Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting piece of journalism., 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Lives of Dylan Thomas (Kindle Edition)
As someone who considers the poetry some of the finest in the English language, but is not deep into Thomasology I enjoyed this gossipy piece of good quality journalism. I suspect there is not much that is new about Thomas's life for those well acquainted with the abundant previous biographies and memoirs. But there may be some new material on some of his friends, especially the author's father, the not insignificant painter, Fred Janes, whose three portraits of his friend Dylan give the book its title. For me the most interesting feature about the book is its portrait of a fairly close knit community of cultural icons, with modest social backgrounds, from the small city of Swansea. Had they been Londoners, and had more money behind them, one can't help feeling they would have become as well known as the Bloomsbury set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Lives of Dylan Thomas (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this. I was pleased to see some of the old Dylan myths being balanced by a clear, thoughtful story of his relationships with Janes and Watkins and Dan Jones and the rest of the Swansea Kardomah gang. Particularly pleased to read some of the post-Dylan story and to read a real effort to understand his wayward life and family. Yet the tragedy of this story isn't skimmed over. Illustrations are lovely and mostly new to me. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
eXCELLENT - SYMPATHETIC, FACSINATING - A VALUABLE AND UNIQUE INSIGHT INTO DYLAN THOMAS'S LIFE AND HIS PARTICULARLY CLOSE CONTEMPORARIES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actuall very readable, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Lives of Dylan Thomas (Kindle Edition)
Very readable biography in an area prone to cultural snobbery pointing out the faults as well as the wonders of Thomas and his poetry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Lives of Dylan Thomas (Kindle Edition)
Written by friends who knew the real dylan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Lives of Dylan Thomas (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book very much, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Lives of Dylan Thomas (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much, not only because Dylan is my favourite poet, but as the author, her family and Dylan were family friends. So places and names are all familiar to me. However, this book has clarified fuzzy areas and filled in many gaps in my knowledge and understanding of the life of Dylan and his piers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Lives of Dylan Thomas
£8.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews