Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and wise, 19 May 2014
By 
J. Griffiths (Cardiff, Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
'Seven Year Hitch' is Pam Cockerill's delightful memoir of the first seven years of a long and happy marriage. Covering a period from late 50s - early 60s, we share the ups and downs of an 'ordinary' couple setting up home and starting a family. But Pam and Mac Cockerill were extraordinary in their determination, starting with very little, to make (literally!) a home of their own. The writing is light and witty - downright funny in places - but those were clearly extremely tough times. Whilst Mac took on three jobs as well as endless ambitious DIY projects, Pam reared three small children in what was more often than not a building site. The book is charming and self-deprecating but beneath it lies true grit and a wonderful marriage based on love, trust and friendship. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It starts - 'The honeymoon is over...', 3 Aug 2014
By 
Sabina (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
A very readable account of a young family in the first seven years of marriage in South Wales in the sixties. On the one hand they face some formidable challenges in terms of housing and rearing their young, but the optimism of youth shines through the difficulties. Written in a straightforward, gently witty style it makes for an uncomplicated and surprisingly engaging read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO GENUINE, 3 Jun 2014
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
Pam Cockerill is such a talented writer - I love the sense of humour in the book and the real feeling of being whisked back to the 1950s. This a charming read. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading your story and was so disappointed at the end because I wanted to read more and more. I will have to read it again. This story can give so much inspiration to the young of today that anything is possible with hard work and determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
Well writen light hearted look and what must have been a tough life. Marriage, work, house renovation, child birth and all at the same time. This is the life story of an extraordinary lady who maintains a wonderfull sense of humour throughout all the hardships.

Well done. You must publish the next part of your story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and inspiring read, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
A truly inspiring example of how sheer determination and love (for both your partner and for hard work) can overcome so many hurdles and lead to a good and satisfying life. Should be read by all who feel they are stuck in a rut that they can't see the way out of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny, 21 May 2014
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
This is a smashing memoir, charting the ups and downs of a young couple’s first seven years together, building a family and several homes in the face of all manner of obstacles. Even some of the darker episodes are related in a way that made me laugh out loud. A cracking good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
Very disappointed - I've finished this book and can no longer slip back in time with Pam and Mac to enjoy reading about their exploits. I've loved this very funny and beautifully written memoir and feel at a loss now I've come to the end. It's a book I've 'saved up' to have the pleasure of reading just before bedtime and which made me smile even when the odds were stacked against this young couple and their family. I thoroughly recommend Seven Year Hitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed reading Seven Year Hitch on holiday - a lovely ..., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading Seven Year Hitch on holiday - a lovely and often humorous account of an endearing couple's adventures and struggles in the early years of their marriage. Would love to hear what happened next - I'm hoping for a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Labour of Love, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Year Hitch (Kindle Edition)
What a beautifully written memoir of life in the late fifties and early sixties. So evocative of a different age. Touching and amusing in equal parts, the author's love for her husband and young children shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Year Hitch
Seven Year Hitch by Pam Cockerill
0.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews