Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The view from www.drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk
Two journalist's travel to an unknown destination with their cameraman friend to document the commune "Eden Parish" that his missing Sister has been living, soon though they uncover a sinister under belly to the so called utopia.

Directed by Ti West (who directed the excellent "House Of The Devil" and "The Innkeepers") this is yes, yet...
Published 2 months ago by Rob Williams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars RELAX, YOU'RE IN PARADISE
PLOT SPOILERS (if possible)

Jake goes to visit his sister in a remote area as she has joined cult, you know the type that looks like they drink Kool-Aid. Oops sorry about that. He takes with him two friends so they can make this look like a hand held camera documentary.

This wasn't a real documentary. Did they have to end it the way I expected it to...
Published 5 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The view from www.drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk, 8 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
Two journalist's travel to an unknown destination with their cameraman friend to document the commune "Eden Parish" that his missing Sister has been living, soon though they uncover a sinister under belly to the so called utopia.

Directed by Ti West (who directed the excellent "House Of The Devil" and "The Innkeepers") this is yes, yet another, found footage horror movie but one with some pedigree and quality. Hard edged, slowly boiling tension, but compelling through out, this is loosely based on the "Jonestown Massacre" of 1978, a commune led by a sinister leaded ("Father") people brainwashed by his religious fever with a climax shot on video camera's reminiscent of the panic and terror of the infamous "Cannibal Holocaust".

A gritty, excellent slice of real life horror and at a fiver on Amazon an absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars RELAX, YOU'RE IN PARADISE, 13 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
PLOT SPOILERS (if possible)

Jake goes to visit his sister in a remote area as she has joined cult, you know the type that looks like they drink Kool-Aid. Oops sorry about that. He takes with him two friends so they can make this look like a hand held camera documentary.

This wasn't a real documentary. Did they have to end it the way I expected it to end from 5 minutes into the film? Ti West ever hear of a twist? Now having said that, the film did hold my interest. Even the boring interviews were well done. Then when they ended it all with orange flavor Koo-Aid, I had to groan...surely there is more....a twist...please!!! I need. I want.

Apparently this was done for a whole new generation that knows nada about modern history.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. Implied sex. No nudity. No twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What is even more annoying is that there are plenty of real docos about ..., 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
I was furious to find out this is the exact same story as Jonestown massacre, nothing on the dvd referers to Jim Jones at all but its almost scene by scene the same. What is even more annoying is that there are plenty of real docos about Jonestown so if you ve already seen one (which i have) this film is a waste of time. If you dont know about Jim Jones - a true example of pathogical narcissism and paranoic psychopathy, the "Father" of the cult in SACRAMENT doesnt even begin to match up to him.
But if you dont know about Jonestown you may well enjoy this. But its a big shame it doesnt once mention the actual event, even at the end where Ti West could have easily have added that it was based upon the horrific events. Ti West is a nice bloke but after HOUSE OF THE DEVIL he really has gone down hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..A GOOD HORROR/THRILLER..", 8 July 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
Yet again another great movie from Ti West, don't be put off by the idiotic negativity that other reviews bring about this film, I almost was put off watching it but was glad I went with my own instincts and picked it up, Ti West has made several cool movies such as house of the devil and cabin fever 2, the sacrament is a great movie that's filmed in the style of a group of people making a documentary, its not a found footage movie but similar in style and better, basically a peaceful looking community where the people have found a new home and a new family in each other under the leadership of the father is not what is seems to be as more sinister ideals unfold around the filmmakers putting all lives at danger, the movie is paced well and builds up tension very well too, once you start to get the feeling something is wrong the fear kicks in and the story races to a frightening climax, its not a gore movie but it does have its shocks and suspense and leaves you quite satisfied, Basically the horror here is the overall theme of the movie and the religious aspect, putting your faith in something and it turning ugly, you could even see this as a true story by time it ends, Ti West is a great director and this is a really great movie, defiantly check it out if out if your into original horror/thrillers, its a decent budget movie too with a good cast. There has not been much in the way of horror in 2014 so far and this is one of the best DVD releases so far.

As usual unfortunately the UK gets NO special features or Blu-ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars So slow and all for nothing, 12 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
I was recommended this movie by a friend and I'm not really sure what they saw in it. The pace is so slow my mind began to wander several times. The movie is really just one big slow build up to what's meant to be a shocking scene but it's so obvious where it's all going there's just no suspense. I can't really think of any redeemable reason why I would recommend any one else watches it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, 16 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
Don't really know why on earth this film is classified as an 18! i have seen 15 rated ones that are much more gorey and hard hitting. Really disappointing to watch and actually quite boring.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A ‘found footage’ film that is just about... watchable, 23 July 2014
This review is from: The Sacrament (DVD)
I hate ‘found footage’ films. There’s simply too many of them these days and they’re all basically the same. Just because ‘The Blair Witch Project’ revitalised the genre, it seems that every wannabe film-maker is trying his hand at one. Let’s face it... they’re cheap and easy to produce, not really relying on fancy special effects for scare tactics.

Personally, I think all ‘found footage’ horror films should come with a warning on them, letting us – the viewing public – know that we’re in for ninety minutes of shaky camera footage with actors whispering directly into the camera from right up close during alleged times of tension. In fact, if ‘The Sacrament’ did have a label on it saying that it was ‘found footage’ I wouldn’t have watched it in the first place.

However, I did. I mainly watched it because it had Eli Roth’s name attached to it and I still think he has some good stories left in him (even though I haven’t really enjoyed much he’s done since Cabin Fever). And, amazingly it’s watchable. That would be how I describe it – watchable. Not good, just watchable. And, based on how much I hate ‘found footage’ films, ‘watchable’ is a reasonable compliment.

We get the same old documentary film-makers travelling to some cult’s commune in the middle of nowhere to track down one of their lost relatives. Guess what... all is not what it seems. I won’t go into detail, as you can probably already guess what sorts of perils they run into. You get the same shaky camera-work, chases through woods, characters sticking their faces right up close to the camera and filming themselves.

Nothing new, but, when compared to all the truly horrendous ‘found footage’ rubbish infesting DVD bargain bins, at least I managed to sit through this one without turning it off halfway!

A generous 3/5 stars (probably more a 2.5).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately I couldn't watch it because it would not play at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pray for Salvation, 12 July 2014
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sacrament [DVD] (DVD)
** Mild Spoilers **

The plot is simple enough Richard who works for a documentary film company gets an invite from his sister Caroline to visit her at a remote self sufficient commune she now lives in called Eden Parish, the commune is in some unnamed almost inaccessible part of the world and is run by The Father.
Richard heads off with two fellow film makers and despite all seeming to be above board it's not long before they start to realise it is all just too good to be true.
It's basically a lame rehash filmed in a mock documentary style of the far superior Powers Boothe TV movie Guyana Tragedy: Jim Jones Story [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] and to be honest it brings nothing new to the table except for a few brief death scenes at the very end of the movie.
It's just about OK enough for an average 3 stars but I cannot picture myself wanting to watch this again despite there being a few reasonable acting performances especially Gene Jones as the deranged cult leader.
The only extra is a trailer which pretty much gives the whole story away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Sacrament (DVD)
Good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sacrament [DVD]
The Sacrament [DVD] by Ti West (DVD - 2014)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews