Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He never bores me, he never disappoints.
If you don't like Morrissey already, then I don't expect this record will change your mind. If you do like Morrissey already, well, that doesn't mean you'll like this record... Say what you want about Morrissey, but at least he isn't boring, and unlike some artists he has kept some variety throughout his career. This does mean that some Morrissey fans only like the first...
Published 2 months ago by Dave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Always liked the smiths and Morrissey
Always liked the smiths and Morrissey. This is a good album, but is a little bit lacking in the gritty humour but has plenty of vitriolic bile. Do I like this album..yes..does it make me happy..no, not at all, and that is where for me it differs from other Morrissey albums. So..three stars.
Published 9 days ago by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He never bores me, he never disappoints., 14 July 2014
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
If you don't like Morrissey already, then I don't expect this record will change your mind. If you do like Morrissey already, well, that doesn't mean you'll like this record... Say what you want about Morrissey, but at least he isn't boring, and unlike some artists he has kept some variety throughout his career. This does mean that some Morrissey fans only like the first couple of albums, some don't like anything released since the 90s, and so on... Personally I like pretty much everything he's done, with the exception of the Maladjusted album, and I think Years of Refusal (the last album, from 2009) was one of his best for a long time. World Peace though certainly does stand out against the more recent Morrissey records. It reminds me a little of Kill Uncle, and perhaps even recalls some Smiths era sounds, but at the same time this certainly isn't a backwards looking album. There is a strong, bright and confident feel that I've not heard in some time. The producer has clearly done a great job, and the band have been allowed to stretch themselves beyond the more conventional sounds heard on the last few releases. I don't think anyone was expecting anything as adventurous as this. In my opinion though this really is up amongst his best work - certainly deserving a place alongside Vauxhall & I and Your Arsenal. I struggled over whether this really is a five star piece of work, but i'm certain it deserves more than four stars. Don't be fooled by the 'singles' releases over the past few months - they really don't represent the best material on the record, and don't think the deluxe edition bonus disc isn't worth bothering with either - a couple of tracks there are a little on the middling side, but others are up there with the best on the album. Can't wait to see what he comes up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling new musical horizons + lyrical acuity + provocation = Moz's best in yonks, 16 July 2014
By 
Andrew Sutherland "Sutho" (Surrey outposts) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
Half a dozen listens were all that was required to confirm it as an almost-work-of-genius. At first, I was a little underwhelmed -turned off even by the title track, with its Russell Brand-ish anti-statist blandishments ("each time you vote, you support the process") and the clunky, gauche artlessness of the closing lyric ("Brazil and Bahrain/Oh, Egypt, Ukraine... so many people in pain"... yuk). Must do better... thankfully, he mostly does. Great title, anyway (as ever, with Morrissey). 'Course, Moz's lyrics will always be scrutinised with a keenness that others' aren't. The man is a first and foremost versifier, not composer - he just 'directs' the music, or so the wisdom goes... and in this case it's mostly c/o Boz Boorer (with a very big nod to new multi-instrumentalist Gustavo Manzur); gone is Alain Whyte, Moz's main songwriting partner since Your Arsenal and a particular influence on the pretty basic, fairly crude 'chug-rock' sound of everything since then, the last three records especially. Musically speaking, World Peace *sounds* much more delicate, demure, and plain interesting than anything on You Are The Quarry, Ringleader of the Tormentors or Years of Refusal; all of them good Moz albums, but tunefully a little... lumpen. Whereas here we have autoharp, Spanish acoustic guitar, accordion; the record was made in Provence and carries a certain (pleasing) Continental aftertaste. The main instrument of note though is Moz's own voice; it's an absolute revelation here; seldom better in recent memory (just listen to the mannered acrobatics on the brilliantly camp 'Kiss Me A Lot'). Highlights? The anti-macho, anti-carnivorous diatribe of 'I'm Not A Man' (the only song I know to rhyme 'T-Bone steak' with 'cancer of the prostate'... and that's not the only airing of militant vegetarianism here - later, on the 'The Bullfighter Dies', guess whose side Moz is on?). Then there's the faintly unsettling 'Smiler With Knife', with its delightful acoustic closing section. A nod, too, for the acerbic 'Staircase at the University' ("If you don't get three A's/Her sweet daddy said/You're no child of mine and as far as I'm concerned you're dead") and ruminative album closer 'Oboe Concerto' ("The older generation have tried, sighed and died / Which pushes me to their place in the queue"). There really is lots to recommend WPINOYB: as ever, the critical hyperbole is predictable, but those calling it his best in 20 years are probably not far off the mark. In fact, in the time it's taken me to write this, the album has played out and the opening title track is back on and I'm begninng to warm to its previously irksome political naïveté; it is a Morrissey album after all - provocation ought to be part of the package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As uncompromising as ever..., 17 July 2014
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
It would be wrong, and a little lazy, to say that Steven Morrissey is a bit like Marmite, because he's surely a lot more more divisive and strong-flavoured than that. Even people who consider themselves admirers, fans and possibly even friends of the Mancunian mouthpiece must wince at the controversial things he's quoted as saying from time to time, usually when speaking about animal welfare issues. Naturally, it is his unique view of the world, combative mind and razor sharp tongue which all combine to make an artist who is capable of writing some of the best lyrics of his generation and very seldom produces anything that could be labelled as uninteresting. A new Morrissey album is always an event and “World Peace Is None Of Your Business”, Moz's tenth solo album since The Smiths broke up, is one of the strongest records he has made. The material on the album was co-written by Morrissey and stalwart co-songwriter Boz Boorer, as well as half a dozen songs with guitarist Jesse Tobias, a collaborator since “Ringleader Of The Tormentors”, and a handful with piano, organ and keys player Gustavo Manzur, so this record is quite the team effort.

Pleasingly, there are quite a few excellent compositions on this album, which begins with the musically dramatic title track, a scathing assessment of world politics and the control exerted over the people by those who hold the power. The lyrics subscribe to the viewpoint recently expressed by Russell Brand; “Each time you vote/you support the process”. It's an excellent piece to listen to if you want to get angry about the disenfranchisement of the electorate by stealth, but offers no solution, just a talking point. The brash “Neal Cassady Drops Dead” features the kind of lyrics, referencing people from the sixties beat generation, which could easily have come from a Smiths album. “I'm Not A Man” challenges the stereotypes of being a 'real man' and ends up being a defiant statement of Morrissey's own uncompromising individuality, not being able to resist including an anti-meat-eating jibe. The instrumental ending seems to veer into Suede's “New Generation” at one point, although it's not clear whether that was at all intentional, as the entire song seems to have the feel of that particular band. “Istanbul” is a startlingly good composition too, lyrically hard-hitting with an excellent vocal performance. One of the stand-out tracks for me is “Staircase At The University”, a classic Morrissey composition of melodrama, failed expectations and a deliciously delivered punchline (a joke as old as time itself, but wholly brilliant as part of this song) together with a lush, upbeat soundtrack; this is a Smiths-quality piece.

Even those who aren't perhaps as fervent as Steven about animal issues can cheer along with “The Bullfighter Dies”, something most people will be able to agree with him about. Slightly more controversial is “Kick The Bride Down The Aisle” which borders on misogyny, warning the potential groom against the person who wishes to “lazy and graze” on his “living wage”. I'm not entirely convinced these sentiments reflect the society we're living in right now and it is a pity that the message of the song appears to be more than a little dated. The bonus disc on the deluxe edition has a few songs which are easily good enough to have been included on the main album, especially “Drag The River” and the fantastic “Forgive Someone”, so it's well worth paying that little extra for that little more Morrissey. Although not everything on the album is gold, it is, on the whole, an excellent, creative, highly listenable piece of work. My reservations about “Kick The Bride Down The Aisle” aside, the only serious misfire on the album is “Earth Is The Loneliest Planet”, which is musically pedestrian and lyrically veering towards self-parody; it is the least inspired track on offer here. The vast majority of “World Peace Is None Of Your Business”, however, is inspired, and is the work of an artist who has plenty left to say, whist still managing to find interesting, intelligent and witty ways to say it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Always liked the smiths and Morrissey, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
Always liked the smiths and Morrissey. This is a good album, but is a little bit lacking in the gritty humour but has plenty of vitriolic bile. Do I like this album..yes..does it make me happy..no, not at all, and that is where for me it differs from other Morrissey albums. So..three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
Simply put, this album is superb. It's easily my album of 2014 so far. I bought the deluxe version with the 6 bonus tracks and all 18 tracks are fantastic. I would certainly recommend that people buy the deluxe version as the bonus tracks are easily on par with the main album tracks. I've got all of Morrissey's albums and this is up there with my favourite of all of them! His voice and lyrics are as great as ever and the production by Joe Chiccarelli is brilliant and adds a modern sound to the record. My only critisism is the horrendous album cover - I would have prefered a classy photograph taken in a photography studio, like the last album cover (Years of Refusal), but hey, that's a minor gripe! Overall, I highly recommend it. Buy this now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new release from Morrissey, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
Excellent new release from Morrissey. Worth getting the double disc version as the songs on the second disc are just as good on the first disc. Charted at #2 in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 17 July 2014
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
A very, very good album. Great music, great lyrics and Morrissey's voice has never sounded better. My favourite tracks ( so far) are: Staircase At The University (tune) Kick The Bride Down The Aisle, Istanbul, Mountjoy, The Bullfighter Dies....OK I could go on and list the all, they're all pretty darn good. If you like Morrissey then you will probably like this album, if you don't like him then...you probably won't. My only criticism is that the extra track on the deluxe version 'Art-Hounds' really should be on the album, it is a truly brilliant song. Actually I would advise everyone to buy the deluxe edition as all the extra tracks are fantastic.
One more thing - this album gets better with every listen so if you're not fond of it at first then I recommend you keep listening as it may grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful. Morrissey's voice improves with age, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful. Morrissey's voice improves with age, the words are as prescient as ever, the melodies divine and the music is heavenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm not sure, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
Trundles along - lift music. Not very catchy which is unusual for Morrissey it will take a few more goes I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you need comparisons it sounds like a blend of Kill Uncle and Southpaw Grammar, 14 July 2014
By 
Anton Ivin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Peace Is None Of Your Business (Audio CD)
An unexpected change of direction for Morrissey in regards to music. If you need comparisons it sounds like a blend of Kill Uncle and Southpaw Grammar. From the former we get some light melodies and strange arrangements and from the latter an accent on musical search in unexpected territories. The guitars are pushed back on this album, latino rhymes and accordion are in the spotlight. On the first listen is sounds as strange as it looks. However, the more you listen the better it gets. The same happened to me with Vauxhall And I which once sounded to me like a one long boring song but now it's by far my favorite Morrissey album. Just like Vauxhall World Peace builds its quality on nuances and light touches not forgetting about the overall atmosphere which thanks to the producer is kept on for the whole record.
The lyrics here may not be as profound as on Vauxhall or even Quarry but still will bring tears to your eyes on songs like Mountjoy and I'm Not A Man and will make you laugh on songs like Neil Cassady Drops Dead and Staircase At The University (his best mockery since Girlfriend In A Coma).
The thing that must be mentioned is THE voice. Morrissey has never sounded so confident and beautiful at the same time, his crooning on songs like One Of Our Own, Oboe Concerto, Drag The River, Mountjoy would rival young Scott Walker at times, its so deep and touching.
I would definitely recommend to go for the Deluxe Edition as the bonus tracks here are outstanding and as good as the album itself. Art-Hounds, for example,is a revelation, the energy and the humour on this song are of The Smiths caliber.
To sum it up, I would say this is an album definitely worth buying even for non-fans because it sounds refreshing and different and my advice for the fans: give it a few listens before making a verdict, this record has a long-lasting aftertaste of the classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Peace Is None Of Your Business
World Peace Is None Of Your Business by Morrissey (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews