Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars55
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2014
Well, Glenn Hughes eh? Ever since he returned from drug abyss in around 1990 with his 'Blues' album, he has been churning them out nearly every year. Ok, he had a lot of time to make up. I have bought all the albums. They all sound good. They are all well played and put together. His voice still amazes. However, it is the songs that let-down; there are very few classics on all those albums. All the songs are pretty good but as many have said not easy to remember, which is a benchmark really. If he did fewer albums would they be better in songs? I don't know. Maybe not. Compared to, say, Magnum, where each and every song as they still release into their late 60's, are so strong. I think of an album and KNOW what is on there to enjoy. With many Hughes albums this is not the case, apart from some. In a way it's quite useful because I do actually enjoy the sound of them all, including this one, but I never really get to KNOW them.....so that at least keeps them fresh! It's a bit like the mid-80s Rush albums; all sounded good, they were played well, but the songs just were not there enough.

This album actually has more that I recognise after 2-5 plays than most of the BCC stuff.

Glenn, I am sure, is a nice guy, but he does not SHOW it - he always tries to look tough, mean, moody. Strange for an alleged Christian - he should smile and SHOW the love of God through him!! Oh, and scream far less. Great voice though, still
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Despite the quite horrendous cover,i thought i'd take a chance on this,using the money my kids gave me for my birthday,i thought i'd treat myself and what a treat,this is stunning.

From the opening groove of 'The Way' to the closing moments of 'Breathe' this is superb, a cohesive collection of tracks that flow seamlessly into each other.

Highlights? plenty listen the simple but effective 'Sweet Tea' or the outstanding 'Chemical Rain' or 'Midnight Oil' which reminds you of decades past and will make you smile,listen to 'All Falls Down' .. goose bumps every time.

Desite enjoying Black Country Communion on album and in concert,this is way better,Hughes has channelled his every being into this,every part of his past can be referenced,of course the Deep Purple rock is there with the funk of his solo career, throw in touchstones from Zeppelin alongside the likes of Humble Pie and you got a 5 star stunner.

This is a power trio in the true sense of the word,the production excellent captures Bonham perfectly and what a find Andrew Watt is,a fantastic performance.

This might just be the album of the year
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Ok - I'm a Hughesy fan for 40+ years now and, taking everything into consideration, no-one else even comes close! To hear this guy sing and play this way in the latter part of his years, is just truly amazing! Laying these tracks down just a few weeks after major ops just shows his dedication to his fans!
Best couple of tracks: "Sweet Tea" & "All Falls Down".
"All Falls Down" I just can't stop playing - the best few pennies I have spent on music for many decades!
Just buy it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Good vehicle for Glenn Hughes after BCC.Andrew Watt is an excellent guitarist and with Jason Bonham on drums this is a very strong power trio. I particularly like Chemical Rain & All Falls Down but Glenn's vocal skill come to the fore with good riffs laid down.
Overall a very good debut and well worth a listen
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Sorry, it is a bit of a let down. I really liked Black Country Communion & was expecting progression. Unfortunately a few of the tracks sound like BCC outtakes. Someone raving about this album said the tunes were uncluttered by the keybounds often used on the BCC albums, I disagree. A few of the tracks would have benefitted by some keyboard input & given the whole piece a bit more variety. Bonham's drumming is mostly excellent however. I've persevered with this album for weeks, but it just isn't growing on me like the BCC stuff {& I'm no big Joe Bonamassa fan}. A powerhouse trio - Cream it isn't! Influences of Led Zep & Purple are evident, as in BCC, but there are no memorable songs. Just about 3 stars out of 5 at the most! {I think the new Rival Sons album will knock this for six!}
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
The cover? What’s that all about? The music? Well that’s about Glenn Hughes at his experimental best when men half his age have given up the hard work and just sit on their laurels. The voice... Daltry lost it a few years ago, Hughes still has it so he continues to flaunt it.

It took a couple of tracks to get into this album. It's more experimental that BCC…then “Chemical Rain” hit the button – pure quality… Zeppish? yes, but Zep with unexpected finesse. “All Falls Down” is also pretty good. “Strong” is straight 70s guitar and drums, “Breathe” is also a firm favourite – so much nostalgia mixed with the new. Powered by high octane riffs and interspersed with periods of sublime subtlety, this is a impressive album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Glen Hughes does it again. BCC were good but California Breed are so much better. Looking forward to seeing them tour with SLASH in November. Powerful stuff
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
The 'Voice of Rock' has stepped out of the wreckage of BCC and comes up with a vibrant modern rock album that showcases not only his remarkable and undiminished vocals but also introduces us to the the prodigious talents of new guitar slinger Andrew Watt. Worth buying for standout tracks 'All Falls Down' and 'Chemical Rain' alone. Bonus track 'Solo' is pretty special also and reminds us that despite of his (Hughes') illustrious past this man refuses to rest on his laurels and is still full of creativity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Saw these supporting Slash in Manchester and had no other option but to buy the album and wasn't disappointed !! Legends !!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
The new evolution of the Glenn Hughes and Jason Bonham combo really works. The pounding drums and base are blended seamlessly into the roaring but melodic guitar links and rifs that accompany and enhance the voice of rock's tones.
My favourite tracks are Breathe and All falls down. These seem to be very much inspired by Glenn Hughes 'Life.
Brilliant, must have, inspired... Thank you for the music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.19
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)