Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionary
The DVD helps you to understand the songs and the bonus track is amazing! I find the album great for listening to on my commute. I also find it interesting the songs that have been made popular from this album, drunk in love, XO because there are definitely other tracks that our my favourite but it goes to show how an understanding of digital music can revolutionise the...
Published 10 months ago by M. Dean Young

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
album skipped cost me most of the cost to ship it back
Published 6 months ago by William Herrmann


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artful pop (Platinum update), 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beyoncé (Audio CD)
On December 13, 2013, while engaged in a world tour, and without any pre-release announcement, Beyonce released her self-titled fifth solo studio album exclusively via the i-tunes store. In just 3 days, "Beyonce" sold 828,000 copies; music history was made, new industry rules were set. 14 songs, 17 videos, switching from uninhibited female empowerment to kitchen sink drama, it was not just merely a record by a megastar, but a statement, as everything about this dark and complex record suggested that, despite the eponymous title, Beyonce was demanding more of herself than just being Beyonce.

Co-written and co-produced by herself and A-listers such as Pharell and Timbaland, among others, with references to her com­petitive showbiz upbringing and acknowledgments of her beloved hometown, Beyonce continued the game of role-play she's so good at: pop diva, fashion icon, wife, mother, herself, Sasha Fierce, revolutionary, provocateur etc. Upon its first listenings, I felt that she delivered an album that is mature without being boring, bold without being forced, and entertaining without being a drag. Not a small feat in pop music where so rarely something exciting happens (Lana Del Rey's sublime "Born to die" comes to mind).

3 months later, sales are growing steadily, and it is considered by critics and fans alike as Beyonce's creative and commercial peak. Sonically brilliant, and visually magnificent, "Beyonce" is among her most entertaining and sexually explicit work, yet substantive in every respect, easily her most accomplished project to date. Honestly, there isn't one person I know who's not enthusiastic about this album, and if I'm overwhelmed by this, I would expect Beyonce herself to be so proud of such a bold, expansive body of work, and its well-deserved success. Where Lady GaGa failed with "Artpop", Beyonce triumphed with this.

This career highlight from one of showbiz's hard-working superstars is now available in a CD/Blu-ray set, in an obvious attempt to boost sales furthemore. Nothing new for those who've already got a copy of the initial release. Those who will purchase the new edition, will marvel at the astonishing details in picture, the crisp sound, and pristine production. Unless you're a completist, this edition is simply an alternative to the original CD+DVD set, featuring identical tracklist, artwork and packaging housed in a slipcase cover. Undoubtedly one of the best albums of 2013, and 2014, also.

PLATINUM UPDATE:

5 million copies sold, and following her highly profitable Mrs. Carter World Tour, the unstoppable Beyonce is back with this special limited edition box set of her record-breaking, self-titled conceptual opus. It features a live DVD with 10 performances, plus artist commentary; an extra CD with 2 brand new songs ("7/11" and "Ring off"), and 4 remixes (including the remix of B's song for H&M, "Standing on the sun"); and a mini version of the official 2015 Beyonce calendar. The original CD+DVD are still here, making this a pristine package that truly lives up to its "platinum" status, which seems to have become synonym with Beyonce. Whoever dismissed the album as another paint-by-numbers record, certainly has missed the point of one of the greatest pop records about freedom to express sexuality, to be imperfect, and to enjoy themselves (a notion further enhanced by the new, so very different for B's normal niveau, video for "7/11"). Those who have bought the original version of "Beyonce" are going to be frustrated, but this is a spectacular repackage that really has to be bought. I was going to slay Bey for shameless cash in, but this is simply too good to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionary, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Dean Young "Elfin Holly" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyoncé [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
The DVD helps you to understand the songs and the bonus track is amazing! I find the album great for listening to on my commute. I also find it interesting the songs that have been made popular from this album, drunk in love, XO because there are definitely other tracks that our my favourite but it goes to show how an understanding of digital music can revolutionise the way music is promoted i.e. people chose what should be a single via download rather then the artist or label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce (Audio CD)
This is a great album, different from her previous ones. I would recommend this album if you love Beyonce. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce (Audio CD)
Love every song on the album. Love that it has the videos too, Have really enjoyed listening to it! great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Son Loves It, 27 April 2014
By 
Diane (Gainsborough UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce (Audio CD)
Sent this to my Son as he requested it and he loves it. Did not know that it also has dvd of her songs, he loves that more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grown up B for her grown up fans, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyoncé (Audio CD)
A real grown up Beyoncé album for her grown up fans. So many different styles of music, fashion and style of music video. A great experience worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for money, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce (Audio CD)
Excellent DVD and cd songs are really good and DVD is great to watch also superb value for money I would have expected to pay quite a bit more for both together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce (Audio CD)
I would definitely recommend this CD, it's very different from all her other albums and I think it features some of her best work to date! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce (Audio CD)
Amazing tracks. Love the DVD makes it feel like I'm seeing her truly spectacular throughout. Makes me feel happy inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce (Audio CD)
Truly brilliant. Beyonce at her best dont think there is one song I do not like. A brilliant album must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyoncé [VINYL]
Beyoncé [VINYL] by Beyonce (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews