Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring a hanky! A real life Dumbo story with a tragic heart.
This one had me in tears. Who isn't a pushover for a an orphaned baby elephant?. Lovely contrasts here. Strength comes not only from the beauty of the animals but also from the character of Alice, a naturalist with a passion for elephants, who must go against all she knows to save an elephant calf. Sadness comes from the descriptions of a slaughtered herd and the tragedy...
Published 3 months ago by JK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LARGER THAN LIFE
This novella is a taster for this author's new book, Leaving Time.
Alice an elephant researcher living on a reserve in Botswana finds herself the sole protector of a calf, and risking everything to protect this baby animal.
A short and sweet story.
Published 3 months ago by Amanda


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring a hanky! A real life Dumbo story with a tragic heart., 10 Aug 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
This one had me in tears. Who isn't a pushover for a an orphaned baby elephant?. Lovely contrasts here. Strength comes not only from the beauty of the animals but also from the character of Alice, a naturalist with a passion for elephants, who must go against all she knows to save an elephant calf. Sadness comes from the descriptions of a slaughtered herd and the tragedy of poaching. Tension comes in the form of not knowing whether or not the baby elephant, or Alice, will make it. The ending didn't go exactly how I hoped it might but I'm not telling you the how and why!. The setting of Botswana works well and the scenery is nicely set.

Very quick and easy read. Of course I'd have been happier if Jodi Picoult had given herself a little more space, a longer story, to develop some of her themes further, it ended too quickly, but I'm not complaining too much. Great free download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic teaser..., 12 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Payne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
I am a HUGE Jodi Picoult fan, I can't wait for her next book, Leaving Time, and I was really excited when I read that there was Larger Than Life, a short story prequel to Leaving Time.

In Larger Than Life we follow naturalist, Alice Metcalf, (although not the main character in Leaving Time, she is a key one) as she works in Botswana, where she comes across an elephant calf that has survived the massacre of her herd by poachers. Alice’s decision on what to do with the calf could jeopardise her whole career.

The story feels incredibly well researched and I learnt a lot about elephants, even in this short story. It feels like a Picoult book and she sticks to her fantastic style of writing, as well as making the story thought provoking and funny with amazing characters. I can’t wait for Leaving Time to be released and I was really pleased to see that my Kindle download of Larger Than Life also included the first chapter of Leaving Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Jodi Picoult stunner, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
I never read one of Jodi Picoult' s books without being shocked, charmed, horrified, amused etc. And always do I come out the richer for having read them......

....this one is no different - I will carry some of her words with me always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
Intriguing story which has believable characters and involves the reader from start to end. Also, and from a fellow writer's perspective, it is well written and professionally delivered.
Thanks for a great read.
A R Davey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed Larger Than Life and actually felt sad when the story came to an end. It left me wanting to know more about Alice and what came next for her... Guess I shall just have to wait for Leaving Time later in the year x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fab book, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
You could wait for the new book to come but this book a fab short story to make you want to read the full book later a fab book very well written a very well research book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful read that's at times sad, at times happy, and ends with hope., 4 Aug 2014
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
This is my first book by this author, and I didn't know what to expect. I got a beautifully vivid read about a Harvard researcher whose life had been lacking in human relationships, and whose love of elephants took her into the African bush, where despite knowing better than to interfere with nature, she simply had to intervene and try to save an orphaned baby elephant...

The book started off incredibly sad with the descriptions of what had been done to the slaughtered herd, but there was light in the form of a calf that had survived. There were laughs, there were tender moments, moments where my heart clenched with sadness, but I hadn't foreseen the ending.

They say that as one great thing ends, another begins and this was true in this tale. It didn't end how I'd wanted it to, which admittedly would have been too Disney, but it did end with another glimpse of light, and with the researcher's life going in a previously unknown direction, and it left me with a warm feeling, despite my sadness.

It's a great short read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excited, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
I love this little peek into Alice's life I'm really looking forward to the book coming out in November the day b4 my birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative and thought-provoking as well as being at times funny and very moving, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
Larger Than Life is a short story prequel to Leaving Time, the twenty-first full length novel by popular American author, Jodi Picoult. It introduces naturalist, Alice Metcalf, a key character in Leaving Time and details some of her history. In Botswana, Alice comes across an elephant calf that has survived the massacre of her herd by poachers. What she does next could jeopardise her whole career. Picoult has obviously done a lot of research into her subject: even this short taster gives the reader interesting facts about elephant herds, in particular the importance of the matriarch, and some of the effects of poaching. In true Picoult fashion, this story is informative and thought-provoking as well as being at times funny and very moving. The download also includes the first chapter of Leaving Time. Readers will eagerly devour this free offering in anticipation of the publication of Picoult’s upcoming novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LARGER THAN LIFE, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larger Than Life (Kindle Edition)
This novella is a taster for this author's new book, Leaving Time.
Alice an elephant researcher living on a reserve in Botswana finds herself the sole protector of a calf, and risking everything to protect this baby animal.
A short and sweet story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Larger Than Life
Larger Than Life by Jodi Picoult
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews