Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm and affectionate love letter to Sheffield
In December 2012, Pulp returned to Sheffield to play what was ostensibly their last ever gig. As we entered the Arena, there were photocopied posters on the walls announcing that the gig was being recorded. This is not the film of the gig, but is the film of how we all got there.

The film is part history of the band, part love letter from Jarvis to Sheffield,...
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointing
In my opinion i think a lot of the reviews for this are biased and come from people blinded by their love of Pulp. I myself think they are one of the great bands and certainly wish i had seen them. This film is not for people who want to see them live so for me its very disappointing. I just cant believe that this has been made to mark the end of a great bands career and...
Published 26 days ago by puppy revenge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm and affectionate love letter to Sheffield, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In December 2012, Pulp returned to Sheffield to play what was ostensibly their last ever gig. As we entered the Arena, there were photocopied posters on the walls announcing that the gig was being recorded. This is not the film of the gig, but is the film of how we all got there.

The film is part history of the band, part love letter from Jarvis to Sheffield, and part concert video. There aren't many songs, and none of them are reproduced in their entirety (except a handful as extras), but the clips that do exist are terrific - "Common People", "This Is Hardcore", and the sublime "Sunrise". If you're buying it hoping to find a concert video though, don't bother.

What you will get are a number of interviews with the band, some of the people around Sheffield, and fans who have travelled to see the film (some from half a globe away). There are a lot of shots of Sheffield scenery, but a PR clip produced to highlight Sheffield as a tourist destination this is most certainly not. It's real Sheffield people in real Sheffield scenery; it's Pulp's Sheffield.

It's not what I was expecting, but it's warm, funny, interesting, wonderfully shot and expertly put together, with love.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you believe in the afterlife?, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Definitely the best film about any band ever, in my opinion. I have been a fan of PULP for a little over a year now, which might seem like nothing to you, but appears as an eternity to me. Florian Habicht does an amazing job at showing the Sheffield folk and the members of the band the way they are - common, just like us. A highly inspiring film, definitely recommended to both die-hard fans of PULP and anyone interested. Time well spent. Extras are like a cherry on the top of the cake, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a wonderful, charming, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at Sheffield Docfest and was blown away! It is a wonderful, charming, quirky, funny, insightful film into one of my favourite bands and the city they grew up in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film becomes a vivid and fascinating portrait of one of the greatest brit pop bands and the city that saw them ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Pulp - A Film About Life, Death & Supermarkets" focuses on the many, inner bonds between Pulp and their hometown Sheffield.
Starting from and re-living their final show in 2012, director Florian Habicht collects words and sounds from the band and Sheffield's (common) people. The film becomes a vivid and fascinating portrait of one of the greatest brit pop bands and the city that saw them grow and reach international success. A must see for every Pulp fan worldwide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Pulp fans, 7 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at the cinema a few weeks ago, a great film about a great band and its not just for fans of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a music lover you might enjoy their story, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable, not only for fans. If you are a music lover you might enjoy their story. If you are a Pulp fan this movie is very touching and enlightening toward their background :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointing, 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion i think a lot of the reviews for this are biased and come from people blinded by their love of Pulp. I myself think they are one of the great bands and certainly wish i had seen them. This film is not for people who want to see them live so for me its very disappointing. I just cant believe that this has been made to mark the end of a great bands career and document it. What a wasted opportunity. Most of the film consists of people in Sheffield who haven't got any interest in the band at all, kids, newspaper sellers, butchers ??? what? at least ask people who like the band. Old people believing Jarvis to be the son of Joe Cocker is not what i want to watch. I appreciate they wanted to show a bit of life in their home town but it just makes me depressed. There are no real interesting interviews and the whole thing is very badly edited. They even cut short Common People (one of only 3-4 snippets of live footage) and reprise it at the end and totally ruin the atmosphere as far as i'm concerned. I only hope that they are planning on releasing the full concert at some point because this "BBC Documentary" is not a very good way to end a legend at all.
There are much much better docs. Made of Stone springs to mind straight away and i'm not really into The Stone Roses at all. It just had interesting material. Other reviews have said its the best "film" about a band ever. I couldn't agree less. I think its one of the worst and a waste of time. It could have been amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a huge Pulp fan for years and was thrilled when they got back together and loved seeing them live. They are an amazing band to watch live, and I loved their dvd of earlier hits.

I expected a live tour dvd with a few interviews from the band and maybe of people who knew them, and some fans - but music would be the main component and interviews would be a tiny part of the overall dvd.. In fact, there is very little music and nearly all seem to be interviews with Sheffield people. To watch that once is okay, but again and again? No thank you.

Thank goodness I didn't travel into London to see this when it was screened in a cinema. I find it a great disappointment and the three stars are only because Pulp and Jarvis are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Literally an epiphany!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of common people!, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulp Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Great chance to see Jarvis, locations and fans takling about Jarvis and the music of Pulp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pulp Special Edition [DVD]
Pulp Special Edition [DVD] by Florian Habicht (DVD - 2014)
£12.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews