Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2014
Crowbar are all about the groove and are metal in a way that can only be created by sipping long and hard at the musical font that is the blues. It is hard and heavy but that doesn’t mean you can’t move to it.

Comparisons with Down are obvious and if you are a fan of Black Label Society and wished they were a bit grittier then this album will be a nice addition to your collection. Pantera fans should also take note and if you are coming from the more modern end of the musical spectrum Lamb of God fans should find much to love.

The album has some variety on its theme; the solid ‘Reflection of Deciet’ sees the band slow down and enters what seems like post metal almost like Cult of Luna, ‘Amahanthine’ is pretty much modern day Alcest just more simplified.

For some reason albums of this type sound better listened to on sunny days so make sure you do that but obviously if you are reading this in the winter buy it anyway because it is brilliant.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Kirk Windstein decided that he wanted to concentrate fully on his first band Crowbar, and following his departure from Down, this is the end product. Whilst Down arguably will not be quite the same with Windstein, Sludge Metal fans can rejoice as this is definetly proof that is was a good decision on Kirk's part as this is yet another top drawer Crowbar album.
Opener 'Walk With Knowledge Wisely' gets this going nicely on a very heavy and quite complicated mid-tempo riff, a strangley catchy chorus and typically cautious lyrics.
'Symmetry in White' gives us another side of Kirk's vocals, it is very mellow and different to what he's done before whilst still complimenting the heavy riff beneath before picking up pace for the chorus.
'Taste Of Dying' is an up tempo thrasher.
'Amaramthine' feels like a bit of breath catcher splitting all the heaviness and is a beautiful clean electric guitar song reminiscient of 'In Times Of Sorrow' off of 'Sonic Excess In Its Purest Form.'
'The Piety of Self-Loathing' is a briliant instrumental that closes the album and neatly encapulates all the Crowbar trademarks; tempo changes, melodic harmonies and memomarable heavy down tuned riffs.
Highly reccommended, I can't praise this album and this criminally overlooked band enough. If the power of the riff compels you, you need not look further.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
I think the power and energy has slowly gone from this band. Since excess album and Sammy's (guitarist) departure I feel the grooves and inspirational riffs have gone with him. For someone to say this albums on par with broken glass makes me wander where metal in general is going in terms of ideas. I'm really trying to listen to this and wicked hand but always go back to odd fellows broken glass time heals nothing. The power surging crunching driving riffs really help my gym and binge sessions. Crowbar will always be in my heart but I really do wander if they've had they're day going by this latest album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
This cd was released in 2014 to celebrate 25 years of CROWBAR. On the sticker it says SLOW HARD AND HEAVY and that is CROWBAR and this cd in one. I,ve brought most of there cds and there dvd this year as i,ve become a big fan. As a THRASH METAL fan i used to think anything slower was not up to it, i was wrong then some. Also its not all slow with CROWBAR the tempo varies song to song. The production on this cd is a1 so you hear the geetars as loud as hell. For fans of BLACK SABBTH, EYRHATEGOD,PANTERA, and any other really heavy metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Those sludgy southern groovesters have done it again. Belter of an album. Once Walk with knowledge wisely kicked off with that pummeling riff I was hooked. Great variation of tracks from the slow paced Symmetry in white, the up tempo carnage of Ageless decay, through to the crushing instrumental finale of The piety of self loathing. Kirk's gravel gargling vocals sound brilliant as ever. Do yourself a favour, get this album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Awesome album, yet again. Crowbar are one of the few consistent bands out there who never fail to deliver the goods time after time. Main man Kirk Windstien has never wavered from the path, he writes crushing hardcore sludge metal like no one else. This disc matches other superb albums such as Broken Glass, Odd Fellows Rest, Sonic Excess and Lifesblood. Revel in the sludge!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
One more lesson in Heaviness from the Sludge masters..Very much on the same veins as the last offering, this one is bit more groove orientated and more rounded..The overall loudness is present and the focus is on the rhythm and Mind-blowing heaviness throughout..Couple of amazing slow numbers as usual too..This album is definitely a grower and won't disappoint..Absolutely loving it
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Crowbar never cease to amaze. This offering has a mature and fuller sound which is still mind blowingly full of riff and head crushing. My congrats to all for a master class in sludge NOLA style!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
this album is just ok. i got tired of listening to it quite fast. definately not their best work. broken glass, time heals nothing and equalibrium are timeless though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Order received, well packed. I am very happy. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)