Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi: New Jersey
Quite simply, the best Bon Jovi album ever. Every track, and I do mean every track, is awesome. From the opening song, Lay Your Hands on Me, through Bad Medicine, Born to be My Baby and Living in Sin, to the cowboy-themed double-bill of Ride Cowboy Ride and Stick to Your Guns to the finale of Love For Sale, yuo are imersed in what true rock and roll is all about. This is...
Published on 17 Sep 2003 by Mr. Peter J. Witney

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame when "Special Editions" don't include lyrics
I have nothing bad to say about the music on "New Jersey". It's one of my favorite Bon Jovi albums and it certainly deserves an upgrade. It sounds great, the tracks are great; overall it's a great album.

But there's one thing that annoys me here; this Special Edition has NO LYRICS. It's got liner notes from some people I have no idea who are explaining how...
Published on 12 July 2011 by O. B. Tryggvason


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi: New Jersey, 17 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
Quite simply, the best Bon Jovi album ever. Every track, and I do mean every track, is awesome. From the opening song, Lay Your Hands on Me, through Bad Medicine, Born to be My Baby and Living in Sin, to the cowboy-themed double-bill of Ride Cowboy Ride and Stick to Your Guns to the finale of Love For Sale, yuo are imersed in what true rock and roll is all about. This is classic Bon Jovi. Other albums may be fantastic, such as Slippery When Wet and Crush, but New Jersey excells. As an introduction to Bon Jovi I recommend this album above all others. Yes it is the best of them all, but the basic formula can be found in every Bon Jovi song. In New Jersey it works just that little bit more. For those of you with the enhanced version, you get polished-up tracks (and they do make a difference) and the video to Lay Your Hands on Me. Okay, artistically the video ain't much as its simply the band on-stage, but crank up the volume and you become one with it.
So quite simply, the best Bon Jovi album of all, and the best rock and roll album of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bon jovis definitive masterpiece, 20 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
When you consider that slippery when wet sold 12 million copies in the usa alone,then you would forgive the new jersey boys for feeling a tad nervous when it came to recording new jersey,the pressure was on,but somehow the lads faced it and released the ultimate album in anthemic rock,this is their masterpiece and they were never gonna better this,sad but true.

The anthems and yes i would call them anthems on new jersey were just so strong,there is no way that you couldnt be drawn into them,yes you will sing along,heavy keyboards and guitars and drums and jon bon jovis voice just made this such an album.

The classics are here yet again such as lay your hands on me,bad medicine,born to be my baby,blood on blood,i'll be there for you and more,god thats some list of class songs i just recited there,but you get the idea of this albums strengths.

If you dont own this ,then you should,its an album that will change your mood,change your idea of fun time rock and most of all you will be captivated by new jersey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi at their best?, 14 July 2001
By 
Ms. J. L. Wogan "jenniferwren" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
After the mammoth success of "Livin' on a prayer" and "You give love a bad name" (both from "Slippery when wet"), Bon Jovi had proved themselves worthy of being in the Premier League of 80's rock. So they really had to deliver a blinding album to follow up their previous success, and "New Jersey" is just that. The entire album is a concoction of the highest degree, blended together to perfection. "Born to be my Baby", "Blood on Blood", "Wild is the Wind" - it doesn't get much better than this. Whether you're a long term Bon Jovi fan, or a newly converted rocker, this album is a must for your collection. Absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now if you don't have it already!, 18 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd say one of their best albums but none have been poor in my opinion but there are some great tracks on here. Living in Sin, Homebound Train, Blood on Blood and the live versions of Born To Be My Baby and Blood on Blood just add that little extra to the cd, a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rock albums of the 1980�s, 11 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
»New Jersey« is by far Bon Jovi's best album ever. The very album where the band has gotten far enough away from the poodle rock and before it faded into softcore poprock.
The album has the best moments of rock the band can offer. Catchy songs like »Bad Medicine« and »Stick To Your Guns«, the more sensitive »Living In Sin« and »I'll Be There For You«, and my personal favourite »Wild Is The Wind«.
A great album offering splendid 1980's rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Reissue But Why The Channel Switch?, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. A. M. Smith "Andrew" (Bognor Regis, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not going to review this album because plenty of other people on here have done so already. I just want to mention that for some reason on the new Special Edition of New Jersey, the left & right sound channels have been swapped. I'm not sure if this is deliberate or a mistake. It doesn't ruin the listening, but if it is a mistake then it's a bit sloppy for the record company not to notice this before putting it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock at it's very best, 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
Second only to 'Keep the Faith' in Bon Jovi's collection of superb albums, 'New Jersey' is a rock gem. Having exploded into the startosphere 2 years previous with the collosal 'Slippery When Wet' (the one with 'Livin' On a Prayer' on it), Bon Jovi managed to pull off the rare achievement of bettering the huge selling album, maybe not sales wise, but definitely song wise. 'Jersey' is basically 'Slippery's' older brother, it's a little rougher around the edges, a little more street wise. The lyrical content through most of the album is mainly one of hope through bad times, i.e. 'Blood on Blood', 'Stick to Your Guns', 'Born to be my Baby'. As soon as you press play you'll be hooked, the huge (and I mean huge) intro of 'Lay your hands on me' simply blows you away compelling you to listen to whole album again and again. The quality of the arrangements on the songs has also improved since 'Slippery'. Whether this was due to the band or producer Bruce Fairbairn I don't know, but just check out the instrumental break in 'Homebound Train'. A keyboard/ harmonica duel followed by a huge screech as Richie Sambora's solo comes screaming out the speakers, that then gives way to a bluesy break down, with just drums and bass. Pure class. As always there are the 'lighters in the air' ballads, 'Living In Sin' and 'I'll be there for you' are the culprits here, but luckily Bon Jovi are the masters of such songs, so they go fit the whole feel of the album effortlessly. All in all this album is pretty much faultless in it's genre. An absolute classic. By the way check out the end of 'Love for sale' to see how much fun this band must've been to be in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one's gonna blow you away..., 7 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
[note: The order of songs on the ordering page is wrong. No big deal]
As the second Bon Jovi album I bought (after Crush), I was expecting more of the same. Boy, I couldn't have been more wrong, and I mean that in a good way.
Note for fans who haven't heard this before: *Serious* volume is needed on the first track, because when it changes tempo about half way through, the effect is incredible.
Most of the tracks continue the same way. It's classic rock of the Bon Jovi vein. At track 7 (Wild As The Wind) however, things go off on a slight tangent. It's a slightly darker song, but many people's fave from this album. Ride Cowboy Ride follows, a strange little piece recorded in mono with just Jon and Richie playing. Blending seamlessly with it is Stick To Your Guns, a wonderful piece upbeat rock and my favourite on the album.
Overall, this one's good if you like your 80s rock served hot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Jersey one of the all time greatest albums., 7 Aug 2001
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
Any where I go this is a must album to take with me. "Blood on Blood" is my all time favourite. As it reminds me of Jon and the gang singing their hearts out live at their concerts. You cant help but put it in your car and sing your head off as well, who cares if there is a traffic jam when you have Bon Jovi for company! Other great tracks are "Ille be there for you" and"You were born to be my baby". You dont have to be a Bon jovi fan to apprecciate this album as this album sells itself. Its rock music at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BON JOVI ALBUM ..... EVER!!!, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Jersey (Audio CD)
there are such things as era's....the late 80's were an amazing era for rock n roll ...the emergence of the force of guns n roses, the return of motley crue, the arrival of skid row and the general peaking of class acts like poison, cinderella, wasp, iron maiden etc....
then ...BON JOVI released the 'impossible to follow' Slppery When Wet album with what i consider as their most complete album ever..and urguable one that will never be bettered
It has all the components that shouls comprise a world class rock n roll album..
the concert opener and crowd singalong of 'lay your hands on me' is mirrored by the best rock video by bon jovi...this song ROCKS & still ROCKS
the sexy, flirtatious dirty lyrics that accompany 'bad medicine' as great and the chorus still reverberate...over a decade later
the slant towards acoustic led songs are notable on ballads which are not girlie but are powerful as in 'livin in sin' and 'IBT4U'
the bonding lyrics of 'blood on blood' capture the reality of the band and something for all kids to relate to...frienship is primary and its a message to the band and their fans
there is the fun and real sense of rock n roll, parties, babes, beaches and beer on '99 in the shade' ....a real song for the summer in a convertible car
then what an album closer...an acoustic drunk session ...with even tico singing and the 1st sign of the blues in bon jovi's veins...a funny yet nicely played number called 'love 4 sale'
BUT...for me there are 2 tracks which have been and always will be the UNSUNG HEROE'S ...two songs which sandwich a cowboy acoustic track called 'ride cowboy ride' ...are for me so beautiful, powerful , brilliantly organised and are somehow never played live !?! Wild is the Wind & Stick to your Guns are the songs...and they are not abt cowboys and indians...they are about realtionships, lost love...but really are so good, that they are the songs that make this a 5 STAR ALBUM ....
I did not even mention the radio friendly yet, suberb 'born to be my baby' or the wonderful keyboard and wicked guitar solo on 'homebound train'...ooops i just did.
If you missed out on the best of 80's hard rock..this is the album to listen to..and also get a listen to Dr feelgood by Motley Crue
TRUST ME....NEW JERSEY ROCKS HARD !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Jersey
New Jersey by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews