Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Past
I can remember in the days before video recorders, rushing to get to the TV to watch this series. It was compulsive viewing and the quality of the drama was excellent. Sadly, only 20 episodes of the original 49 remain in existence but what's left plus a lot of extra material has been placed on discs by the BFI. I was able to relive my teenager years.
Really great...
Published 22 days ago by R. MacDonald

versus
12 of 83 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
This is good news.
Now can someone , somewhere , please make available to thrill seekers everywhere,Journey to the Unknown
Published 6 months ago by Hilts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Past, 4 Dec 2014
By 
R. MacDonald "Rod" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
I can remember in the days before video recorders, rushing to get to the TV to watch this series. It was compulsive viewing and the quality of the drama was excellent. Sadly, only 20 episodes of the original 49 remain in existence but what's left plus a lot of extra material has been placed on discs by the BFI. I was able to relive my teenager years.
Really great stuff! Authors from the golden age of science fiction!
The drama is very professional and what a delight it is to see episodes not constrained to the format of TV advertising. There's only one problem if you purchase this set… You will watch one after the other until the late hours. It's addictive.
Well done the BFI for bringing this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60s sci fi at its peak, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
At 50 quid this is expensive, and the sets and special effects are laughable at times, yet this is thought provoking and intelligent drama unlikely to be seen again. There isn't the emphasis on violence that's inherent in modern sci fi, with the pace being languid at times.That's all part of the charm. As a younger man I was very into science fiction but gradually lost interest. This DVD brought back to me why I found it so enjoyable. Some of the episodes stand up very well and could be remade to incorporate modern technology and design because the stories are timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb!, 26 Dec 2014
By 
A. Roy "Compwitch" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
I remember watching these when they were first broadcast on BBC2, and being riveted by every single episode. This series was groundbreaking in many ways, not least because it adapted stories by known SF authors (such as Kornbluth, Brunner, Simak and Asimov, to name only a few) as well as original scripts, and is quite simply the best of television SF, of any time. When I heard that the BFI was releasing this box set, it went straight to the top of my "must-have" list, and should for anyone who's serious about their SF.

Although there are only 20 episodes still extant, including one incomplete (The Little Black Bag) and four reconstructions, these have been expertly restored by the BFI, and are still fine examples of the genre. It is an almost criminal oversight on the BBC's part that so many episodes have been lost to their "re-use" of VT policy, but I'm thankful that at least some survive.

The set includes an excellent new documentary "Return of the Unknown" which also features some rare clips from lost episodes, and members of the production team discussing the scope and legacy of the series, and is accompanied by a substantial and informative booklet which truly enhances the whole set.

I can't overstate how much of an impact this series made when it was first broadcast, it was TV to stay in for, and if you are serious about SF, this box set *HAS* to be part of your collection. Thank you BFI for rescuing and restoring these gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb package of landmark TV, 10 Dec 2014
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
Once again the BFI have done a superb job of releasing a much anticipated classic TV series. The pinnacle of 60s/70s BBC scifi, this series boasted amazing stories, fantastic acting and high production values. The sets are impressive and imaginative, and of course there's a little bit of reassuring Crossroads-style wobble here and there.

The stories are by a range of respected authors, and are intelligent and thought provoking. They stand on their own merits, and even viewers who are totally unmoved by scifi material will find much to enjoy.

Like so many TV programmes from this era, many episodes were wiped. Less than half remain, but that still adds up to some 20 to enjoy. Picture quality is generally good, and some restoration work has been undertaken.

The documentary 'Return of the Unknown' includes some tantalising clips from otherwise lost episodes. The third series, an early colour production, exists in just one and a half episodes. The half episode (The Little Black Bag) can still be enjoyed, and the producers have done a good job at creating the last few seconds which are frustratingly missing. This package feels like a real labour of love.

The fourth series features contemporary ghost and psychological tales, the former wouldn't have been out of place on that other great anthology series, Dead of Night.

Thus package contains television of the very highest quality. Enjoyable, thrilling, fascinating and amusing, this is simply superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
A Fantastic DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Series That I Will Never Forget., 10 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Sw Bryant "SteveWilliamJohn" (Diss,Norfolk,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
It's good to see this Series finally released on DVD, I remember watching such a high standard of science fiction in atmospheric black and white in the late sixties and early seventies, under the production directive of Irene Shubik. 'I had to read hundreds of stories to pick just twelve for Series One. You have no idea how difficult some of these authors are to deal with, and it seems a special thing among Science Fiction writers to hedge themselves behind almost impossible copyright barriers.'
But thanks to Irene's diligence the series was supported by John Wyndham's 'Time To Rest' & 'No Place Like Earth', Alan Nourse's 'The Counterfeit Man', Isaac Asimov's 'The Dead Past ' & ' Sucker Bait ', William Tenn's ' Time In Advance ', & Ray Bradbury's ' The Fox & The Forest'. As a young lad I was glued to the screen, alas some episodes are either wiped or missing, but Mordecai Roshwald's ' Level Seven ', was returned to the BBC in January 2006, I just hope that Kate Wilhelm's ' Andover & The Android ', John Brunner's ' Some Lapse Of Time ', J.G.Ballard's ' 13 To Centaurus ', & Frederick Pohl's fantastic ' Midas Plague ', still exist. Thank you Irene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and long overdue - but worth the wait!, 30 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
I know this hasn't been released yet but have seen several episodes of this landmark early British SF Series and it is truly stunning and outstanding.

Looking at the list of added extras, video and audio clips and reconstructions of missing episodes plus the new Documentary about the series, I know the BFI are going to do a Sterling job on it.

I've waited for this to be released for nearly 20 years, we're only needing the surviving episodes of Doomwatch released and the history of extant British TV SF will be (almost) complete.

Recommended to anybody interested in outstanding TV Drama and TV History, not just Sci-Fi fans, this along with Rudolph Cartier's production of Nigel Kneale's 1984 with Peter Cushing is the DVD release of the year and quite possibly the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About time!, 11 Nov 2014
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
Can't wait to get my hands in this! Extras look inviting and it will be great to see it clearly after all these years of 10th generation copies I've had to put up with. All I want now is for those chaps and chapesses at the BFI to release the six intact episodes of the superb anthology of supernatural plays "The mind beyond" from 1977. Come on help me out here!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last!, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Stephen Evans "A Budding Author" (Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
I have some old Video Tapes with a few episodes so know how great it is but £50??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 83 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) (DVD)
This is good news.
Now can someone , somewhere , please make available to thrill seekers everywhere,Journey to the Unknown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set)
Out of the Unknown (7-Disc DVD Set) by and others (DVD - 2014)
£53.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews