or a USB stick, depending on which medium you created the TrueImage boot disk on, then insert the CD or attach the stick you initialised in sept 2, then reboot the machine.
6. Your PC will now boot into TrueImage from the external medium and you will have access to the both your old hard disk and your new MX100. You can clone and/or shrink the partions of your old disk on to the MX100 following the on-screen instructions. TrueImage will no longer be on your old hard disk, and so won't get cloned onto the MX100

From here on, everything is as documented in the standard instructions.

Once TrueImage is out of the way, the performance of the MX100 is everything the many positive reviews here say. Definitely 5-star worthy. It might seem strange to downrate the product when the problem in all likelihood lies with the TrueImage software. But then again, though Crucial doesn't manufacture TrueImage, it does supply it, and the installation procedure Crucial recommends entails its use. Worse still, at the time of writing this review, Crucial is apparently ignoring all the reports about the problem and offering no help to purchasers who encounter it. Although the solution can indeed be found in some user posts on the Crucial forums, those posts are mixed in with the usual sort of "it doesn't work" sort of response from other users, who probably haven't actually ininstalled TrueImage properly, and some distinctly unwise suggestions about messing around with disk drivers.

So I've opted for just two stars, as a judgement on how the product, if installed on Win 8,1 by a user who followed the official instructions in good faith, would perform.

Let's hope that, before too long, Crucial owns up to the problem and either gets a software fix or provides official workaround instructions. The current situation rather dents Crucial's otherwise well-deserved good reputation and masks the merits of an intrinsically excellent piece of hardware which, once it's working properly, makes Win8.1 much more pleasant to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Given the old girl a new lease of life, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CT256MX100SSD1 256GB MX100 SATA 2.5 Inch 7mm SSD Includes 9.5mm Spacer (Personal Computers)
I have a much loved (used daily) but ageing Dell Inspiron 640m E1405 laptop which must date back to 2006. Has a SATA 1 hard disk controller on a 150gb HD. Intel 945GM chipset. 2gb RAM. Its built like a tank but sadly was struggling to cope with the demands of modern life.

I thought about spending money upgrading the memory from 2gb of ram but when i ran the memory scanner it recommended this SSD drive. Everything I read said it would not run a SSD very well due to its age and there may be BIOS issues etc etc. But had to give the old girl a chance and took the plunge.

Crucial drive comes with licence for True Image from Acronis to clone the drive but I also purchased their SSD upgrade kit which provides all the leads and a spare case to turn the old HDD into a portable drive. Probably dont need this is you know what you are doing and have the correct leads but this helped me. I had terrible problems getting the drive cloning to work from within windows but read that it is more reliable using a boot disk version created within True Image to USB. I did this and it cloned first time in about 15 minutes. It allocated the extra storage equally across the 2 existing partitions which was fine.

My new SSD fitted perflectly in the cradle with the 4 existing screws. I then fired it up and held my breath and to my amazement it started perfectly. Windows loaded and all my programs and files were there. It needed one reboot to settle everything into place and now works perfectly just as before but feels slightly quicker but a lot more stable.

In terms of speed then it is not a massive improvement. The drive is read/writing about 125mb/s which is roughly a quarter the speed you would expect from sata 3 but it feels like a much more stable machine. No long pauses, no getting all muddled and freezing for ages when switching between chrome and explorer, files all load quickly and boot up and shut down much quicker.

Overall really delighted. Its put off upgrading my laptop for a while longer. This laptop has served me well and upgrade has prolonged the life and put off the need to use the dreaded windows 8 hopefully forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and fairly easy process, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome. Has totally transformed my laptop. Can't believe I didn't do it sooner. I put it in a fairly new Asus 550 laptop (4gb RAM and i3 processor, windows 8) that ran terribly constrained by its original HDD. The HDD ran at 90%+ all the time, windows updates would take days and boot up would take minutes. Now my machine boots in 23 secs from cold and 5 secs from sleep!!! I've never performed a swap procedure like this before and it was fairly straight forward. Use the Acronis software that is available to CLONE your HDD drive (source) to your new SDD drive (target). Definitely get USB3 to SSD cable to transfer stuff straight on to the SDD. Then when it's done, just take out the old HDD and in its place put the new SDD, it slots right in. I'm on windows 8 and so far have not had to key in any license keys for windows 8 or ms office, it worked straight off. If you get stuck there is plenty of stuff on youtube and web forums.
I did experience one problem, after the CLONING was done the Acronis software kept restarting and looping trying to perform the process all over again. I just pulled the cable at this point switched machine off and made the swap. It all worked.
Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A budget yet quality SSD - a great way to improve PC performance, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crucial CT256MX100SSD1 256GB MX100 SATA 2.5 Inch 7mm SSD Includes 9.5mm Spacer (Personal Computers)
Firstly I'd like to state I got this drive through the Vine, so didn't pay for it but a mistake meant I couldn't review it the usual way (I wanted to ensure this was transparent)

The crucial MX100 is a new offering from Crucial, aimed at replacing their M500 series and delivering a slight improvement in write speeds - 300 mbps v 250 mbps in the 256 GB drive range) with read speeds of 550MBPS V 500 MPBS . These drives use a technology akin to that used in flash drives , and seen in the likes of tablets and smart phones, to provide a slim, cool and fast performing storage device for your system.

I've installed this in my sons PC to replace his primary drive, which was a Kingston SDNow 300 120 GB drive. He had been using that SSD since replacing an HDD last year. It had hugely improved his boot times and overall performance compared to that HDD we had used before. That Kingston drive had read speeds of 450 mpbs and write speeds of 450 MBPS and was fantastic as a system drive for running the OS and key programs but I avoided using it for general data reading and writing due to the desire to prolong the life of the drive.

This crucial MX100 reads faster at 550 mpbs so delivers similar speeds (I had cloned my system drive using Macrium Reflect to directly compare this with the same build) and slightly slower write times but these were still perfectly acceptable when carrying out that clone process to set the drive up. The jump to a 256GB drive from 120GB is more than worth the small decrease in write speed for us, especially with faster reads when that will be the bulk of work for this as a system drive.

I've had been using an SSD in my PC for a couple of years and have been very pleased with the performance and the stability once I realised you must be sure to optimise and trim your drives regularly so that the SSD's own garbage collection routines can run properly (otherwise I had got freezing problems with a Crucial M4 as the drive tries to access unavailable areas of the drive).

The biggest bottleneck to performance on all our old systems had been the HDD, and it will be for a lot of people still running these. The temptation can be to buy a new motherboard or CPU but it's often the case that these may well handle everything you need perfectly fast but are being hamstrung by a slow old mechanical drive. This is an upgrade that can affordably transform a system and lead to it running cooler in the process.

It's worth noting that these drives are 2.5" laptop sized. If you want to install them in a desktop then an adaptor like this allows you to attach them Akasa AK-HDA-03 2.5-3.5 inch SSD/HDD Adapter

Installation was easy. I plugged the drive into the adapter bay and easily slotted this into the tower. I then plugged this into a spare sata port (choose a sata 3 port if you have one for the 6 gb/sec rather than 3 gb speeds). I then used Macrium to clone my other drive to this one having booted into windows.

Following that I booted up and went into the BIOS set-up to tell the system this was the primary drive and to set my boot order. If you are moving from an older HDD then a fresh install is preferred rather than copying an image from and old HDD as Windows 7 onwards will optimise itself for an SSD and you always get a better and fresh performance when performing a clean build.

I installed Windows 8 and the main programs onto the SSD. Everything else is running on his main hard drisk drive (media, documents and data, steam library and the likes) so he gets very good performance but doesn't shorten the life of the SSD by writing to it more than necessary. That way the majority of dynamic and frequently changing high volume stuff can sit on the HDD whilst the SSD handles the task of running the OS itself. This should ensure a balance of performance and system life and the system still runs very quickly. This also means this drive is still two thirds empty , thus ensuring plenty of spare capacity and hopefully life.

Overall this is a nice performance boost over the previous Crucial M4 SSD's and a little over the Crucial M500 and would be a huge improvement over an HDD as a system drive. Worth considering as an upgrade, pretty much essential as a replacement for older HDD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SSD is great. Bundled Acronis software doesn't work, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
D. Barker (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would be 5 stars for the SSD, and one star for the bundled Acronis True Image software.
I got the disk to upgrade to Windows 10 on a Dell Precision 6700. So the aim was to backup my current system disk (a Samsung 840 256GB SSD), restore onto this new SSD, and use that. However the Acronis software wouldn't let me create a bootable image. I tried cloning, backup and restore, and following all the various complicated instructions on the Acronis website. Even the option to create a bootable Acronis disk wouldn't work - it just hung.

My solution was
- Upgrade to Acronis True Image 2015 (2014 is supplied with this disk)
- Create a bootable Acronis CD, and boot to it
- Create a backup via the options on this bootable disk (NOT via the windows Acronis software). I backed up to an eSATA disk.
- Install the new SSD
- Boot again to the Acronis boot CD
- Restore from this image (creates an image the same size as the original with the rest of the disk unused)
- Remove the boot CD, cross your fingers and hope for the best
- Resize the partition in Windows to use the extra space.

Once I got it working, the SSD is great. Nice to have a lot of extra space again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy swap that gave great results. The Mac runs two or three times as fast., 25 Nov. 2014
By 
Jeremy Burns (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I replaced the drive in my mid 2010 MacBook Pro with this. Yosemite left the Mac struggling with the old drive, but this has made it feel pretty new again. Easy to install; open the back cover of the Mac, undo two screws, lift out the old drive, move four tork screws from the old drive to the new one and redo the steps in reverse order. Turn on your Mac holding the command (Apple) key and R at the same time. Wait until you see a spinning globe and it'll download and install Yosemite. Then you can attach your old drive via USB and use migration assistant to transfer your old stuff to your new one. You'll need a way of running your old drive - you can buy a simple case that lets you swap drives in and out for around a tenner - well worth buying anyway. I recently bought one that's designed for 3.5 inch drives; this new 2.5 inch SSD attached and worked just fine, although as it's not fixed in place is not a permanent home for the old drive. All in all the process took around ten hours; about five or six to download and install Yosemite and about four hours to transfer the old data (~130 Gb). I let most of it happen over night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews