Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this author - if only we had more of ...
I love this author - if only we had more of the same in new crime fiction - less shock value and more integrity of thought and creativie yet totall real character creation, plot building, mindful mysteries and devastatingly dastardly denouements..!. His main characters throughout (Dr Thorndyke, Polton, Jervis..) are drawn with an all-round grip on moral character -...
Published 2 months ago by Mary Lamb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to have the whole Austin Freeman in three cheap ...
Good to have the whole Austin Freeman in three cheap sets, but the proofreading is appalling, and the index not easy to use.
Published 7 months ago by DMT


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I love this author - if only we had more of ..., 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
I love this author - if only we had more of the same in new crime fiction - less shock value and more integrity of thought and creativie yet totall real character creation, plot building, mindful mysteries and devastatingly dastardly denouements..!. His main characters throughout (Dr Thorndyke, Polton, Jervis..) are drawn with an all-round grip on moral character - 'fibre & substance' and his baddies are equally believable (I would love a fourth and fifth megapack since I've now been through all three with such pleasure never experienced in 21st century fiction... brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forerunner of of modern forensic detection., 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
Interesting window on the world of Victorian society where class and erudition are all. Writing style is very old fashioned, a bit pedantic but very clear and grammatically correct - though not tediously so.
Thorndyke is a bit of a Holmes lookalike but much more scientifically oriented. The plots are well thought out and, I was told by my old science teacher, the technicalities of the scientific analyses are accurate.
Not James Bond or Sam Spade but enjoyable precursor of modern forensic detection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
I like the Short Story genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Holmes but different!, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
Marvellous, well constructed stories: and a true bargain on Kindle. A few 'typos' but nothing to spoil one's enjoyment. More in this 'megapack' series please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good to have the whole Austin Freeman in three cheap ..., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
Good to have the whole Austin Freeman in three cheap sets, but the proofreading is appalling, and the index not easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am a sucker for good pulp fiction and old fashioned detectives this ticks all ..., 28 Feb. 2015
By 
M Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
I am a sucker for good pulp fiction and old fashioned detectives this ticks all the boxes - good bedtime stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
This is great, better than Sherlock Holmes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good. Reading/, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third R. Austin Freeman Megapack: 19 Mystery Tales of Dr. Thorndyke & Others (Kindle Edition)
Thank. You. Good. Reading/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews