Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I DON'T THINK THEY CAN BOOK A BABY
This is delightful comedy that centers around stressed out super-mom Allyson (Sarah Drew). She conspires with two other stressed out mom's to have a "mom's night out" and to let Sean (Sean Astin) mind the kids along with his single buddy friend Kevin (Kevin Downes). The other two members of the threesome include Sondra ( Patricia Heaton) and Izzy (Faith based...
Published 7 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad I couldn't make it past the first 40 minutes
Just awful - thankfully we got it through LoveFilm so didn't waste too much money. It's meant to be a comedy but the only time I laughed was at the appauling acting - so hammy and don't get me started on the score! I would give an overview of the story but it was so painful I couldn't make it past the first 40 minutes. I can't believe it's getting 5 star reviews...
Published 2 months ago by Becky F


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I DON'T THINK THEY CAN BOOK A BABY, 31 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This is delightful comedy that centers around stressed out super-mom Allyson (Sarah Drew). She conspires with two other stressed out mom's to have a "mom's night out" and to let Sean (Sean Astin) mind the kids along with his single buddy friend Kevin (Kevin Downes). The other two members of the threesome include Sondra ( Patricia Heaton) and Izzy (Faith based film cutie Logan White).

We discover that the ability to walk in heels is not like riding a bike. Both the women and the men are out of their element leading to an over-the -top comic adventure. While the situation approaches unrealistic, the one liners had me in stitches. The plot is cliche and formulaic, but works with the characters and on screen chemistry.

The film has a faith based message and utilizes stars that have been strictly in faith based films. With the help of a few headliners to carry the film, plus a decent script that wasn't bogged down with a faith message, this film was delightful, even to this old atheist cynic.

Trace Adkins played a philosophical biker who tells Allyson and us, after a night of hell, what she apparently needed to know to enjoy life.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. God/ Jesus is mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad I couldn't make it past the first 40 minutes, 17 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Just awful - thankfully we got it through LoveFilm so didn't waste too much money. It's meant to be a comedy but the only time I laughed was at the appauling acting - so hammy and don't get me started on the score! I would give an overview of the story but it was so painful I couldn't make it past the first 40 minutes. I can't believe it's getting 5 star reviews. Seriously, don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hangover for wholesome midwestern Jesus lovers, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This was a film that made me thoughtful afterwards. I am a stay at home parent.

It has received a good deal of praise but also some criticism, depending on where the people stand. I was expecting a fun film full of crazy antics. I found it rather a stressful film about neurotic people who can't relax even though they don't have any serious problems. There is a very strong moral message, it's almost like a parable. It is a pretty religious film that seems to be aimed at the mid west of the USA and has some of those types of actresses in the cast. The women are out having a night out to relax. But what was very odd was that they did not seem to be allowed to have any fun at all. Only within their families did they have a good time later when they had learned to relax. It was quite a streessul film to watch, and quite frustrating it was not always not really really funny. I did very much enjoy some of these stressed up hard talking steamrolling omen getting tasered by the cops. It appeals to church women who want fun in a group, but if that intended audience were IN this film then they would not be allowed to enjoy it, only when they came back with their families. The men in these families seemed to cope pretty well with the kids. This has attracted a lot of criticism from feminist groups.

I note that the 5 star ratings here have been given by church groups. This is a female hangover for church ladies who like it clean and wholesome. It was sort of funny, very stressy, a saccharine ending, cheesy, way too wholesome, somewhat unbelievable in places (what your OWN daughter doesn't know you have a tattoo? Do you walk around in a tent at home?) but it has a certain charm and it also made me think a bit about roles and childcare, especially as I am a stay at home dad.

Three stars. This is Hangover for wholesome midwestern Jesus lovers. Which is nice if you like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mums do have it hard, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie although I was kind of expecting it to be a little of a cringe factor when it first started out. As it progress, the story line of the woes of being a mum extended to a few other mums and how they were dealing with their own issues. Only one part made me laugh but that was okay.

Also, sometimes one can think if a person holds a certain position that must never of had a life...not so with the pastor's wife which was a very good thing to bring out.

It was good to see that men, in general, do not always manage the take over to look after their children....but they did get it together in the end.

Okay movie, may not have paid the full price for it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mum's Night Out for a Family Night In!!!, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Finally -- a movie you can enjoy with your family. The plot centres around a mum with three young children: she's stressed, and along with two other friends, they decide to go out on a night by themselves, leaving dad's home with the kids. Once they decide to leave their troubles behind by locking mobile phones into the glove compartment, the misunderstandings, misdirections, and mishaps start to happen thick and fast.

There's enough slapstick comedy to keep the 6-9 yr olds happy, and some clever dialogue for older people; hilarious situations with a biker babysitter; and when the vicar's wife gets tasered, you really feel as though the world can be a topsy-turvy place!

Sean Astin from Lord of the Rings (he's Sam Gamgee) has a minor role as the dad whose shoulder is regularly dislocated (especially when extricating the toddler from putting his head down the loo). I didn't recognise the others, but the acting is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Fun!, 23 Dec 2014
By 
Andy (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Great for the Holiday Season!

I loved this film. Good clean fun, and really affirming of moms/mums everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars highly recommend!, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
It was good clean fun. Lots of laughs and a nice reminder at the end that a mum's job is important. Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed it!, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Exactly how many mothers have to cope. Thoroughly enjoyed it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Enjoyable film very predictable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Very funny, great watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014]
Mums' Night Out [DVD] [2014] by Andrew Erwin (DVD - 2014)
£8.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews