Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warmly welcomed
A lovingly assembled anthology of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young's legendary 1974 tour, the one that has consistently been decried as one of excess and arrogance or an epic dismantling of the hippie dream of peace and love. Before this marvellous collection was released, I got to see video of the Wembley show thanks to You Tube. (Were tickets really only £3.50??? How much...
Published 1 month ago by Mohammad A. Rahman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying gaps between tracks
I would have given this a 5 star rating as the music is fantastic, but being an electronic download each track is split by a second or so gap/silence, which is so annoying on a live concert. Wish I'd paid the extra for the CD. If any one knows a way of getting rid of the gaps this would easily be a 5 rating. Music is probably unbeatable.
Published 1 month ago by colin milborrow


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warmly welcomed, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Mohammad A. Rahman (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
A lovingly assembled anthology of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young's legendary 1974 tour, the one that has consistently been decried as one of excess and arrogance or an epic dismantling of the hippie dream of peace and love. Before this marvellous collection was released, I got to see video of the Wembley show thanks to You Tube. (Were tickets really only £3.50??? How much was the booking fee?) It was my first taste of the music the foursome produced during this legendary foray, thankfully shorn of the bad press that has plagued this tour not to mention the four's own after-the-fact ambivalence towards the tour. If you haven't already done so, do go check out this 3 hour show on You Tube.

Graham Nash, who took on the role of CSN and CSNY's archivist, has cherry-picked as much as possible from the tour and assembled an ideal show. Inevitably, this might upset the purists who want the complete shows. But honestly who has the time to listen and appreciate all those individual shows? What really matters is how much of an enjoyable listening experience this box set is. The 3 CDs are beautifully sequenced and packed with sensational songs, including many Neil Young classics that were never officially released until now. Messrs Crosby, Stills and Nash are also well represented but kudos to Graham Nash for setting aside his grievances with Neil and selecting so many long-sought after songs. (And kudos to Neil for allowing these songs to appear before he could unveil them in his own Archives series). "Traces", "Love-Art Blues", "Pushed It Over The End", "Hawaiian Sunset" are brilliant and fit right in with the more familiar CSN oeuvre. I also love "The Lee Shore", one of Crosby's finest and beautifully rendered here. The musicianship throughout is sensational - a fantastic rhythm section was recruited and many of the songs are urgent and pumping with passion and fire.

Do yourself a favour - get this fantastic set, turn down the lights and lose yourself in the California mid-70s hippie vibe. Hands down, from start to finish this is the best collection of CSNY material this side of "Deja Vu". It's way better than the electric sides of "4 Way Street" and it goes some way towards making up for the quartet's failure to produce a couple of decent studio albums following on from "Deja Vu" (although to be fair they were doing sensational work individually, in duos or, in Stills' case, with a whole new band). In addition to the great music, the thick booklet is fantastic and laden with great photos and fine liner notes. I wish the DVD could have included the whole Wembley show or a lot more selections. Maybe a future DVD release with a complete show will make up for this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterclass!, 16 July 2014
By 
Boswell (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful reminder of how powerful CSNY were at their peak. It's a bargain if you shop around for it (available for under £30)
The book is worth the admission price alone with some wonderful photos and a great essay.Just one slight niggle. The book states that some of the recordings come from the San Francisco Auditorium on December 14th. Surely that was a Crosby / Nash duo gig (Farm Workers And Whales Benefit)? Mr Nash hasn't been trying a bit of jiggery-pokery here has he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slightly delayed live album from a rock supergroup of the 70's :-), 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
This could well be one of those 'you had to be there' releases to fully appreciate the sheer magnitude of a CSNY tour in 1974. This is a band which had the potential to be truly great - at least on paper - but never realised their potential due to the enormous egos involved. That said as a live act they took some beating and Deja Vu was a cracking LP..
I was lucky enough to be at Wembley on 14 September 1974 and it was quite a day. The bill was jaw dropping - as well as CSNY we were treated to The Band, Jesse Colin Young and Joni Mitchell. In the booklet Graham Nash expresses the band's disappointment with the quality of the Wembley concert, but my memory is one of being blown away by the music - the sublime vocal harmonies, the spiky duelling guitars of Stills and Young and the quality of the songs.
The sound on the discs is very good indeed. Highlights include the sublime Suite: Judy Blue Eyes, On The Beach, Neil Young's brief Goodbye Dick (about Nixon leaving the Whitehouse), Some previously unreleased songs are heard for the first time since the tour and there's one or two pretty good ones - Nash's Fieldworker and Neil Young's Love Art Blues are standouts.
For most of the album the band are together and full of energy although there are a couple of dodgy moments - Stephen Stills electrified Black Queen doesn't get anywhere near the fiery and impassioned acoustic version to be found on his 1st solo record and his duet with Neil Young on Long May You Run is pretty dire - slow and lacking the good time rhythm of the studio version.
Overall Neil Young comes out the best - 'twas ever thus - but surprisingly Graham Nash isn't far behind, his gift for melody and faultless singing provide some lovely moments. Crosby sounds superb on some songs and just plain melodramatic on others. Stills songs have stood the test of time the least well, but his guitar playing is always excellent (Black Queen aside).
40 years on its great to be able to relive an amazing day and remember how brilliant it was to be there. Makes me wonder where all the intervening years went...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alternatively ... if you're new to CSNY buy these first, 10 July 2014
By 
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
Alternatively, if you're new to CSN/CSNY and want to know what all the fuss was about here's the collection from the sixties and seventies era you really should own first - it'll cost you around fifty to sixty pounds I guess to get some/most of these - roughly the same price as the extraordinarily over priced 74 live box set. You'll definitely get more long term satisfaction from this list ...

Crosby Stills and Nash (1969) *
Deja Vu (1970) *
Four Way Street (1971) *
Stephen Stills (1970) *
Stephen Stills 2 (1971) *
Manassas (1972) *
If I Could only remember my name - Crosby (1971) *
Songs for Beginners - Nash (1971)
Neil Young (1968)
Everybody knows this is knowhere (1969)
After the Goldrush (1970) *
Harvest (1972) *
Wind on the Water - Crosby Nash (1975)
CSN (1977) - their last great studio album ... *

I've marked with an * the eleven discs I consider the most essential - that includes Massey Hall below .....

later add the Neil Young classics - Time Fades Away (not currently available, maybe never will be), On the Beach, Tonight's the Night, Zuma, Rust Never Sleeps, Live Rust, maybe even Decade and the you've got a great collection. There are a few others which are worthwhile too - other Crosby and Nash studio and live albums, Down the Road - Manassas, Long May You Run - Stills Young Band, Stills (1975).

Also investigate Buffalo Springfield - the box set is nicely priced now and also the Neil Young Archive Performance Series, particularly Live at Massey Hall 1971 *.

That'll do nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having loved the music that these guys produce for the last ..., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
Having loved the music that these guys produce for the last 45 years and also attending the 1974 Wembley concert, I have been really looking forward to this release. I am not disappointed, Graham Nash has done an excellent job pulling it together from the original tapes. I particularly appreciate the set being put together to represent the original shows, with the opening and closing electric sets and middle acoustic set. The music illustrates the excellent musicians and songwriters they are, covering meaningful subject matter, but still retaining an eye for melody and skilled guitar playing when required especially from Stills and Young. Although, we all know Neil Young has gone on to be greater than the four, it was never going to be a long term arrangement, it is good to know that CSN are now back on form, writing and touring. Listen to Stills on the Rides album and the recent acclaimed David Crosby solo album. My only slight criticism is that there are only 8 songs on the DVD, if the Wembley master tapes are available, it would have been good to have some additional performances. I would certainly recommend this box set, not just for nostalgia, but for excellent live music. If you are just a Neil Young fan only, it is worth it for his unreleased songs on CD, such as "Don't Be Denied" and "Pushed It Over The End" which feature on the box set. A grey haired man who still loves music has been made very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Superbly written essay by Pete Long in the ..., 29 July 2014
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
Wonderful! Superbly written essay by Pete Long in the heavy (188 pages) book that accompanies this 3 CD and single DVD package of the 1974 concert tour. Totally recommended despite its price (£50). The sound is superb throughout its 40 song 3 hour length. The "concert" is taken from 9 shows and is broken into electric/acoustic/electric. My only gripe is that no breakdown is which show is represented in each song. Neil Young gets a good slice of the action, with On The Beach being magnificent. I would (always) like to see more NY, but that would be greedy - even if over the course of the tour he produced over a dozen new songs (plus On The Beach album) to the combined total of 8 from the other three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. Mel Mullane "Poppyhattie" (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
This is a great album. I'm always worried about 'live' versions of songs, especially as I have been caught by buying albums that seem to have been recorded by somebody sat at the back with a portable tape recorder. The sound quality is excellent and the range of songs is good - there are songs I don't know well and have started to love. Steve Stills mumbled a lot when I saw them live last year - it's encouraging to know that he does it here too - I can't get all the words he's singing but his guitar riffs more than make up for it. I haven't watched the DVD yet but my husband was at the concert when it was recorded so we will have to scrutinise it carefully when we do... He's at the back somewhere.... Possibly with a portable reel - reel tape recorder.....(not really....).
I was a bit loathed to pay what seemed a high price but now I feel it is fully justified. CSNY have done a really good job on this (they have apparently been working on it for years) and it is an excellent album. Turn the bass up loud, grab a beer and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And it appears to be a long time, 7 July 2014
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
Well 40 years, anyone who was around to catch the so called 'doom' tour will know this is CSNY at their peak and that they'd never appear again in their prime with a catalogue of old and new songs of this quality. Nash has spent years compiling this box set and the accompanying booklet is worth the price alone, well almost. Most of the songs are now familiar with CSN providing some so so new songs but Neil Young showing he was at a creative peak with new songs including the magnificent On The Beach. The sound is good but I could do without some of the well known stuff and had hoped some of the extended songs with Young and Stills playing off against each other like 4-Way Street would be included. The DVD only captures a brief glimpse of the legend that was to be wasted on the way. 5 stars for the booklet and the set list, although this could have been better, dropping Teach Your Children would have been a good idea but I guess Nash needed to keep up his profile. File with the other CSN box sets and listen to what could have been. As ever Nash sounds and looks like he can't believe he's sharing the stage with these heavyweights, from his days with The Hollies to this in a few years is surprising not such a Simple Man. Stills is cooked. Crosby is the middle of his drug haze. Young looks and sounds aloof from all of it, and would write Thrasher a few years later about the CSN band wagon. Who would have thought that in the next 40 years they'd never reach these creative heights again?

There are 3 versions available, this and a DVD blue ray plus a single disc. Also on the CSNY site there's the wooden box vinyl version, plus DVD plus booked in solid wood box @ $500 each but the site does limit this to 2 per purchase! All very funny - I think I'll buy one and make a wooden ship out of it and set a course and go! What a rip-off the hippie ideals now sitting comfortably with the corporate music, what next Neil selling Pono at hiked up prices?

The DVD is disappointing only 8 songs surely there must have been more footage from Wembley. The footage from Wembley is fine but the other show looks rather murky, it's in stereo only.
Lasting barely 42 minutes it's over far too soon.
DVD songs.
Only Love Can Break Your Heart - Neil on top form.
Almost Cut My Hair - Stills & Young take the lead at the end - how come they never made any great music together after 74?
Grave Concern - from Wild Takes it's ok but not essential
Old Man - a timeless classic, Neil's takes off his shades for this one!
Johnny's Garden - not essential
Deja Vu -Stills takes centre stage with some blistering guitar work with Neil on piano and shades back on
Pushed It Over The End - fittingly the last song still unreleased wow how many great songs has Neil never released?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Getting To The Point, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
After the Woodstock era and the hippie flower power music was about to finally settle and we could look back at some amazing
festivals during those late 60's and early 70's, and i guess the music was heading more towards political pastures, with the Watergate
Scandal, and Richard Nixon resigning and The Vietnam War coming to an end and Neil Young's "Helpless " & "Ohio" which definitely
summarize what was happening on the political front at the time, and you can add Graham Nash's "Military Madness" and a number of other songs inclusive. Surprisingly a very very rare occurrence one i will never ever forget, although i have my copy of the album,
as i am in Australia i noticed the album was a lot more expensive so lo and behold a gentleman from Ireland began talking about his musical tastes and to my shock he was actually at the concert, my first reaction are you kidding me what?!!! and even more surprising
he was at The Isle Of Wight festival, but getting back to the live album it's an absolute gem, the interplay between each member is great, it sounds as though they left they're egos behind and let their talents shine. Although there are a number of songs which appeared on some of their forthcoming solo albums it sounds quite incredible that they are backing each other up while either
Neil, David, Graham & David sing their own songs. What a stunning snapshot of a band at that time, although they have had personal, ego, drug problems it's the music that counts in the end, outstanding, superb, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! A wonderful collection of live performances from the ..., 11 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSNY 1974 (Audio CD)
Brilliant! A wonderful collection of live performances from the '74 tour. Some fantastic vocals, as you'd expect, and some great guitar playing. Even, some very fine Neal Young songs, which I'd not heard before, from his new album at that time, On The Beach (wonderful title track!). One or two ropey vocals from Mr Stills, but hey, it's live, honest, and adds to the moment! The sound quality/production is spot on. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CSNY 1974
CSNY 1974 by Crosby Stills Nash & Young (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews