Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Techno drum and bass. A classic
Where do i start? This is a incredible album, timeless, astronomical, astounding..i could go on forever! This album is one of the finest drum and bass albums ever made from two of the scene's most outstanding producers.

It is a very techy and dark album with techno influences in the dark sound. The basslines are also very moody. Andy C [top drum and bass dj and...
Published on 22 Jun. 2006 by D. Sandhu

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average album of dark d&b
I do not share most people's love for this album. Yes, its dark. Yes, its hard. But its boring! Yeah, the tracks go down well in a club, but its just bog standard drum and bass. I would recommend you save your money or buy 'Industry' by Dom&Roland instead.
Published on 24 Aug. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Techno drum and bass. A classic, 22 Jun. 2006
By 
D. Sandhu "Commander" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
Where do i start? This is a incredible album, timeless, astronomical, astounding..i could go on forever! This album is one of the finest drum and bass albums ever made from two of the scene's most outstanding producers.

It is a very techy and dark album with techno influences in the dark sound. The basslines are also very moody. Andy C [top drum and bass dj and producer]has said many a times that this is his favourite album of all time so you get the picture.

The title track is a funky head messer! A tune that still gets plays today [the whole album does!] and then there is the sci fi epic 'Compound', one of my favourite tracks of all time. 'Point blank' starts with sinister soundscapes before the beats kick in and the bass makes the hair on your neck shake with fear! 'Slip thru' is a heavy train of a tune destined for hell which is where this takes you, it contains a strange vocal before the breakdown which just shakes your ribcage and make you shout! 'Splinter' features a horror movie esque piano sample alon a two step beat which is just so disgusting [good!]

CD 2 is the mix featuring some exclusive tunes like 'Grow bag' which is superb and again, darker then Darth Vaders Cape! It is also well mixed and perfectly compliments CD1. All in all i love this album and if you like Pendulum, Fresh, Noisia, Unknown error...etc, then i suggest you listen to 'Wormhole' This album is to drum and bass what 'Alien' was to the film industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi drum and bass to unsettle the mind, 21 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
Ever since hearing the ER+O Radio 1 Essential Mix(07Feb99) I have loved their sound, now finally I have their album (it's so hard to get a hold of). It's definitely a ride, with a great mix of relentless beats (great for cross-London travel), bone shattering bass lines and mind warping 'melodies'. Respect also to the guy above who recommends Dom&Roland, a fine companion album to this - Wormhole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Work From Ed Rush & Optical, 5 April 2015
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
Having owned this cd album for over 10 years it's still difficult to know how to approach it for those that are new to Ed Rush & Optical.

Where Photek's Modus Operandi took us through a dark, sci-fi soundscape, Ed Rush & Optical's approach keeps the tempo faster and louder.

Where Modus was a smokey, jazz themed future, Wormhole seems to take you into space and beyond with it's alien warbles and bass thumping echoes.

Wormhole isn't for the faint hearted either. It's almost industrial and clunky yet keeps a solid rhythm that does become catchy and seismic. If you like drum & bass with a futuristic edge, bassy loops, and hard snares then this is one of the best of it's time and a superb addition to your dnb collection.

I wouldn't say it's as approachable or refined as Photek's work of the time, but it does serve another angle of a similar theme which no doubt has inspired and caught the attention of many other dnb producers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Up Virus Crew, 5 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
Top marks 4 Ed Rush & Optical Well what can i say but get this album, DARK,HARD,AGGRESIVE,TECHY,SYNTHETIC HEAVEN. These 2 r 1 of if not THE best d&b Producers/Dj's around at the moment.The music is a Slamming Drum & Bass journey through the Dark side of the scene. Ed Rush likes his music Hard and Optical likes it Technical so they make a wonderfull combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Drum & Bass, 15 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
This to me was a main game changer in the world of tech dnb, when i produce this is still the album i look to for ideas. its just so before its time, i could play a brand new tune or any tune from wormhole and wormhole would get the floor moving 100%. its just on a whole nother level when it comes to drum and bass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
Best drum and bass album must buy fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horribly dark and fast D&B to make your spine tingle!, 9 Feb. 2000
By 
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
I'd heard nothing like it outside the clubs until this album. Ed Rush & Optical really go for it on the 2nd mixed CD. Not for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the best DnB album EVER, 2 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Wormhole [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Oh Wow! I bought the original of this today (Virus, VRS 001LP) in a charity shop for £4.99. It's the best DnB album EVER. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE 2012 1 DISC VERSION, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
Firstly this is an excellent album but dont waste your cash on this 1 disc re-release, buy the 2 disc version second hand if you cant find a new one you will enjoy your purchase more:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Drum'n'Bass of '98, 15 Nov. 1999
This review is from: Wormhole (Audio CD)
Ed Rush & Optical have made one of the best Drum'n'Bass of this and the next century. it is heavy and whit wery dark "Trance" sounds. And i love it. 2CD is a mixcd and wilmake al yours hops on the dansfloor or in the livingroom...HAVE FUN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wormhole
Wormhole by Optical Ed Rush
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews