Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) Review!
When your girlfriend wants something don't complain, just get it! We already had the PC version of this game and i've been playing the PS4 version since its launch last week. My other half wanted to play the game with some of her friends too so i treated her to the Xbox One copy of the game.

Firstly, anyone that tells you the Xbox One version doesn't look as...
Published 5 months ago by MrE

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like the game much better on XboxONE than the 360 ...
I like the game much better on XboxONE than the 360 version good emersive game but can get a bit repetative. if you like just spatting those beast's with an array of different loadouts to choose from then its worth a look..I will be honest I only bought it because I am a bit of a Geek and I wanted to compare the 360 version.
Published 5 months ago by Mr KP


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) Review!, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
When your girlfriend wants something don't complain, just get it! We already had the PC version of this game and i've been playing the PS4 version since its launch last week. My other half wanted to play the game with some of her friends too so i treated her to the Xbox One copy of the game.

Firstly, anyone that tells you the Xbox One version doesn't look as good as the PS4 edition is not being honest. We've been playing both versions side by side in our living room and they look identical. After the installation and the update had been downloaded and installed the game was ready to go.

Now down to what Diablo 3 is about, you are essentially a mortal warrior (Nephalem) and must help Angels and mankind survive the onslaught from the forces of evil spread across 5 Acts. There are various monsters and bosses in each act with Diablo himself appearing in Act 4. Act 5 was originally an expansion on the PC although it's included with this version, the main enemy in act 5 is the Angel of Death and in many ways puts Diablo himself to shame. It's a great story from start to finish and will give you hundreds of hours of edge of the seat fun and entertainment.

All the AI characters are interesting and full of good information to help you understand the story and what to do next with plenty of dialogue and conversation as you progress, some of them will accompany you on your journey and fight by your side during specific tasks. You can also get mercenaries to fight by your side and although they do take some of the XP away I do think on balance they are worth having, the templar for example can automatically heal you at critical moments when you've got your hands full. The game can be played on your own or with up to 3 additional friends, the difficulty is automatically adjusted when another player joins the game and the more of you playing the harder it becomes which naturally creates a level playing field.

There is a level system from which you get stronger the higher you progress and get to use additional skills and special abilities, note that weapons and armour usually have a minimum level requirement meaning sometimes you have to wait a few levels before using a specific item. Once you've completed the story the first time, the game starts again at the next difficulty level although you get to keep your character and all the equipment. Naturally when you play at a higher difficulty the weapons and armour you come across are more powerful and offer more protection, although it goes without saying the monsters you come across are tougher too. It's also worth noting that map layouts do vary ever so slightly on each playthrough, this is to make you explore more of the game and indeed you may come across something different.

Compared to PC there are two new modes, Nemesis mode where if you get killed by an elite enemy for example the enemy levels up and automatically enters a friends game (if they are playing online at the same time) and then your friend has to fight them, if they die then the Nemesis levels up again and the process carries on. Another new mode called Apprentice mode is where a lower ranked player can join your game and they are temporarily ranked up to your level so they can actually help in your game rather than being a hindrance if there is a huge level difference.

There are 6 classes to choose from including Barbarian, Witch Doctor, Demon Hunter, Monk, Wizard and Crusader. My personal favourite is and always will be the Barbarian, I take a simple hard headed approach and prefer to use close combat and big heavy weapons as opposed to using spells or ranged attack. The beauty of the different classes available is everyone will find something they like and believe me you do have to play the game slightly differently when you use different classes. For example Demon Hunters will die very quickly if you get too close to monsters; you have to remember each class has certain weaknesses and strengths

The currency of the game is gold, you find gold as you explore and can be found on monsters you've killed, chests or indeed you can get money for trading in items such as weapons and armour at a Merchant in town. You can build your own weapons and armour at the smithy although they're never as good as those that you can potentially find on your travels in the wilderness. Many of the weapons and armour are generic and can be used by all the different classes although there are class specific items too which can utilize special abilities. You can also find stone jewels which can be placed into socketed weapons and armour to give them a "boost" depending on the item and specific jewel you have found. You also get potions which can heal you but also potions which can be used as weapons.

Now for those worrying about the controls on Xbox One fear not as fighting, interacting and navigating through menus is very easy and you can tell Blizzard put a lot of effort into perfecting the game for use with a controller. Those who are use to the PC version will probably take longer to get use to the "circular menu system" compared to everyone else although it's pretty easy to understand once you've used it for a while.

Pros: Overall it's a great story * The game works exceptionally well on Xbox One and the controls are relatively easy to fathom * Graphically it looks very impressive * Audio is great with gothic background music * Gold drops are more generous compared to the PC version * Levelling system works incredibly well and encourages you to play on * Can be played on your own or in co-op with up to 3 friends from start to finish over and over again * Random events on each play through * Harder difficulty settings are well balanced and are a true grind * This ultimate edition includes Act 5 * Gifting items that dropped in your game to friends * Nemesis Mode * Friends can enter your game whenever they want (if you want them to that is) * Xbox Live party chat really comes into its own in this game * No lag or connection dropouts as the game is running on your console and not running through the server unlike the PC version * We've not come across any bugs or glitches in the game whatsoever.

Cons: Takes an age to install and update before you can play * Say bye-bye to your social life as this game is very addictive

VERDICT: The Xbox One version really is lots of fun and using Xbox Live to chat to friends at the same time really is a big bonus. Graphically it looks sharp and matches the PS4 version on every level so don't let anyone else go telling you any different. If you've ever wanted to play Diablo then this is your chance to team up with friends and take on the evil that walks the earth, best of luck doing it as on the higher difficulties you will need it! Best of all this Ultimate Evil Edition includes Act 5 which makes this game even better value when you consider the hundreds of hours of gameplay potentially on offer! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diablo 3 is back!, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
S. A. Rutter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Diablo 3! What a great game this was when it first appeared on the PC. Giving me countless hours going through the levels, looting the best armour possible.

2 years later, and Diablo appears on the next gen consoles, and it does not disappoint. Lovely visuals to showcase the xbox one's power, I find myself playing the entire game again, spending those same hours I did 2 years ago on the PC on the next gen version.

It's pretty much the exact same game with the new Reaper of souls expansion pack. The campaign, which compared to other new releases for many years, is quite a lengthy one, and takes time and effort to complete.

You can complete the campaign either by yourself, or can choose settings to allow friends, or complete random players to join you on your quest. The more people you have playing alongside you, the more enemies will appear and the stronger the difficulty will be.

Pros:
- Graphics are simply fantastic, from the artwork on the cut scenes to the shades of blood splatter when you tear an enemy apart, very satisfying.
-Lengthy campaign, keeps you going! Wanting to find the best loot there is. Being the best.
- Easy controls! You'd think a PC click and attack game would be awkward on a controller but not the case, feels right and well executed on a controller.
- Some new game modes just to give it more depth.

Cons:
-No more auction house :( I know they got rid of this quite some time ago on PC, but I quite liked the feature.
-Can feel slightly repetitive, Wave after wave of similar enemies. Some will find that boring pretty quickly.

Overall, I'd recommend this to anyone really, give it a try, it might surprise you. Coming from someone who had already completed this campaign on the PC and came back for more. Very enjoyable indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, 10 Oct. 2014
By 
J. McCabe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Never really feel compelled to write reviews for items, but this game is a different story. Put it this way - remember those button masher games like Dynasty Warriors? If you were a fan of them then words can't describe how good this game is.

The loot system is what keeps me coming back for more its like playing a lottery or gambling, you just think one more and I'll have it.. I'm currently sitting at 147 Paragon and I've not gotten bored yet. They currently put in the latest patch adding Greater Rifts, ect. BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG in a long time, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
Ryan "R.McC" (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
This game is one of the best RPGS I have played for ages! It is definitely up there with skyrim and the best ones! This game I am officially addicted to and the extra add on with this game reaper of souls unlocks so much more playability within the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great time sink, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Really good game the expansion really adds to the great combat with a better Lot system. one of the best time sinks you can find for Xbox one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing!, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
A. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Wow! Diablo 3 on 360 was excellent now this is that game but with better visuals an extra act and more game play features. There is absolutely no competition for this game on the 2 next Gen consoles so if you are a fan of RPG's its a no brainer. With the extra game modes there is literally hundreds of hours of game play available. I for one intend in getting every hour out of this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game to remember! Masterpiece 5*, 13 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
One of the best games I have ever played! These are my favourite kind games and Diable has kept me a part of the RPG faithfuls. I have put in a huge amount of hours into the game to get to where I am and I am more than happy to put plenty more hours to progress further. Of does take a while to get the best equipment but I have no problem putting in the hours to push my character to play on the hardest difficulty (Torment 6) I just wish more people would share the same view as gamers like us.

Overal review: 5/5
Story: 5/5
Gameplay: 5/5
Graphics: 5/5
User interface 5/5
Mechanics 5/5
Detail 5/5
Content 5/5

There is plenty more aspects of the game I have left to review but I will give it all 5/5 so this concludes my review.

I have night hopes for the future of RPG's

Diablo 3: Reaper of souls - Ultimate evil edition, take a bow :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Such a fantastic game, have been a fan of Diablo and blizzard games in general since a teenager and have never been let down.
Endless replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like it says on the tin, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Just like it says on the tin, it's Diablo 3 like we all love it but with it's latest wonderful expansion. There was no faffing about when I ordered, the delivery was quick, game was in pristine condition, what's not to like? I also highly recommend you get this specific offer, as it is hands down the best deal i've found, coming in at about £15 below all the other offers.
If you had this game on PC, Xbox 360 etc. You will most definitely enjoy it on the new gen consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Love it, massive loot every time you go on a quest, plenty of option to upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Ultimate Evil Edition (Xbox One)
£41.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews