Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!
What a fantastic observational and humorous read from cover to cover. Had me laughing out loud to the consternation of the London commuters but I didn't care. Great plot, believable characters and the situational comedy just resonates throughout. Loved it.
Glad I tracked down this book having read another unique comedy by this author "The Afternet". Which by...
Published 2 months ago by NedKelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff.
I really enjoyed this book, good story, plotline, believable characters , and razor sharp observational comedy. Anyone who can get Graham Parker and the Rumour and Dr. Feel good into a story about espionage in Greece does it for me.
Published 13 months ago by Hugh Logan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 29 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Paperback)
What a fantastic observational and humorous read from cover to cover. Had me laughing out loud to the consternation of the London commuters but I didn't care. Great plot, believable characters and the situational comedy just resonates throughout. Loved it.
Glad I tracked down this book having read another unique comedy by this author "The Afternet". Which by the way should be compulsory reading for anyone who's forgotten the joy of uncontrollable fits of laughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
Funny book . Don't read it if you're in a mid life crisis ..its too close for comfort .Runs at a crazy fast pace .. ...he writes with a giggle all the way . You dont want to stop reading because something funny is going to happen on the next page .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff., 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, good story, plotline, believable characters , and razor sharp observational comedy. Anyone who can get Graham Parker and the Rumour and Dr. Feel good into a story about espionage in Greece does it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
This book is set in the Greek village of Eresos, on the Island of Lesvos, where we have a house since many years. Some of the characters, albeit with their names changed, are instantly recognisable and brilliantly portrayed. The first few chapters are maybe a little cliched but once the main character arrives in Eresos the book really comes into it's own. A really good fun book and a great holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining!, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
Being a 'local' here in Eresos I was surprised and deighted that Pete captured the atmosphere and charm of the place. I was laughing out loud at some of the stories as I have had very similar experiences. It is such a unique village and it really does attract some interesting people. We're all looking forward to the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 3 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable read for anyone who loves Greece. Fun story and great "laugh out loud" descriptions of some of the recognisable things that Greeks and other nationalities do! Looking forward to the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Funny and Highly Entertaining, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
Successful business guy loses his job, is therefore no longer the big earner that his wife requires so he loses her too and ends up as "a spy" on a Greek island. Sound improbable ? Its crazy but a great plot, full of humour and actually had me laughing and chuckling from the start. Highly recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
If you ever visited a Greek Island in your youth (or any other age) and want to be taken back there via a thrilling and funny page turner, then this ones for you. Loved the humour and the twists and turns - excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully quirky funny book, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
To anyone who's been to the Greek Islands many of the characters will be instantly recognisable as will Peters descriptions of the bars restaurants and country side of Lesbos. I'm sure I've hired that very same Punto- maybe there is only one.
A wonderfully interesting quirky and funny read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, well written!, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paving Paradise (Kindle Edition)
This is an easy going, intriguing story, with a touch of real humour! A light hearted thriller. The characters are very real and the way the plot unfolds is very good, with plenty of surprises and twists to keep the reader engaged! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paving Paradise
Paving Paradise by Peter Empringham
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews