Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another belter from the master of extreme!
This is the story of Dee and Ryan, and their two children Claire and Jen. Falling on hard times, they find themselves having to move to a new house. Making friends with the people next door, they learn there is a serial killer on the loose, torturing and dismembering his victims. When Ryan's work colleague goes missing things come to a head, and Mike, their neighbour,...
Published 6 months ago by wistfulskimmie - Wistfulskimmi...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not fantastic
Lots of typos detract a little from the story. I expected the story to build more than it did - also I would not describe the story as a novel of extreme horror and Gore.
Could have done with a little more plot building.
Started astonishingly, but failed in its promise
Published 10 months ago by Chris Kitson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to all expectations!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Since discovering Matt Shaw i have been eagerly awaiting his latest offering and was not disappointed.

A family move to restart their lives after some marital problems. From the beginning we learn of the conflict between the players, through his first person story telling style, you feel like you are the character at that moment, especially disturbing when a serial killer to top all serial killers steps into the frame. I always try to see the other side of serial killers in books, to try and empathise (sounds weird but i do), but this killer beat me, he is pure nasty!

I cant say a lot as dont want to give any of the plot away, but suffice to say if you are a fan of Matt then keep your eyes peeled for some interesting nods to other works, if this is your first Matt Shaw book, read the authors notes afterwards and get buying the books he lists!
If you are expecting wall to wall gore, dont panic, this is gory and descriptive, but done effortlessly, making you wince but not overpowering the plot and other characters (some of which are creepy in their own right).

Excellent book, hopefully not this killers only outing please :).

J. Dawson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
The torture scenes were difficult to read, but the book in general was excellent. Really well paced, no 'fill', had me gripped, credible, and an ending which left me satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book tremendously.hard to put down once you start. did expect the end well before I finished tho. 2nd Matt Shaw book I've read and look forward to reading another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This little piggy went to market.., 25 Mar. 2015
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
I have been a fan of Mr Shaw now for some time. His ventures into extreme fiction have proved a masterstroke. I just recently finished the excellent Monster - his co-write with Michael Bray and found it to be outstanding. This is another great book. The story moves along quickly and features journal style entries by the killer at the beginning of most chapters. I like how he did this. It wasn't the usual formula of building up a story to a dramatic last few pages. Not as good as Monster or Sick Bast$$ds for me but still very good. 4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Shaw does what is says on the label, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
`Tortured's Extreme, read the sign on it's door,
Another wicked little gem from the mind of Matt Shaw.
It's not that long but also not that short,
And you're tapped in the head if it doesn't leave you distraught.
Horrific and gruesome,bloody and gory,
Not for the easily offended or fans of Jackanory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Psychological Nightmare!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Another great psychological storyline. A family move due to financial difficulties and end up living a nightmare. Makes you look twice at your neighbours. A great story, a gripping read with a fantastic ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab read!!!! A few things to work on though, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Very good read with some disgustingly gory descriptions of the torture. Had me cringing loads! The thing that made it not quite five star for me was the typos (it slips from third person to first at one point as well) and the main character for me, Ryan, being very unlikeable.i was also very confused about the ending, I understood the twist (sort of) but several hints throughout the book lacked consistency towards the culprit at the end (unless I'm being blind). I seriously love Matt Shaw's work though and will definitely be buying more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
What can I say?
Another awesome book from the master of Macabre.
If you like reading brutal then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not fantastic, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Lots of typos detract a little from the story. I expected the story to build more than it did - also I would not describe the story as a novel of extreme horror and Gore.
Could have done with a little more plot building.
Started astonishingly, but failed in its promise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TORTURED: A Novel of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
another great offering from matt shaw loved all the characters can't wait to get my hands rotten dead f###s keep up the stunning writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews