Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanium
Sia has had an unconventional trajectory; diagnosed with Graves disease, boyfriend killed in a car accident, addiction to drugs and alcohol, attempted suicide. Plus, she hates fame so much that she poses with a paper bag over her head, and performs with her back facing audiences. Responsible for a plethora of international pop smashers for some of pop's biggest names, and...
Published 10 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed
Mixed. Some excellent tracks, some a bit nothingy. Classic Sia in fact.
Published 5 months ago by Stephen Luckcock


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanium, 7 July 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
Sia has had an unconventional trajectory; diagnosed with Graves disease, boyfriend killed in a car accident, addiction to drugs and alcohol, attempted suicide. Plus, she hates fame so much that she poses with a paper bag over her head, and performs with her back facing audiences. Responsible for a plethora of international pop smashers for some of pop's biggest names, and while working on many other projects, there was still time to produce an own record. As the title and cover art might reveal, Sia goes back to her darker side for this, her 6th studio album, spiralling into destructive depths of weakness, vulnerability, desperation and struggles, all returning points for her.

Longtime fans know what to expect from her, new followers are probably curious to learn about the person behind the colossal hits. Perhaps all too aware of what the public wants from her, Sia gives the public exactly what they want. She offers strong and well produced pop ballads, some uptempo tracks, and the occasional slower numbers, all accompanied with her unique and always impressive voice, the sound of someone singing for their life. She is dabbling with pop, experimenting once again with indie pop, electronica, acid jazz, soul, dance, and trip-hop. Produced by Lily Allen's former collaborator Greg Kurstin, they have sculpted a beautiful masterpiece of an album.

Her enrapturing talent and torment shines throughout "1000 Forms of fear"'s 49 minutes. Very often I found myself paying more attention to the lyric metaphors and the dramatic vocals, rather than enjoying the songs. Sia has a certain vibe in her music which, although it cannot be missed, it tends to overshadow the sonic excellence of this album. First single, "Chandelier" is indicative: a gorgeously reggae-electronica fused number about a never ending party life, with Sia's titanic voice bursting open the chorus like a cannonball; a closer reading between the lines makes clear that it is a song about alcoholism. It is obvious that the artist writes genius texts, this is her biggest talent, combined with her distinctive voice.

Built around sterling melodies, standouts "Big girls cry", "Straight to the knife", "Elastic heart", "Fire meet gasoline, "Cellophane", and "Dressed in black", they convey emotion that is unmatched by any other contemporary artist. Despite her personal hardship, Sia is able to produce exceptional power balladry and intelligent lyricism. "1000 Forms of fear" rings true to its dramatic title. It is a consistent, brilliant, deep pop record, by one of pop's best artists. After producing so many hits over the years, perhaps one's fear would be Sia's transformation into an mainstream artist. As long as she insists on performing wearing that paper back on her head, there is absolutely no fear of that happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sia shines bright like a diamond., 9 July 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
The enigmatic Australian singer-songwriter Sia Furler makes a courageous return from the sidelines with her sixth studio album “1000 Forms Of Fear,” which follows on 2010′s “We Are Born.” In recent years, she avoided the limelight deliberately, but behind the scenes she was responsible for a number of huge hits. For example, songs from Sia Furler could be found on albums by Katy Perry (Prism), Britney Spears (Britney Jean), Beyonce (Beyonce), Kylie Minogue (Kiss Me Once), Shakira (Shakira) and Jennifer Lopez (AKA). Some of those big hits were Rihanna’s “Diamonds,” David Guetta’s “Titanium” and Ne-Yo's "Let Me Love You" to name just of few.

The Sia-signature - like the vocal dips and mid-tempo melancholy of "Diamonds" - that the now 39-year-old singer and songwriter stamped on those hits, can be found once again on this album. Songs like “Burn The Pages,” “Straight For The Knife,” “Hostage” and “Big Girls Cry” sound as if they were intended, respectively, for Katy Perry, Lana Del Rey, Shakira or Rihanna. Furler wrote most of these songs with Greg Kurstin, who produced this album and also worked on recent albums by Lily Allen, Lykke Li, Tegan & Sara and Pink. This collaboration provides for a dozen irresistible pop melodies, although Furler’s reluctance to promote this album - she does minimal press and refuses to be photographed - might be the only obstacle for global success, although her impressive vocal acrobatics should do the work for her.

What struck me the most about “1000 Forms Of Fear,” is that how this sublime record is a personal victory for the once addicted and suicidal singer. Just really listed to the song “Chandelier,” which sounds like a pop anthem, but take note of the darkness at its center, with lyrics like “Help me, I’m holding on for dear life” and ““Sun is up, I’m a mess.” Sia rejected fame and retreated from public view, which allowed her to find her true self, and now experiences a triumphant comeback. The militant “Dressed In Black” and understated “Cellophane” are main examples of this and also the songs in which she excels vocally. You may not be able to see what Sia looks like on the cover of her album - besides the singer’s signature haircut, a blonde bob with blunt bangs - but she sure sounds like a superstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous album from the best singer on the planet! Recommended., 19 July 2014
By 
M. W. Hatfield "mwhatfield" (Gainsborough, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
Sia is, for my money, the best singer on the planet right now. she writes emotional, heartrending songs which have sold by the truckload for artists such as Rihanna and Christina Aguilera, and many of the songs here follow a specific songwriting formula- title based on something everyday (Chandelier, Cellophane) used as a metaphor for real life problems and relationships (hence Chandelier is about alcoholism and the life of the party girl), dance rhythms, and a massive chorus where the vocals swoop and soar and build to a triumphal "I will overcome my problems" finish. It's a successful formula, and it works.

But what lifts this above hackwork is the emotional truth in every line- she's baring her soul in every song. And that voice-imitating no one, she vocalises her pain and suffering bringing every song to life. Irresistible!

This album may well date-the sounds used are very trendy at the moment, and they WILL age rapidly. The album will sell well, sound good in cars and on the radio. But Sia's true masterpiece is yet to come. Go listen to "Some people have real problems", a much mellower CD, which is heartbreaking and gorgeous in equal measures and included the masterful post-argument love ballad "Soon we'll be found" and the beautiful "Day too soon", and you 'll see what she can do.

This album is a fabulous pop album. Do buy it-there is nothing else remotely as good at the moment. Then buy Sia's back catalogue. Celebrate her talent. Who knows where it will go next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... definitely found another new fan in me after her amazing performance on "The Voice" last Saturday, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
Sia has definitely found another new fan in me after her amazing performance on "The Voice" last Saturday. Lyrically amazing, pulls you in to her emotionally and her voice is unlike anything I've heard before. So unique, powerful and filled with raw emotion. I believe any artist's best work comes from real life experiences. Absolutely love this album. If you've never heard of Sia, like myself up until one week ago, get googling about this fantastic artist and get listening to her amazing work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I'll buy in 2015, 17 May 2015
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album by a fantastic singer.

I remember Sia Furler performing as a songwriter and unknown singer with Zero 7 and making nice, groovy, laid-back songs, but she has grown musically since then, moving on leaps and bounds.

I bought "Some People Have Real Problems" and loved it, but wondered what had happened to her, so was surprised to learn that this came out in July 2014 as I only bought it in March of this year, having watched her promote it with performances of "Chandelier" and "Elastic Heart". The combination of her husky voice and the dark and powerful lyrics, mixed with great musicality and production made it a glorious album to listen to. You get the picture and an understanding of her troubled life, as identified by other reviewers, and it just adds to the drama of the music. This is a better album than "Some People ....", another excellent album, and much better than "We Are Born", which is a little disappointing.

There are the two aforementioned songs which are brilliant, but the one which hits me hard is "Fire Meets Gasoline" which is spectacular. The other nine tracks, including the excellent "Big Girls Cry" and the closing track "Dressed In Black" remind me of just what a class act she is.

There are a lot of strong albums released this year, but this is the best I have bought this year and I doubt I will buy a better one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star album, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after hearing Sia perform Elastic heart on BBC' s The voice last weekend. I also loved Chandelier. Brilliant album, love every track on it! Boy can she sing! My favourite tracks are Chandelier, Elastic heart, Big girls cry, Eye of the needle and Fire meet Gasoline, even though I love them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums of the last five years, 17 May 2015
By 
THC Ife "felixdance17" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums of the last five years, musical stylings ring of a more grounded Lady Gaga, with elements of other artists but held together in a way that is really unlike anyone else out there. Really, really good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful & Unique, 19 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
Well, what can I say. You wait years to find something new and original and then find it by pure chance - thanks to the Michael McIntyre TV show on which she sang "Big Girls Cry". I subsequently found the album, with all songs interesting and original, with her drawling and sometimes slurred vocals actually enhancing the songs, making them unique, with variety. None of the songs would be as good if sung by another artist - Sia is masterful, and appearing without showing her face is a stroke of genius - whatever the reason. Not so fond of earlier albums - they seem to lack the spark that runs through "1000 Forms of Fear". If you only bought one album this year, you should not be disappointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. Adam J. Carnie "AC" (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
This collection of material has awards stamped all over it. The complexity of this album is pumped with raw emotions. Sia is reaching new highs, and this album soars into my top five ever listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I've bought so far!, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
Fantastic album!! Would definitely recommend. Favourite songs on the album by far Chandelier, Big Girls Cry & Elastic Heart. Sia is amazing xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1000 Forms Of Fear
1000 Forms Of Fear by Sia (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews