Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read!
As an ex merchant seaman I thouroughly enjoyed John Molloy's account of his voyage on the Irish Ash more so as there are many parallels between it and a voyage I was a crew member on about a year after his account. I was on the MV Salvina and we also had similar charters to Japan and believe it or not I also had a fling with a Japanese girl named Hiroko which brought back...
Published 23 months ago by ian mundie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Helps to understand life aboard a tramp ship. Not overly exiting. Could have done with a bit more humour
Published 2 months ago by Mr. J. E. Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read!, 6 April 2013
This review is from: Steady as She Goes (Paperback)
As an ex merchant seaman I thouroughly enjoyed John Molloy's account of his voyage on the Irish Ash more so as there are many parallels between it and a voyage I was a crew member on about a year after his account. I was on the MV Salvina and we also had similar charters to Japan and believe it or not I also had a fling with a Japanese girl named Hiroko which brought back many happy memories of a lifestyle which has now sadly passed. Many aspects of the book I found simply uncanny to say the least. Congratulations John on a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A memorable read, 21 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Steady as She Goes (Paperback)
I read this book thinking it would be another dull sea going saga, but much to my surprise it was a fantastic read. This story will grip you from the early adventures of this seventeen year old deck apprentice and hold you in his grip as he relates the world of seamen as he grows into manhood over four years. His love affair with the beautiful Japanese girl Hiroko will squeeze your heart.
A great read don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
You wouldent believe it is a true story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and really quite moving read, 28 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable read - much superior to others I have read of similar experiences, and aided by a great sense of poignancy. As far as I can establish Mr Molloy has not written further about his seagoing experiences which I think is a great pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. It is both funny and sad - the story of the awakening of a young man on an adventure far from home who meets and falls in love with a beautiful Japanese girl. Just buy it and go on their journey with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any plans for a sequel?, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
Funny, fascinating, evocative... I could go on. This book is so much more than the usual Merchant Navy autobiographies that are available. I have seldom read a book that does so well in taking the reader along for the ride. I could relate to many of the situations, people and places described, despite the story being a couple of generations before my time. I would really have liked to have read more on how John's career progressed, how his ship mates got on in life and of course how he moved on after Hiroko. Any plans for a sequel ? I cannot recommend this book enough. Thanks to the author (John Molloy) for putting this compelling story to paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
Yes this book did bring back some memories,but some parts of the tail did seam to drag on a little bit.But so did some trips.But a good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A1, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, reminded me of my earlier years at sea. I didnt expect the end and such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SO TRUE ,IT IS ALL TRUE THATS IS THE WAY IT WAS .DECKBOYPEGGY., 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic read,you travel all the way ,ups and downs ,how do i know, because i followed in his footsteps as a deck boy [16 years old]from 1960 onwards.] on other ships on the far east runs [china boats]let the sea take you on a journey ,with john, on watch and offwatch..onboard ,ashore.
throughly enjoyable,did not want to pay off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific roller-coaster adventure!, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steady As She Goes (Kindle Edition)
A terrific read from beginning to end, full of adventure, humour, poignancy and a keen eye for human behaviour. Molloy describes in vivid detail a world that has changed, but much of which is still out there for those who go and look for it - and embrace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steady As She Goes
Steady As She Goes by John Molloy
£2.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews