Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2014
"It was that common purpose, the spirit and grit shown on D-Day, that has permitted democracies to survive. This is what we celebrate on June 6th."

The D-Day Companion is an excellent book which presents thirteen commentaries on different aspects of D-Day 1944, by leading UK and US historians.

Despite being written by collected academics, the chapters are readable and not overly educational in tone, and its easy to dip in and out of the different sections, rather than have to read the whole book from start to finish as you would with a narrative account.

Overall a strong account, emphasising the importance of the events which occurred during the Normandy landings which continue to resonate through history to the present day and the upcoming 70th anniversary.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 June 2014
This is a stirring account of the preparations for and the execution and significance of D-Day. Each of the thirteen chapters is written by a leading military historian from the UK or US; a very distinguished group of twelve contributors.

Every chapter covers a different aspect of the operation, there is inevitably some overlap of content between chapters but this means that each can be usefully read as a standalone essay on, for example, planning and build-up, deception and intelligence, air power, German planning and command, Operation Neptune, the beaches, the push inland, etc. The individual chapters combine well to create an overall picture of D-Day and its vital importance.

The style is clear, balanced and easy to read; you do not have to be an expert or academic to appreciate this excellent account of the start of liberation in the West. The book includes thirty evocative photographs, two basic maps, chapter notes and an extensive bibliography, all of which are also in the Kindle edition.

Perhaps the section that best underscores the importance of D-Day is in the final chapter, `Commemoration and Memorial' on `The Consequences of Failure'. Even in the full knowledge of the success of D-Day, seventy years of peace and freedom in Western Europe and victory in the Cold War, that is still an unnerving section to read.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
This book is a collection of essays by different historians, each one covering a different aspect of the D-Day landings It was released to coincide with the 70th anniversary of the event and includes essays on the planning prior to D-Day, the events of the day itself, and the conflict in the immediate aftermath of the invasion.
I had a basic knowledge of these events before reading this book, but 'The D-Day Companion' filled in a large number of gaps superbly. Although I found some of the essays easier to read than others, it is clear that all are the outcome of extensive research and thought, expertly put together by the Editor. A first rate book about a magnificent achievement.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
I'm sure that the essays in this book are excellent of their type. But it's not a companion in any sense I understand. a companion should give you facts and figures and other information so you can dip in and out. This does not and I think the word companion in the title is misleading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
A very interesting book giving different perspectives of the planning and execution of the Overlord plan. A good background book for those wanting to know more about the invasion. It was in parts a bit repetitive as each author gave their evaluation of the events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
I am interested in military history and as such have a large library of all things military. Today most editions to this collection are on Kindle, so my wife and I in our 70's are not adding to the books our children will have to contend with on our demise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
It is well thought out book more of a text book than a light read, which I was quite happy with. It also added in some odd facts I was not aware of from previous books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
It tells what thousands of ordinary men did for their country and for freedom. I was a schoolboy.My Brother went in on D Day +1.He did not talk about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Very easy reading. Excellent factual book, I already considered myself reasonably knowledgeable about D-Day, but learnt a lot about this topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Was really impressed with this compendium of essays looking at different aspects of the planning and expediting of the D Day landings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)