Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being born again
Linkin Park’s debut ‘Hybrid Theory’ was released all the way back in 2000, it was a magical time where metal heads and Goths ruled the world and every young teen sported a black hoodie with their favourite band on them. The mixing of hip hop and metal was at its commercial peak thanks to Slipknot, Papa Roach and of course Linkin Park. Oh and Snake was...
Published 8 months ago by Anoosh Falak Rafat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was an idiot to think they could sound anything like they did back then!
In the year 2000 Linkin Park broke through the charts with their amazing debut album Hybrid theory with an incredible mix of Rock, Metal and hip hop styles deemed Nu metal. After their massive success Meteora followed in 2003 with a similar style, a developed sound and more amazing music with the band sounding their best. In 2007 Minutes to midnight was released which had...
Published 7 months ago by Matt182


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being born again, 17 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
Linkin Park’s debut ‘Hybrid Theory’ was released all the way back in 2000, it was a magical time where metal heads and Goths ruled the world and every young teen sported a black hoodie with their favourite band on them. The mixing of hip hop and metal was at its commercial peak thanks to Slipknot, Papa Roach and of course Linkin Park. Oh and Snake was the height of mobile phone gaming technology! 14 years later and a lot has changed and despite the talk ‘The Hunting Party’ is nothing like their debut album, which is a good thing because if that’s what I wanted I could have just listened to that and anyway the band are not the same as they were back then, for starters they are rolling in money.

The Hunting Party opens in glorious style mixing their rockier ‘Minutes to Midnight’ style with a bit of extra grit, while retaining a very dynamic feel as you would expect from Linkin Park. While there are flashes of their more experimental and atmospheric side, these moments are used more to provide contrast and flow rather than being the driving force of the album. The whole album is satisfyingly immediate, taking no real effort to listen to and providing pure unrestrained excitement from the off, and with each subsequent listen you discover more and more hooks, with songs that are simple enough to impale you but have enough brains to keep you coming back for more. There are no weak tracks and the collaborations are so well done that they don’t stick out like sore thumbs, they sound like they are a part of the album.

There is real potential for this album to be one that stands the test of time. This means that (like ‘Hybrid Theory’ before it) it will probably attract a fair amount of hate especially in its early days, but I think most of this hate will be undeserved and should be ignored.

As a side rant I must say that I settled with the CD only version as the CD and DVD combination was £8 more expensive and yes I know people will say that it’s worth it because live DVDs can cost more on their own but when other bands do this there is a difference, at most, of £3. I mean the Swans album ‘Be Kind’ with live DVD was only £11. Shame on whoever set the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!!!, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunting Party (MP3 Download)
This is a true return to form for Linkin Park. Great mix of rock and electronic music, with great lyrics whether Mike's rapping or Chester's blasting vocals. Though Chester does get a chance to deliver a ballad in Final Masquerade, and Mike gets to do some singing for a couple of verses of A line in the sand. Great album all the way through. My favourite songs that really stood out for me were Wastelands and A line in the sand. A line in the sand especially as I think Linkin Park managed to show all their different sides in this one song I am glad this was 6 minutes. I know I loved this album because as soon as it finished I immediately looped it. I have been waiting for Linkin Park to return to this style that made them my favourites since Hybrid Theory and Metoria. Love it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was an idiot to think they could sound anything like they did back then!, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
In the year 2000 Linkin Park broke through the charts with their amazing debut album Hybrid theory with an incredible mix of Rock, Metal and hip hop styles deemed Nu metal. After their massive success Meteora followed in 2003 with a similar style, a developed sound and more amazing music with the band sounding their best. In 2007 Minutes to midnight was released which had a very different sound and was more alternative rock. It wasn't nearly as good as the first 2 albums but it had some great tracks on it and is likeable. 2010 heralded a massive change with A thousand suns which was completely different and an album I still despise; with a reliance on electronic, computerised sounds, I could never like how much they changed. Living things still depended on electronica but in a portion of songs proper instruments were added into the songs which helped make it a stronger album with a far better sound. I didn't know anything about their new material until I was at Download festival this year and the band announced they were releasing a new album and threw a signed copy into the crowd. They played a few new songs and I thought they sounded alright live so was looking forward to the album.

After some unfavourable demos from Mike which Rick Rubin liked, Mike scrapped them and decided to create a new sound for this album. Mike and Brad produced the album themselves and it's the first non Rubin produced record since Meteora.

The thing that frustrates me most is prior to the album's release Brad was quoted saying the album sounds like a prequel to Hybrid theory. I wish bands wouldn't spout unjustifiable comments that they can't follow through. Just like when a band swears their latest album is the best thing they've ever done, and it never is! As a previous reviewer said; that comment was just a PR move to cause hype. When an excited fan has already bought the album just to discover it sounds nothing like their early material it's too late for the band to care. This album sounds nothing like anything before MTM and it's a million miles from the Hybrid theory/Xero demos. Whereas the early stuff had great guitar riffs and a polished, glorious sound, this album is rough, boring, bland sounding with mediocre songs. It's an alternative rock record and is most similar to MTM in style but also influenced by their electronic sound too. On the first 2 records the electronic sounds were used in an intelligent way as a rhythm but this album still smacks of using electronica to layer out the music.

Mike said what makes them angry now is different from back in the day; to prepare fans that the lyrical content is completely different from their early material even if the music was supposed to be similar. The lyrics on the first 2 albums especially were about real feelings with emotional depth and hurt that most people can relate to. That's what helped make them so popular back then and what made me love them. Apparently what gets them going these days is politics, war, the music industry and people who won't admit their guilt! I think above all that's what has turned me off ever since ATS and with this - I just can't relate to this band anymore and can't imagine any old fan who got into their earlier music for its depth and honesty who can appreciate these songs. Anyone who liked their first 2 albums and also likes this one is either a so-called 'true fan' who's stuck with every record, or they don't care about the lyrics and are just enjoying the fact they're making more proper music using mostly instruments again.

Chester opens up with distorted screaming sounding like a deranged computer humanoid on Keys to the kingdom! This song introduces us to their eagerness to fill half the songs up with screaming to get a 'heavy' sound. Chester's voice sounds off. Whereas on the early stuff the screaming was beautiful and placed cleverly in the songs usually at the bridge, the screaming now is overdone and overbearing. It ends with the 1st soundbite of many and this one is a little kid shouting! All for nothing featuring Page Hamilton is calmer and better. Hamilton sings the chorus but what's ironic is the song's about not selling out and this is a collaboration! Guilty all the same has a huge intro with guitar and piano. It's one of three 5 minute plus songs on the album. The rap verse by Rakim is poor and ruins the rhythm of the song. The summoning is an ugly sounding short instrumental. War is a metal/punk crossover with a lot of shouting/screaming but is OK. It has the best guitar solo interestingly towards the end.

Wastelands has a stop-start backbeat with a half decent chorus. Until it's gone is based on the old cliche 'you don't know what you've got' - original! The sound is 1 of the best though. The guitar sound on Rebellion is great, it's the preachy political lyrics that let the song down. Apparently only those under oppression are proper rebels, we're just 'imitations of rebellion'! Mark the graves is overly long and drags with a mediocre chorus. Drawbar is great because it's 0% pretentious! Tom Morello provides some squeaky guitar with a nice piano backdrop and rolling drums. Final masquerade is 1 of the better tracks with a thoughtful bright sound and much better lyrics than most of what we've heard on the album. A line in the sand is another long track. This time Mike does some singing and rapping in the verses and Chester provides an angry chorus. It's a boring end to a disappointing album.

The best tracks are Guilty all the same, Until it's gone and Wastelands and they're OK at best. This album is proof that their best days are long behind them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
Hybrid Theory was, and still is, one of my favourite albums of all time, I remember listening to it non-stop when at school, and even now I still put it on from time to time. Linkin Parks followup albums Reanimation and Meteora, while not the same calibre (in my opinion at least) as their debut, were still were very good and I certainly enjoyed them a lot (even if Reanimation was a completely different beast).

However, the albums following Meteora unfortunately didn't grab my interest. After listening to Minutes to Midnight, I stopped really paying any attention to LP. I appreciate that artists and bands like to evolve their music, or try new genres, and I cannot fault them for making the music that they wanted to make, but unfortunately it wasn't for me.

However, The Hunting Party is a step back towards where they started from. It is a lot heavier than what I have heard since Meteora, with a more hard rock feel to the album. Despite the fact that I may not have been a huge fan of their work since Meteora, it does appear that it has helped the bands talent to grow with more intricate riffs, which sound like they have a wider range of influences since their early days (I might even dare to go as far as some riffs having a classical influence to them). Their songs as a whole flow well and seem gel together nicely, with all the parts complimenting each other well.

So, to sum up the album - is it another Hybrid Theory? I wouldn't go that far, but it is definitely a step back in the right direction if you enjoyed their earlier albums. The best praise that I can give it is, with the convenience of mp3 downloads dominating my music purchases recently, this is the first actual physical album that I have bought in nearly two years. I like what they have done with this album and I am once again, looking forward to seeing what Linkin Park come up with next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, Linkin Park got a lot of hate ..., 14 July 2014
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, Linkin Park got a lot of hate for Living Things, (which I actually really liked), because it was too far away from Hybrid Theory and Meteora. Now don't get me wrong, I love Hybrid Theory and Meteora as much as any hardcore LP fan. But I think this album makes the best of both worlds in such a good way. Some of the best tracks on this album, (Final Masquerade, Until It's Gone, Rebellion) are songs that I'd happily swap with songs in their earlier albums, like Meteora and Minutes To Midnight. (MTM was their best IMO)

This album has everything:
- The power in "Wastelands" and "War" representing Hybrid Theory
- Powerful meaning combined with rap in songs like "Until It's Gone", and "Guilty All The Same" representing Meteora
- Songs with pure feeling in them, like "Final Masquerade" and "A Line In The Sand" representing Minutes To Midnight
But at the same time, all the songs have that new, edgy feel to them I got from Living Things.

Overall, fantastic album, would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoyed both Living Things and Meteora.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In short: it's very good, but could be a little bit more interesting at times., 12 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
When I heard Linkin Park were going back to a rock, guitar heavy sound for their new album I was both surprised and un-surprised... if that's possible. I was surprised because last album 'Living Things' to me suggested they had taken the experimentation of 'A Thousand Suns' and began to meld it with the familiar styles of 'Hybrid Theory' and 'Meteora', and they were going to run with it. Which would have been fine for me because I loved 'Living Things' and how it was literally all their previous material smushed together.

But I was also slightly unsurprised, largely because a decent percentage of the LP fan base were unimpressed with the experimentation and were dying for them to do "another Hybrid Theory", and so I thought perhaps LP had finally conceded to them.

However, upon listening to the album it is instantly noticeable this isn't just "another Hybrid Theory". This is the LP of today doing an album based around what makes them angry, today. Additionally, it musically is still reasonably far from what 'HT' was like which is good, because it keeps it interesting in that you aren't listening to the same sounds.

But sadly what prevents me from giving The Hunting Party a 5/5, is that it's a bit unoriginal at times, 'War' for me being the main culprit. Besides that, there are just moments during songs where you expect what's coming next. And then it is what happens next. Shinoda said "Until It's Gone" was written using what he'd learned from working with Steve Aoki and Avicii: building to a drop. And upon hearing the song it's noticeable from the off and once you notice it, it starts to feel repetitive.

In contrast, it's frustrating because there are songs like 'Guilty All The Same', 'Rebellion' and 'Mark The Graves' which are great and make me wish the whole album was written using the same mind set because they are refreshing and interesting. It's easy to see when you consider that they are all rock songs, yet they each make you feel different emotions. While "GATS" and "Rebellion" are pretty similar in making you feel angry about "the system", Rebellion is much more in your face about it. All the while "Mark The Graves" almost has a sense of regret or moving on.

All this is not to say I don't like it, but it could be better. It is also admirable and respectable that apparently after making demos which were more extremely pop/experimental than 'Living Things' Linkin Park (Shinoda especially) changed face, and tore that down and went with a direction that in the present state of music is a bit against the grain. This is a good album with it's flaws, but you can tell it doesn't give a damn about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album, by any rock band, in a long time., 16 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
If you liked hybrid theory and meteora, then I think you're going to like this album. Its definately a throw back to those times, there is a lot of hardcore metal in this album and it delivers a real punch. So much so I think it could easily become my favourite LP album of all time, and its certainly the best new album release I've heard in several years; from any band! Final Masquerade, Rebellion, Guilty all the same, and Until its gone are all absolute anthemic master peices which will live long in the memory and will be songs you'll always be hoping to be played live. But it doesnt stop there, virtually every track has its own power and angst, and as a collection of songs on a single album it really is the best to date. They could practically release every one of them as singles if they wanted.

What you've also got to consider if this has come after some rather moderate, tame affairs in recent years so to reach this standard again is truely special indeed, and for that they deserve an awful lot of credit. I'm really happy to say LP are back with a bang, and you should make the purchase of the album your number one priority - even if you had given up on LP in recent years. You wont be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old school linkin park, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
Miss L. Camm (wolverhampton, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
i have loved everything ive ever heard from linkin park, their last couple of albums have been experimental sounds away from what they originally came out with. this goes back more to their hybrid theory and meteora roots. love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Hybrid Theory/Meteora. Absolutely amazing!, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunting Party (Audio CD)
While I do enjoy all of the bands albums, the previous few albums never hit the same standards set by their first 2 albums. I became very worried about the direction the band was taking after they released that horrific remix album Recharged, but luckily they didn't turn into that and they absolutely blew my mind with the Hunting Party.

Heavy, angry and beautiful all at the same time!! Welcome back Linkin Park :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sounding Album!, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunting Party (MP3 Download)
This album is a great new feel from Linkin Park. In some ways it is a step back to the days of Hybrid Theory and Meteora but at the same time a step forward in the Heavy Metal feel the album provides and I think this is a good thing. If you where a fan of Living Things and don't like classic LP then "Until It's Gone" and "Final Masquerade" may be the best songs for you. I think there is something for all Linkin Park fans here. Like I said before this is a great album!

One final note is that tracks 1 and 2 contain EXPLICIT content if this bothers you. Amazon do not say this and need to get better at it because iTunes are better at pointing that out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunting Party
The Hunting Party by Linkin Park
Buy MP3 Album£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews