Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disneys Ichabod and Mr Toad
As with Disneys older cartoon films, the animation is superb, and the characters quite beleivable. I also liked that classical extra cartoon called Lonesome Ghosts [of which i never tire of]. Marvellous Disney material.
Published on 27 Feb. 2011 by ALF LEEK

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Together again - or not, in the Headless Horseman's case!
This review is from: The Adventures Of Ichabod And Mr Toad [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr Toad was another of Disney's features that were really a compilation of shorts, although in this case its seven reel running time is made up of just two stories boasting star narrators. Basil Rathbone makes the case for Toad of Toad Hall being one of the...
Published on 20 Dec. 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Together again - or not, in the Headless Horseman's case!, 20 Dec. 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures Of Ichabod And Mr Toad [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr Toad was another of Disney's features that were really a compilation of shorts, although in this case its seven reel running time is made up of just two stories boasting star narrators. Basil Rathbone makes the case for Toad of Toad Hall being one of the greatest characters in English literature, though the half hour animated version of The Wind and the Willows loses much of the charm and whimsy of the original story in favor of something simpler and more energetic. It's not bad at all taken on its own terms, and Eric Blore is perfect voice casting as Toad, but a little more attention to the story would have been welcome: Toad's prison escape dressed as a washerwoman is all but skipped over when it should have been a gift for a comic sequence. Bing Crosby takes up the narrating duties for the second half, an adaptation of Washington Irving's Legend of Sleepy Hollow complete with 40s songs not far removed from Donald Duck's theme tune. Unfortunately this does feel a bit stretched out until the Headless Horseman makes his belated appearance for an impressive and fiery finale that's not quite impressive enough to take away the feeling that it would have worked much better as a one-reel short.

Unfortunately the picture quality on Disney's DVD isn't as impressive as it could be either, with a lot of white speckles on the picture. Still, with both films released separately for so long in the past - The Wind and the Willows turning up as a short supporting `feature' on Disney theatrical reissues like Alice in Wonderland and The Legend of Sleepy Hollow more often relegated to Disney's TV series - it's good to have them back in their original format. The classic Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy cartoon Lonesome Ghosts, which almost certainly served as the inspiration for Ghosbusters, provides a welcome extra alongside kiddie-friendly singalong, interactive game and storybook features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disneys Ichabod and Mr Toad, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with Disneys older cartoon films, the animation is superb, and the characters quite beleivable. I also liked that classical extra cartoon called Lonesome Ghosts [of which i never tire of]. Marvellous Disney material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Fun, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Disney cartoon featuring stories from The Wind In The Willows and The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow.is great fun for all the family. Dating from the Fifties the animation may not be quite up to Pixar standards but really that doesn't detract from the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good claen fun, with plenty of character..., 7 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these two Disney shorts. They are witty, clever and brilliantly put togther. We sometimes forget how good the early Disney animations were. I love Pixar too, but seeing these two old storis always makes me smile and cheer.

Watch Icahbod running away from the ghost of the Headless Horseman. Cheer as Rat, Mole & Badger help Toad recover Toad hall from the evil Weasels. It's good clean fun, and easy to watch over & over. Stories that we can all relate too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journeys of Ichabod and Mr. Toad, 6 Sept. 2010
This dvd has two wonderful cartoon shorts dividing up the story of Mr. Ichabod and Mr. Toad. Mr. Toad winds up on some grand journeys with some great friends, and ends up reclaiming his good name after being framed. Mr. Toad's wonderful friends are instrumental in helping him reclaim his innocence. Mr. Ichabod plays a man full of charm and a love of life that gets along well with others. It is a great cartoon for both adult and kids, but there are certain scenes in the Ichabod cartoon that may be a little on the intense side for children under 3 years old. What I also like are the bonuses included. One of the bonuses involves playing a game where you must answer questions correctly to get to Toad Hall. If you can answer tham without getting four tires then you can get a nice bonus at the end in the form of another cartoon short. I played the game and thought it was pretty fun, plus the mini cartoon that I got to see as a result of it was pretty creative (a car version of the little engine that could). Watching this dvd is definitely worth it, especially considering the bonuses included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Waited years for this, 2 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Adlington "Jan" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A few years ago i remembered having seen a scary cartoon about Sleepy Hollow when i was a child. It took me ages to track it down (mainly as i didnt know what it was called), & i've eventually got it from Amazon.
The title is deceiving, as it infers that Ichabod and Mr Toad are in one adventure - but it's two separate stories.

Of course, its not as scary to me now - but its still very good and you can scare the kids with it!

I now just need someone to help me find the other one i want from olden days - The Blue Danube - it's lovely little birds & woodland animals, squeezing the blueberry juice into the river to make it blue - all to the music of 'The Blue Danube'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming Disney Double Bill, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This DVD presentation of The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr Toad is a charming adaptation of two stories made by Walt Disney in 1949.

I must admit that I don't like the second part of the film which is the Adventures of Ichabod section (Hence the reason for four stars rather than five) but the purchase of the DVD in my opinion is worth it just for Mr Toad segment which is the Disney version of The Wind In The Willows Story.

Although not as well animated or known as the era's other films such as Bambi or Pinochio the film is still entertaining and a low price worth adding to your Disney DVD Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Classic, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite of the Disney 40's cartoon features with two classic stories (Wind in the Willows and The Legend of Sleepy Hollow) beautifully told with some great music. This, like the other 40's Disney's, has not dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great seller. The movie itself is just not very ..., 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great seller. The movie itself is just not very good. It are two different stories. Oh well its a classic and I bought it for my classic collection. Maybe one day when my expectations aren't so high it will be a better movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Collection, 16 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely DVD collection, a must for any Disney fan!

The artwork is lovely and the stories just what you would expect from the Disney standard!

The extras are also good: a game, a disney short, a singalong and an interactive storyboard.

One of the lesser known Disney Classics but still a gem.

Excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews