Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Holmes adaption!, 30 May 2014
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This second season did not disappoint; full of exciting and intriguing plotlines and cases. There wasn't a moment where I wasn't completely hooked and glued to the screen! Jonny Lee Miller is the perfect Sherlock, and Lucy Liu is outstanding as Joan Watson. Both characters are written and acted to the highest possible standard - making this my favourite Holmes adaption. Other notable actors include Aidan Quinn as Gregson, Jon Michael Hill as Bell, Natalie Dormer as "The Woman", Candis Cayne as Miss Hudson, Rhys Ifans as Mycroft, Sean Pertwee as Lestrade, to name a few! Beautifully shot, and fantastically written. I can't recommend this show enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic portrayal of a highly gifted but traumatized person. Great!!!, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved Season 1 already. But Season 2 really got me. Very elaborate and beautifully written dialogues. This Series shows that you don't need action sequences or shootouts to be riveting. What I love most is the focus on detail and the authenticity of the characters. In my opininion this is the first time that a highly gifted person is portrayed correctly with all positive and negative traits. I even based a talk on how to identify gifted people on "Elementary".
And when I realised in the middle of Season 2 that Sherlock is suffering from an Anxiety Disorder I had to watch Season 1 again finding more and more clues I didn't see before and when you listen closely to some throwaway-lines you can even deduce that his father is responsible for that, leaving Sherlock with a complex childhood trauma. I know that you can watch "Elementary" as a "normal" crime series, but this "extra" is the reason why I love it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good., 26 Oct 2014
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This series has truly been a surprise package. While I had been pleasantly surprised by the first season due to its deft handling of the reinvented Holmes-Watson chemistry, and the stunning nature of Moriarty, this season stands out due to its humane touches. Yes, we veer further away from the canon. Yes, the futile attempts to sex-up Watson during the majority of the episodes appear pathetic. But, we also get to see one of the best procedurals, with all the twists and turns that affect the lives of those who try to keep others safe. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sneaky, satisfying award-winning, repeat-watchable brain-feeding BUY, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Solid entertainment with grit, character development arcs and the city of New York as a background.
More than just an urban procedural, there are nods towards all previous modern versions of Holmes/Watson put there by the sneaky smart ingenious writers. With a true to reality mix of characters and actors and a true partnership in the spirit of the original written tales this just works. And works. And makes you laugh too.
Not suitable for lovers of that TV genre where supermodel actors discuss how much in danger they feel whilst standing in arty lit corner offices with big windows. Engage your brain safely here. Share and discuss with friends but maybe count the discs before they leave...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most intelligent TV series I've ever watched!, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This season is even better than season 1 (which itself was fantastic). The plots are elaborately designed and extremely clever. The season finale is not just "tying up loose ends" (which to some extent was the case with season 1) but an intelligent, interesting plot with twists and surprises until the very end.

(The only thing to complain about, is that in a couple of episiodes it's actually quite easy at an early stage to guess who is the guilty one -- just by that person's awkward body language or some other "tell".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT PAINS ME TO SAY IT BUT......., 16 Nov 2014
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
as a brit I have to hand it to the americans. I found the bbc's 'Sherlock' slightly too full of itself, unlike 'elementary'. the 4 main leads are great and perfectly cast, and the guest stars are equally as good, especially rhys ifans and sean pertwee. as an actor I imagine it's good fun to be a part of the production. it will have its detractors for sure, but I, for one, am not one of them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How on Earth do the Americans do it?, 18 Dec 2014
By 
Hamish Adam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
How on earth do the Americans do it? This is unquestionably a better and more accurate interpretation of the spirit, if not the letter (London/New York, Watson male/female), of Conan Doyle’s works. Watching ‘Elementary’ feels like turning the pages of a Sherlock Holmes story for the very first time.

Perhaps it’s this. Holmes, as originally written, is a complete outsider. He is almost an immigrant in his own native London. Likewise, Johnny Lee Miller’s Holmes. Aside from the obvious borderline Asperger’s difference, ‘Elementary’s’ Holmes is not only an addict immigrated into the clean and sober world of New York, but he is also a newly arrived Brit in America.

It is his divorce from the rest of humanity that enables him to see it so clearly and objectively. The Brit recovering addict re-emerging, blinking into a sunlit United States so accurately reflects the apartness that Conan Doyle gave him in the original texts. Johnny Lee Miller nails it. Season 2 is surprisingly better than Season 1. Always a good sign of more great seasons to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainary, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. N. J. Todman "mr_todtastic" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This second season builds on everything that was good about the first. At the heart of the series is the perfectly drawn, ever developing, work-spouse relationship between Holmes and Watson, even living under the same roof and sharing everything except a bed. It is a strength of the show that Lucy Liu's Watson is Holmes' intellectual match rather than just a foil for his brilliance. The episodes are mostly stand alone investigations, while the meta-narrative focuses on the duo's relationship with Mycroft Holmes rather than Mortiarty. Personally I preferred that aspect of season 1 but over all this was a thoroughly entertaining series and sets up an intriguing premise for the third one. The game is certainly afoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly executed alternative to Sherlock, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. P. HAIGH (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I devoured Elementary Series 1 inside a week and couldn't wait for Series 2 to arrive. I've watched four of the six DVDs so far in the two days I've had them and I'm really enjoying the new series - more than the first. Jonny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu are fantastic and the other characters (actors names redacted to avoid spoilers) are also well executed. Roll on series three is all I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but this is great fun and very watchable, 9 Sep 2014
By 
someone (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fun/easy to watch modern version of Sherlock Holmes; which I imagine was produced in the wake of the BBC's successful series with Benedict Cumberbatch. I prefer the BBC version, but this is great fun and very watchable.Jonny Lee Miller plays the title role and Lucy Liu does an excellent job as Joan Watson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elementary - Season 2 [DVD]
Elementary - Season 2 [DVD] by Jonny Lee Miller (DVD - 2014)
£21.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews