Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Holmes adaption!, 30 May 2014
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This second season did not disappoint; full of exciting and intriguing plotlines and cases. There wasn't a moment where I wasn't completely hooked and glued to the screen! Jonny Lee Miller is the perfect Sherlock, and Lucy Liu is outstanding as Joan Watson. Both characters are written and acted to the highest possible standard - making this my favourite Holmes adaption. Other notable actors include Aidan Quinn as Gregson, Jon Michael Hill as Bell, Natalie Dormer as "The Woman", Candis Cayne as Miss Hudson, Rhys Ifans as Mycroft, Sean Pertwee as Lestrade, to name a few! Beautifully shot, and fantastically written. I can't recommend this show enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sneaky, satisfying award-winning, repeat-watchable brain-feeding BUY, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Solid entertainment with grit, character development arcs and the city of New York as a background.
More than just an urban procedural, there are nods towards all previous modern versions of Holmes/Watson put there by the sneaky smart ingenious writers. With a true to reality mix of characters and actors and a true partnership in the spirit of the original written tales this just works. And works. And makes you laugh too.
Not suitable for lovers of that TV genre where supermodel actors discuss how much in danger they feel whilst standing in arty lit corner offices with big windows. Engage your brain safely here. Share and discuss with friends but maybe count the discs before they leave...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly executed alternative to Sherlock, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. P. HAIGH (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I devoured Elementary Series 1 inside a week and couldn't wait for Series 2 to arrive. I've watched four of the six DVDs so far in the two days I've had them and I'm really enjoying the new series - more than the first. Jonny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu are fantastic and the other characters (actors names redacted to avoid spoilers) are also well executed. Roll on series three is all I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainary, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. N. J. Todman "mr_todtastic" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This second season builds on everything that was good about the first. At the heart of the series is the perfectly drawn, ever developing, work-spouse relationship between Holmes and Watson, even living under the same roof and sharing everything except a bed. It is a strength of the show that Lucy Liu's Watson is Holmes' intellectual match rather than just a foil for his brilliance. The episodes are mostly stand alone investigations, while the meta-narrative focuses on the duo's relationship with Mycroft Holmes rather than Mortiarty. Personally I preferred that aspect of season 1 but over all this was a thoroughly entertaining series and sets up an intriguing premise for the third one. The game is certainly afoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most intelligent TV series I've ever watched!, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This season is even better than season 1 (which itself was fantastic). The plots are elaborately designed and extremely clever. The season finale is not just "tying up loose ends" (which to some extent was the case with season 1) but an intelligent, interesting plot with twists and surprises until the very end.

(The only thing to complain about, is that in a couple of episiodes it's actually quite easy at an early stage to guess who is the guilty one -- just by that person's awkward body language or some other "tell".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good plots, nice Holmes, disappointing Watson, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 2 is almost as fun as season 1 if you like this kind of series. I don't like the character of Mycroft, in particular his interaction with Joan, that makes her less caring about Sherlock: as he grows more attentive towards her, she is less and less nice. Quite different from the Joan I knew.
However, plots are as enjoyable as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but this is great fun and very watchable, 9 Sep 2014
By 
someone (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fun/easy to watch modern version of Sherlock Holmes; which I imagine was produced in the wake of the BBC's successful series with Benedict Cumberbatch. I prefer the BBC version, but this is great fun and very watchable.Jonny Lee Miller plays the title role and Lucy Liu does an excellent job as Joan Watson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
By 
L. Kirk Hambleton "Exiled Yank" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A good series Lucy Liu makes the show. Jon's is quite good, too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Kevin S. Brice (Scarborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series. Would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Losing its charm, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Losing its charm, but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elementary - Season 2 [DVD]
Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] by Jonny Lee Miller (DVD - 2014)
£25.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews