Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some old favourites
these E books are astonishing value even if there is the odd typo , I had virtually stopped reading SF so the modern titles are a good signpost to current authors
Published 10 months ago by P. R. Uings

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I was expecting
I suppose it depends on your understanding of the term "space opera". According to Wikipedia it means any story set mostly in space, but my own expectation was more along the lines of the far-reaching galaxy-spanning yarns set in a far future.

Only a few of the stories are of the type I expected. On the other hand, several of the others are enjoyable...
Published 4 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I was expecting, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
Ian (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
I suppose it depends on your understanding of the term "space opera". According to Wikipedia it means any story set mostly in space, but my own expectation was more along the lines of the far-reaching galaxy-spanning yarns set in a far future.

Only a few of the stories are of the type I expected. On the other hand, several of the others are enjoyable anyway. What I do find odd is that a few of them barely get into space at all. For example, Killer Advice, a quirky murder-mystery set entirely on a space-station, is not in reality space-related. I'll forgive it because it is quite entertaining, but it's a stretch for this compilation.

The first story, Breath's Duty, does in fact follow my assumed interpretation of space opera but, being first, I imagine it may put many readers off the whole compilation because it resorts to the (I feel) cheesy style of naming everything with unpronounceable names full of apostrophes. A reasonable read though, if you can live with the style.

Several of the stories are really quite old for SF, dating from between 1930 and 1950. The era has a particular style that reminds me of a cross between steampunk and Sherlock Holmes. Visions of a future of casual space travel from a time before transistors, satellites and computers can try the credence of the modern mind, yet in some ways the degree of imagination in these is greater than some of the others. Despite being of a generally scientific mind myself, I found some of the endless exposition of "how stuff works" (particularly in The Black Star Passes) to be tiresome enough to not complete the stories.

Overall, whilst there are some decent, even good, stories here, at least half are mediocre or badly dated. The low price of the compilation forgives much though, as I definitely enjoyed the at-first-baffling The Weight of History, The Lightness of the Future, as well as Salvage in Space and Change of Command. Not as good a success ratio as some of the other Wildside Press megapacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some old favourites, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
P. R. Uings (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
these E books are astonishing value even if there is the odd typo , I had virtually stopped reading SF so the modern titles are a good signpost to current authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value and something for everyone, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
P. Kendell (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
This eBook is a mixed bag of old and new. I think there are two potential readerships for it, each of which will find something different to enjoy. Some will like the old stuff and be happy to overlook the creaky nature of what was, after all, pulp fiction written for a cent a word. Other will go for the newer stories, even though they're less competently written.

Either way, there's more than enough here to be worth the bar-of-chocolate purchase cost. You don't have to read the whole thing, after all. Production values and editorial are perfectly good for this price point - I've seen far worse for far more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of Good SciFi, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
Generally a good read, plenty of stories to jump in and out of. Its not Shakespear just a bit of fantasy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space opera Megapack, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
John Carter of Mars meets Flash Gordon! A collection of Sci-Fi stories written in the past when their future was somewhat different to the one we see nowadays. Great stories, well written and most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great to read these SF short stories, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
Kindle purchase. Really great to read these SF short stories. Quality varies of course, some are much better than others, but all enjoyable. Great value for money, providing hours of good reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
Great for old s/f fans like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worthy of a read. ., 6 Feb. 2015
By 
S. J. ATTWOOD "Floyd Fan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
Great mix of old and not so old short stories from some of the greats and not so greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, time well spent, would reccommend, 19 Sept. 2014
By 
David Herron - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
good read, time well spent, would reccommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Space Opera Megapack: 20 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Tales (Kindle Edition)
Some good but mainly mediocre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews