Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Lecter always a master chef
I enjoyed the first season of Hannibal and hoped that the second season would exceed expectations too. So far it has (haven’t finished it yet) and, from my point of view, it remains one of the best psychological thrillers around.
I won’t comment about the plot in order not to release spoilers, but be assured that if you have followed season 1, you will...
Published 6 months ago by Morgana

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting tired
Not as good as the first series. Moves along too quickly and there is an overload of 'atmosphere'. The sound effects/soundtrack or whatever it is meant to be is really grating, too. Mads is the only reason to watch.
Published 1 day ago by Julie Lyon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Lecter always a master chef, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the first season of Hannibal and hoped that the second season would exceed expectations too. So far it has (haven’t finished it yet) and, from my point of view, it remains one of the best psychological thrillers around.
I won’t comment about the plot in order not to release spoilers, but be assured that if you have followed season 1, you will certainly appreciate part II. Well written, well performed, with its dark atmosphere that haunts you till the end of each episode… Hugh Dancy, Mads Mikkelsen and Laurence Fishburne at their very best.
Might not be everyone’s cup of tea (or glass of red wine!), but it’s a good quality product that distinguish itself from all the standard stuff that’s out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat of a Masterpiece, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I liked the first season of Hannibal and was intrigued as to what they could deliver in their second season - as it turns out they delivered an incredible season that blows the first (and most other shows) out of the water. I wont go into too much detail but I would highly recommend Hannibal to any fan of television although it isn't for the feint of heart!

Beautifully macabre, brilliantly shot, amazingly sleek and stylish with fantastic performances particularly from Mads Mikkelsen. The finale of this season is one of the best episodes of anything I've ever seen and I've seen a lot of shows. With this incredible second season Hannibal has earned a place among TV royalty along side the Sopranos, the Wire and Breaking Bad. Don't believe me? Why don't you give it a watch and see what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Descent, 24 May 2014
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The overall tone and theme of the second series is a whole lot darker than the first and it should also be noted much bloodier too. So you have been warned. The show loses none of its beauty and gravitas as many of the seeds sown during the first series will ultimately come to a very violent conclusion.

The opening scene gives that particular game away whilst everything counts down to a reckoning as once again Hannibal Lecter pulls the various strings. Suspicion and mistrust which linger from before have been amplified as Lecter continues to play devils advocate for him own amusement.

Given the way events played out at the end of the previous series, Lecter now finds himself being the official FBI consultant of the various grizzley murder investigations. Will Graham has been incarcerated, viewed by many as a psychotic individual who is too far gone. No one wants to believe his story of innocence and why would they? Many doubts and questions as to how and why are answered here. So in the meantime Hannibal can continue to enjoy himself right under the nose of those who wish to catch him. Psychology plays a larger part this time especially in the game of cat and mouse between Hannibal and Will.

In the beginning the theme is similar to the first series. Various grusome yet symbolic murders are carried out by persons unknown. However the darker the tone becomes the series begins to concentrate on the bromance between Hannibal and Will. Who is manipulating who? How deep is the influence of Hannibal to those around him? Not only Will but also Alana and Jack. Many of the same faces from the last time around are present whilst loose ends that may have lingered are finally dealt with. There is also the introduction of new characters who tie in with the Lecter mythos and will have a part to play in the far future. Out with the old and in with the new. So as the conclusion appears on the horizon, the blood begins to flow so anyone with a weak stomach has been warned!!

All involved should be congratulated for a beautifully rendered show not least Mikkelsen who excels as Lecter. He seems to revel in the role as the fruits of his labour finally take shape during a very unpredictable climax to the series. How the next chapter pans out is anyone's guess. So I have been as vague as possible about a much darker and bloodier series so don't go expecting a happy ending for the FBI's finest and brightest. Its all about pushing the buttons and seeing how people react and all in the name of curiousity for Lecter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compliment to the hannibal lector francise, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love the way Bryan Fuller is incorporating all the different elements of the four original movies: Silence of the lambs, hannibal, red dragon and hannibal rising, and presenting them all in a different and fascinating way. Mads mikleson as hannibal is perfect. Also I think laurence fishburne plays jack crawford really well. I wonder whether we will eventually see clarice starling, surely we will, also
maybe francis dolarhyde is lurking somewhere on the horizon. The visuals are incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal's Main Course is to Die for., 5 Aug. 2014
By 
Naomi_B (southport,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The First Season of Hannibal for me was much like an appertizer, started off with full of flavour and presented beautifully but you still was waiting for the main course...Season two delivers this and more. Season one sets up this darker second series brilliantly and all the open questions from the first season is revealed well here, we understand Will's visions more, we see Hannibal's emotions and manipulative qualities come into their own and we have a lot more action interweaved with the superbly written dialogue.

For me in season one I did at first struggle to let go of my vision of Hannibal as Anthony Hopkins, however by the end of this second series of Hannibal I honestly would rate Mads Mikkelsen as the most honest portrayal to Thomas Harris's books, he's incredibly charming as the cannibal psychologist with that frightening hint of madness every so often.

The penultimate episode has been mentioned as being one of the most stomach turning of the series so far...The second series has certainly picked up on the gore stakes so those with weak stomachs are best not to be chomping on food whilst watching.

I am not overstruck on the moments when Will goes off the rail which season one towards the end focused on but understandably so, its an obvious plot line that has to be shown, but I much preferred this season where he is more focused, cunning and stronger on the whole...Hannibal has taught him well ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware: No producer's cuts, 17 Mar. 2015
By 
Morten Hillebert Bay (Struer, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Let me start off by saying: this series is EXCELLENT, and this review only pertains to the Blu-Ray, which I've purchased. If you haven't seen Hannibal yet, or even just Season 2, hurry up and watch it - this is the best show on TV, and this season is even better than the first!

The UK version of Season 2, unlike Season 1, contains all the bonus features available on the US release. However, the release still doesn't contain the unedited, producer's cut episodes available in the US. Thus I've docked the release one star.

However, seeing as the edits are not as substantial as the first season's, and because of an otherwise great package, I have no qualms giving this release my recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series (written before the DVD/Blu-ray Release), 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Primarily, not for the squeamish, this season increases the viscera and darkness in large amounts - while the violence remains visual but fairly discrete, the darkness of the subject matter isn't for everyone.

The first series introduced Jack, Will, Alana, Hannibal, Freddie, Abigail and more characters to the screen (most characters being available in toe works of Thomas Harris - albeit somewhat changed for TV), and played around with the universe in very dark ways.

Season 2 works to move the characters in dangerous patterns, and tie the books to the TV show (although I try to avoid spoilers) in places. The performances are excellent, and although the lack of "action" in the mid section of season 2 may deter some, the story keeps coming, and the characters bounce off each other all the same. The series comes to a shocking conclusion even before the final episode, and allows great interpretation of the books.

We're introduced to characters from other novels, (take a look at the cast listing) and see their effect on the situation. No one cast member goes overboard in portraying their character (some might agree it comes close though), and the dark, sickly carousel of violence continues to revolve around the main cast.

The final episode, in which we see the conclusion of the events of both series, is played out exquisitely, with slow-motion and macro photography (such as close-up rain drops splashing in slow-mo), and superb direction and acting. Each and every character is played out well, and the entire series features twists, turns and dark, unexplored alleyways you wouldn't expect, while still remaining loyal to original subject matter.

This has been the TV highlight of 2013/2014 for me, and I honestly give this the highest recommendation I can - this deserves to be part of your collection, if you enjoy the series (or even part thereof), you owe it to both the production company and yourself to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I never feel guilty eating anything, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Will Graham has figured out who the Chesapeake Ripper is, the murderer who manipulates everyone around him like fleshy marionettes.

But having been effectively framed for the murders, he begins a descent into darkness in the elegantly horrific second season of "Hannibal," which slowly shifts from a single calculating killer manipulating people to an elaborate game of deception and hate. Even more impressive, Bryan Fuller successfully manipulates the viewer, leaving everyone guessing about who is doing what, who is lying, and who has embraced the darkness.

As the story begins, Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) appears in the home of Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelson), and physically attacks him. A few months earlier, in a facility for the criminally insane, Will (Hugh Dancy) keeps maintaining that he is innocent, and that the real killer is Hannibal. But the FBI is determined to destroy him in order to distance themselves from these crimes, and the few people who believe him are forced to question whether he's insane or not.

While Crawford struggles with his past choices, he also has to deal with a new string of bizarre, grotesque serial killings with the help of Hannibal -- including the judge and bailiff in Will's case. When a member of his team is brutally murdered, he realizes that the Chesapeake Ripper is still at large. Even more shocking, someone thought dead is still alive.

But even when Will's innocence is established, all the evidence still points away from Hannibal and towards Dr. Frederick Chilton (Raúl Esparza). Still knowing Hannibal to be a cannibalistic killer, Will decides to continue his therapy with the doctor... but seems to be slowly descending into a serial-killer existence of his own. Has he given in to his own inner darkness, or is something more at work?

Producer Bryan Fuller has a talent for two things: whimsy and the macabre. Both can still be found in abundance in "Hannibal Season 2" -- there are lots of grotesque killings in very, very creative ways (bees, flowers, inside a horse's uterus), mixed in with Will's symbolic, hallucinatory visions, which give a supernatural bent to the story. The night-black deer-man is as eerie as ever, but Will's own burgeoning inner darkness is expressed through growing vast, branching antlers from his back.

This season is a more intricate affair than the first -- where that season was a puppet show, this one is an elaborate waltz between two equally intelligent individuals. Furthermore, the rest of the cast slides around in what they think of Will and Hannibal, forming shifting alliances and ever-changing opinions. And despite all the corpses, bloody organs and some truly horrendous cannibalism, it's handled with an elegant, ebony-shadowed delicacy that keeps it from being torture-porny.

And while the first half is harrowing, with Will all but convicted of murder (especially since the FBI want him gone), the second half is like a Dante's "Inferno" of the soul. Will immerses himself in the pitch-black pool of Hannibal's secret world, and it seems like he won't make it out without becoming the very thing he hunts.

Dancy and Mikkelson are excellent here. Dancy's wispy frame and intense eyes give Will an almost otherworldly presence, even if you don't pay attention to his weird antler visions. And Mikkelson comes across as, in the words of Hammett, "rather pleasantly like a blonde Satan" -- he's all charm and elegance, sensuality and icy haughtiness. Only occasionally do we see him thrown off-balance, and only for brief moments.

Fishburne balances both of them out as a warm, essentially normal presence, but with his own undercurrent of tragedy as he struggles with his wife's mortality and his feelings of guilt. Caroline Dhavernas is a more peripheral presence, willingly placing herself in Hannibal's web of deception. And there are some solid supporting performances by Gillian Anderson, Esparza, Katharine Isabelle and Lara Jean Chorostecki.

"Hannibal Season 2" is a more elaborate, darker affair than the first season -- and it leaves you acutely aware that nothing will ever be the same again. All shadows, blood and fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and one of my favourite programmes on TV, 16 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Superbly acted, and one of my favourite programmes on TV. Full of twists and surprises, I was on the edge of my seat to the very end. Make sure you watch through to the end credits on the final episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The second series Hannibal, it has to be said, is much more gory than the first. However it's just as good as the first series, if not better. The Blu-ray itself hasloads of extras unlike the first series. These include commentaries on many of the episodes as well as interviews and some of the main cast via a funny series called post-mortem, plus the usual gag reel and deleted scenes.all in all loads better than the first season and the Blu-ray for that. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hannibal - Season 2 [Blu-ray]
Hannibal - Season 2 [Blu-ray] by Mads Mikkelsen^Hugh Dancy^Caroline Dhavernas^Laurence Fishburne^Kacey Rohl^Lara Jean Chorostecki^Gillian Anderson^Raul Esparza^Eddie Izzard (Blu-ray - 2014)
£13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews