Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading Rocks!
What a great read!!!! As a regular festival goer this book brought back many memories of past festivals (both good and bad). It accounts events and experiences from each year the festival has been run, through the eyes of band members, regular festival goers and officials alike, with superb photos through out. If you've ever been to the festival or would like a taste,...
Published on 11 Sept. 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this serious?
This "book" is utter rubbish and also very factually inaccurate. Please avoid it. Some simple research would have helped. PG Arnold and the knife! Come on! I havn't checked but I expect reading Wikipedia and generally searching the web will be more rewarding for anyone wanting to know more about these festivals.
Published 2 months ago by Kim Fyson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Is this serious?, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
Kim Fyson (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reading Festival : Music, Mud And Mayhem : The Official History (Kindle Edition)
This "book" is utter rubbish and also very factually inaccurate. Please avoid it. Some simple research would have helped. PG Arnold and the knife! Come on! I havn't checked but I expect reading Wikipedia and generally searching the web will be more rewarding for anyone wanting to know more about these festivals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading Rocks!, 11 Sept. 2007
What a great read!!!! As a regular festival goer this book brought back many memories of past festivals (both good and bad). It accounts events and experiences from each year the festival has been run, through the eyes of band members, regular festival goers and officials alike, with superb photos through out. If you've ever been to the festival or would like a taste, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, brings back loads of memories of when ..., 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reading Festival : Music, Mud And Mayhem : The Official History (Kindle Edition)
a great read,brings back loads of memories of when reading was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity., 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reading Festival : Music, Mud And Mayhem : The Official History (Kindle Edition)
This is not a history of the Reading Festival. Its a dreary and repetitive set of quotes from mostly minor players in the story of Reading. No meaningfull information on how the Event came to dominate the Festival Calendar through the 70s and 80s. The pattern is repeated when the mean fiddler rebirth. I know it was only a couple of quid but its just boring and should have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***Great Reading!!!!!!!!!, 10 Sept. 2007
By 
Wow.. What a great collection of memories from those who took to the stage over the years. I have not had the pleasure of attending the Reading Rock Festival yet, but this book describes in great detail what I have missed. The book is well presented with very personal quotes from both artists and the crowd. A great present for all those ageing rockers.
Rock On...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for reliving my youth....., 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Ian D Bayntun (Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought back some graet memories from my younger days.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful nostalgic trip down Festival memory Lane-, 18 Sept. 2007
By 
Stephen R. Leach "steveleach" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been going to the Reading Festival most years since the late eighties and have been waiting for a book like this to come along for a long time. The weekends spent at the Festival fly by and sometimes you wonder if it really happended - this book confirms to you IT DID!! Oh yes, IT DID!!

Brilliant accounts from festival goers and band members alike retelling their own personal experiences from visiting and playing the most infamous festival of them all. Massive names have contributed. Just goes to show you how much this Festival means to all.

If you have ever been or want to know what it is like going the the daddy of all festivals - buy it now!

Oooh - i nearly forgot - i appear on one of the photos on page 123, what a coincedence. Oh yes, it did happen all right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book captures the true spirit of The Reading Festival!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reading Festival : Music, Mud And Mayhem : The Official History (Kindle Edition)
At last, an author who has captured the true spirit of the festival and it's history. As an avid festival goer I'm always keen to revisit festivals gone by and reminisce the lazy hazy days of my festival years! This book has stirred up memories I'd forgotten and transported me back in time to my youth! Having recently read 'From Donnington to Download: A history of rock at Donnington Park' by Ian Carroll I wasn't disappointed. A detailed in sight into the Reading Festival I'm looking forward to more releases from his Festival Series. Congratulations Mr Carroll on another brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when music was music, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book, many memories from the past years of reading festival. anecdotes from artistes, roadies etc. Wasn't too bothered about latter years but 70s and early 80s stories made it worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reading about Reading, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reading Festival : Music, Mud And Mayhem : The Official History (Kindle Edition)
This is a pretty poor excuse for a book.Just a lot of quotes from a load of musicians I've hardly heard of.Don't waste your hard earned money on this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews