Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanium
Sia has had an unconventional trajectory; diagnosed with Graves disease, boyfriend killed in a car accident, addiction to drugs and alcohol, attempted suicide. Plus, she hates fame so much that she poses with a paper bag over her head, and performs with her back facing audiences. Responsible for a plethora of international pop smashers for some of pop's biggest names, and...
Published 5 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed
Mixed. Some excellent tracks, some a bit nothingy. Classic Sia in fact.
Published 10 days ago by Stephen Luckcock


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanium, 7 July 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
Sia has had an unconventional trajectory; diagnosed with Graves disease, boyfriend killed in a car accident, addiction to drugs and alcohol, attempted suicide. Plus, she hates fame so much that she poses with a paper bag over her head, and performs with her back facing audiences. Responsible for a plethora of international pop smashers for some of pop's biggest names, and while working on many other projects, there was still time to produce an own record. As the title and cover art might reveal, Sia goes back to her darker side for this, her 6th studio album, spiralling into destructive depths of weakness, vulnerability, desperation and struggles, all returning points for her.

Longtime fans know what to expect from her, new followers are probably curious to learn about the person behind the colossal hits. Perhaps all too aware of what the public wants from her, Sia gives the public exactly what they want. She offers strong and well produced pop ballads, some uptempo tracks, and the occasional slower numbers, all accompanied with her unique and always impressive voice, the sound of someone singing for their life. She is dabbling with pop, experimenting once again with indie pop, electronica, acid jazz, soul, dance, and trip-hop. Produced by Lily Allen's former collaborator Greg Kurstin, they have sculpted a beautiful masterpiece of an album.

Her enrapturing talent and torment shines throughout "1000 Forms of fear"'s 49 minutes. Very often I found myself paying more attention to the lyric metaphors and the dramatic vocals, rather than enjoying the songs. Sia has a certain vibe in her music which, although it cannot be missed, it tends to overshadow the sonic excellence of this album. First single, "Chandelier" is indicative: a gorgeously reggae-electronica fused number about a never ending party life, with Sia's titanic voice bursting open the chorus like a cannonball; a closer reading between the lines makes clear that it is a song about alcoholism. It is obvious that the artist writes genius texts, this is her biggest talent, combined with her distinctive voice.

Built around sterling melodies, standouts "Big girls cry", "Straight to the knife", "Elastic heart", "Fire meet gasoline, "Cellophane", and "Dressed in black", they convey emotion that is unmatched by any other contemporary artist. Despite her personal hardship, Sia is able to produce exceptional power balladry and intelligent lyricism. "1000 Forms of fear" rings true to its dramatic title. It is a consistent, brilliant, deep pop record, by one of pop's best artists. After producing so many hits over the years, perhaps one's fear would be Sia's transformation into an mainstream artist. As long as she insists on performing wearing that paper back on her head, there is absolutely no fear of that happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sia shines bright like a diamond., 9 July 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
The enigmatic Australian singer-songwriter Sia Furler makes a courageous return from the sidelines with her sixth studio album “1000 Forms Of Fear,” which follows on 2010′s “We Are Born.” In recent years, she avoided the limelight deliberately, but behind the scenes she was responsible for a number of huge hits. For example, songs from Sia Furler could be found on albums by Katy Perry (Prism), Britney Spears (Britney Jean), Beyonce (Beyonce), Kylie Minogue (Kiss Me Once), Shakira (Shakira) and Jennifer Lopez (AKA). Some of those big hits were Rihanna’s “Diamonds,” David Guetta’s “Titanium” and Ne-Yo's "Let Me Love You" to name just of few.

The Sia-signature - like the vocal dips and mid-tempo melancholy of "Diamonds" - that the now 39-year-old singer and songwriter stamped on those hits, can be found once again on this album. Songs like “Burn The Pages,” “Straight For The Knife,” “Hostage” and “Big Girls Cry” sound as if they were intended, respectively, for Katy Perry, Lana Del Rey, Shakira or Rihanna. Furler wrote most of these songs with Greg Kurstin, who produced this album and also worked on recent albums by Lily Allen, Lykke Li, Tegan & Sara and Pink. This collaboration provides for a dozen irresistible pop melodies, although Furler’s reluctance to promote this album - she does minimal press and refuses to be photographed - might be the only obstacle for global success, although her impressive vocal acrobatics should do the work for her.

What struck me the most about “1000 Forms Of Fear,” is that how this sublime record is a personal victory for the once addicted and suicidal singer. Just really listed to the song “Chandelier,” which sounds like a pop anthem, but take note of the darkness at its center, with lyrics like “Help me, I’m holding on for dear life” and ““Sun is up, I’m a mess.” Sia rejected fame and retreated from public view, which allowed her to find her true self, and now experiences a triumphant comeback. The militant “Dressed In Black” and understated “Cellophane” are main examples of this and also the songs in which she excels vocally. You may not be able to see what Sia looks like on the cover of her album - besides the singer’s signature haircut, a blonde bob with blunt bangs - but she sure sounds like a superstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous album from the best singer on the planet! Recommended., 19 July 2014
By 
M. W. Hatfield "mwhatfield" (Gainsborough, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
Sia is, for my money, the best singer on the planet right now. she writes emotional, heartrending songs which have sold by the truckload for artists such as Rihanna and Christina Aguilera, and many of the songs here follow a specific songwriting formula- title based on something everyday (Chandelier, Cellophane) used as a metaphor for real life problems and relationships (hence Chandelier is about alcoholism and the life of the party girl), dance rhythms, and a massive chorus where the vocals swoop and soar and build to a triumphal "I will overcome my problems" finish. It's a successful formula, and it works.

But what lifts this above hackwork is the emotional truth in every line- she's baring her soul in every song. And that voice-imitating no one, she vocalises her pain and suffering bringing every song to life. Irresistible!

This album may well date-the sounds used are very trendy at the moment, and they WILL age rapidly. The album will sell well, sound good in cars and on the radio. But Sia's true masterpiece is yet to come. Go listen to "Some people have real problems", a much mellower CD, which is heartbreaking and gorgeous in equal measures and included the masterful post-argument love ballad "Soon we'll be found" and the beautiful "Day too soon", and you 'll see what she can do.

This album is a fabulous pop album. Do buy it-there is nothing else remotely as good at the moment. Then buy Sia's back catalogue. Celebrate her talent. Who knows where it will go next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't disappoint..., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
I don't often write reviews, so that alone means it really must be worth it!
Sia is a gifted singer and songwriter, and this album delivers. I love every track, and am still discovering more on every listen.
Last note - anyone who can end an album on a two minute outro and hold my attention has got to be amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you even remotely like Paloma Faith, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms of Fear (MP3 Download)
Yes, you should try this. If you even remotely like Paloma Faith, have a mild interest in Marina & The Diamonds, or hanker for some Beyoncé but you don't feel cool enough...Sia is for you. This album is good. I am new to Sia. I am currently considering which of her back catalogue to download. Yep, I'm sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Sia's best album yet!!!, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
Loved Sia since her Zero 7 days, I was concerned this was going to be too main stream and yet she manages to be current in terms of writing hit songs but with elements of Colour the small one and Zero 7 thrown in. Fantastic album, fingers crossed she will perform it live one day. This should be toured!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sia sells out and does cheesy pop - BRILLIANTLY, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Jude Burcombe "vmaxjude" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
Sia has been accused of selling out with this new album - emulating the stars she writes for with great success. The thing is, she is just such a fantastic singer and performer that this is still absolutely superb material. I became a big fan after Zero 7's 'Simple Things' like many people (although I think her songs on 'The Garden' are even better) but I had 'Some People Have Real Problems' on my Amazon wishlist for years before I actually bought it. And what a revelation it was - some of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. I then quickly bought up all her studio work, except 'Only See' which is unavailable, plus the fantastic live DVD 'TV Is My Parent'. She has the most hauntingly beautiful voice, and her songwriting is fantastic. I don't know if she is responsible for the music itself, but there is not one melody that does not stick in your mind after a couple of listens. I agree with a reviewer who said this album will date quickly, but while it is still current, it is the best of its genre. Everything she does is tinged with genius in my opinion. Long may the success continue. But buy 'Some People Have Real Problems' - in my top 5 albums ever, and I've been buying them for 32 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
What a difference to her other albums. Now don't get me wrong I love Sia but this is Sia at her very best. If you are not familiar with Sia buy her albums but you MUST buy this! I guarantee you that you will not be able to stop playing this album. So go on, what are you waiting for?..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have only recently discovered her and this album is awesome. Most people have heard Chandelier and Elastic Heart ..., 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
Sia!!! I have only recently discovered her and this album is awesome. Most people have heard Chandelier and Elastic Heart (Catching Fire soundtrack) but the rest of the album is just as good as these hits. Definitely buy this album even if you are a new Sia fan as you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great listen ..., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Forms Of Fear (Audio CD)
I love this album! A really refreshing sound. Might take newcomers to Sia a few listens to get into her style and lazy-sounding annunciation but once you do, I can assure you, it's a winner. Each song is both emotionally gripping in some way and also simply catchy and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1000 Forms Of Fear
1000 Forms Of Fear by Sia (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews