Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an epic fail
This is one of those instantly addictive games that is really hard to put down. The Bop it! Beats plays music whilst giving you different instructions, such as Spin it, Flip it, Reverse it, Scratch it, Bop it. You have to try and complete as many actions in a row as possible. You can play individually, in pairs or in a group, so it's great fun at parties (I remember...
Published 6 months ago by Miss

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR THOUGHT
Appalling !!
Who ever designed this game obviously never tested it !!
The game will not let you get above 270 and to be honest that's fairly easy to achieve :-( poor VERY poor.
Published 3 months ago by austen blakemore photography


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an epic fail, 17 Oct. 2014
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of those instantly addictive games that is really hard to put down. The Bop it! Beats plays music whilst giving you different instructions, such as Spin it, Flip it, Reverse it, Scratch it, Bop it. You have to try and complete as many actions in a row as possible. You can play individually, in pairs or in a group, so it's great fun at parties (I remember playing with the original version at parties many, many years ago!)

The music is catchy and there are four different songs, so it doesn't get annoying too quickly, though it would be good if there was more of a selection, or if you could somehow use your own music. The instructions are fairly clear, and the machine tends to register most actions without a problem, though we sometimes found that when we did 'Scratch it', the action wasn't properly registered and it told us we'd failed even though we thought we'd performed it correctly! A fun touch is the comments you get when you fail, ranging from the encouraging 'You can DO this!' to the less encouraging 'Epic fail!'

This is a fun toy that will appeal to all ages, though I think adults will tire of it after a while. It's a shame there is no headphone socket so that children could play individually without giving everyone in hearing distance a headache! Still, I'd recommend this as an entertaining family activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DJ Bop It in the House Tonight!, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
K. Z. Sobol (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I remember as a teenager playing with the original Bop It! and remember how much I loved it, either playing it alone or with friends.
This is one of the various Bop It! versions available and it is based on movements you might use as a DJ - "spin it", "scratch it", "reverse it" and "flip it" as well as the all important "bop it". "Spin it" requires you to spin the disc clockwise, "reverse it" to spin it anticlockwise, "scratch it" to move it back and forth once like a DJ would scratch a record and "flip it" means you need to flip the game over to the other side (there is a black disc on one side and a silver disc on the other - both with moving parts to play. "Bop it" means to hit the black button on the side.

The music is very modern, so it is very much of the moment - with 4 tracks, including the famous and easily recognisable Pound the Alarm by Nicki Minaj. It also has tracks by Avicii and Ro Shon. All of the tracks work well together, which they need to as the music changes track when you are instructed to "flip it" and so you are catapulted from one track into other rather like a dj mixing the tracks. Each of the other actions comes with a little sound effect - the most obvious being the "scratch it" action giving the familiar scratch sound that djs make.

In addition to the verbal instructions that the game shouts out for you to copy, it comes with a series of light flashes, individual to the instruction. At first these aren't all that important, but as you become better at the game, the game gets more and more challenging and eventually it stops giving the verbal commands and just flashes the corresponding instructions at you! This is the part that we as a family are still trying to get to grips with and in the fluster of the moment it is still challenging just to follow the spoken commands.

There are 5 different games, Classic and Classic party are the same, but the party version includes the phrase "pass it" to pass it to the next person. Dj and DJ party are slight twists on the classic game of following the instructions whereby you are given a number of instructions (at first just two at a time) and then when you are told to go, you need to execute them accurately in a timely manner. Again the party version includes "pass it" for you to thrust the game into the next players hands.

Finally there is the remix game, which is just freestyling - listening to the music and spinning the discs - not really a game, just for listening without the pressure of getting it right or wrong!

The game comes with Duracell batteries included and needs 3 AA batteries

Since our girls have had this, they have played and played and played, individually and together with each other and with me. It's lots of fun and although it's a noisy game, because the music is good music, it doesn't get on my nerves in the same way! Lots of family fun and with a high score so far of 120 on the Classic game and 52 on the Classic Party, we are going to keep practising!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive and catchy, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
This is great fun and very addictive. It's also very clever in that it throws in extra moves after about 50 "wins" or so. You get the usual bop it, spin it, scratch it, twist it and then it adds in others such as reverse or lights only. It's good because it keeps it fresh and just as you're feeling smug and thinking you've mastered it then boom - new move!

It's fairly well built and takes a lot of handling, however the songs are limited and quite repetitive. Catchy too!

It's good for one player, but even more fun with others and gets very competitive.

Loses a star for price and longevity - it may be something that only comes out at party time. It's still great fun to play though.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bop It! since original, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Cheshire Cat (Warrington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We've had every version of Bop It since the original and this ranks as favourite alongside the original. Some of the intervening products didn't really hold the attention but Bop It! Beats is a superb return to form that the whole family has enjoyed.

The concept didn't seem that appealing in print but the reality is that the combination of 360 degree turntable movements, hit button ( sorry, bop it button!) on the end and the flip function combined with spoken commands/ comments and perimeter lights for guidance (lights show direction of swipe etc.) and 4 music tracks makes this genuinely fun and hideously addictive whether played as a single player or in a group in party mode. The turntable actions are the big selling point (turntable on both sides) and can require you to spin, reverse, swipe, scratch...all of which the kids (and adults) thought was great fun and unlike any other game they had seen.

A great touch is that it remembers the highest score for each type of game and tells you it verbally on request. The spoken comments, although limited in number, add fun to the proceedings and there is remix mode if you just want to play about pretending to be a DJ with slightly dodgy equipment.

Our 11 year old daughter absolutely loved it as did her friends. And, despite our initial protests at getting involved, we have to admit that we enjoyed playing it ad well. A true family game but easily used as a single player. And it can run in silent mode if needed...phew.

The levels get harder and harder and the ultimate involves no spoken directions, only lights to guide as to the movements required, All fiendishly enjoyable.

Tiop marks to Hasbro for including installed batteries. Ours are still fine after a couple of weeks of hard use but it would be best to assume they are just intended to get you going and have spares at the ready. No more tears though because Dad forgot the batteries for the new toy.Christmas mornings could be transformed!

Best compliment I can make for this excellent game is that we are ordering more to give as presents. Highly recommended,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but it seems like we all enjoy it, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Came on time and packed very well. Jus thought I was buying it for my 8yr old, but it seems like we all enjoy it. Even my 3yr old has now learnt how to follow the instructions. Its a really good toy, keeps the family entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Omg where do I start if your into your Nicki tunes your going to love this product. Brought it for my kidz .And they love it very fuuny voice . And i cant put it down feel bit like a dj lols great game. Worth every penny : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars POOR THOUGHT, 4 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Appalling !!
Who ever designed this game obviously never tested it !!
The game will not let you get above 270 and to be honest that's fairly easy to achieve :-( poor VERY poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great noisy toy, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Bought for my 14 year old son who loves the original bop it and loves his music. It's loud (could do with a headphone jack) but he loves loud. Maybe the rest of us need ear defenders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but likely will get repetitive, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Was going to give it 4 stars, but think the lastability of this thing may play against it. Seems like the games, though fun at first, may start to become a little dull after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much fun as the original as slightly more difficult to get ..., 13 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Beats Game (Toy)
Not as much fun as the original as slightly more difficult to get to grips with but up to date tunes, good for individual play and multi player if you can get the hang of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bop It! Beats Game
£11.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews