Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!
The Universe that Douglas has crafted leaves the reader with a sense that humankind is an almost insignificant note in relation to the grand space opera that is playing all around us. However Dark Matter does leave you with the impression that our tiny little note might play a much more important role than we would have previously imagined. Roll on the next installment!!
Published 2 months ago by M. J. Fyfe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong storyline
Book 5 picks up some time after book 4. It was interesting finding out what all the old characters had been up to in the intervening years. The old enemies are still out there the sh'daar collective threatening from the shadows. The mysterious starlight aliens with their godlike technology are still a big unknown. But neither really come to the fore in book 5 as it...
Published 2 months ago by R P Jee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong storyline, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book 5 picks up some time after book 4. It was interesting finding out what all the old characters had been up to in the intervening years. The old enemies are still out there the sh'daar collective threatening from the shadows. The mysterious starlight aliens with their godlike technology are still a big unknown. But neither really come to the fore in book 5 as it concentrates on earths civil war and a new alien enemy that see us as a new food source. It's a complex and interesting story. Personally I end up skipping a lot of the technical explanations of how the tech works. It feels like each book has explained FTL and it's associated technology's to death, and I just cannot take any more, captain. Even considering the swathes of story you have to skim over if you not overly interested in alternate physics, there is a worthwhile story to be read here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hope the next one is up to his usual high standard., 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not as good as the first four in the Star Carrier series and had the feel of a book that was 'dashed off' to meet a dead line. We are briefly introduced to the Rosette Aliens, who appear to ignore us, and then move on to another unknown species who we give a bloody nose. Presumably the Rosette Aliens will get more mention in; ? (Star Carrier, Book 6) Lets hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the other books in this series and found them to be a very good reading. This latest book though I think the author has lost the plot, he goes into a lot of political and science background which a found to be seriously distracting, so much so I lost interest half way through the book and couldn't finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 13 Jun 2014
By 
M. J. Fyfe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Universe that Douglas has crafted leaves the reader with a sense that humankind is an almost insignificant note in relation to the grand space opera that is playing all around us. However Dark Matter does leave you with the impression that our tiny little note might play a much more important role than we would have previously imagined. Roll on the next installment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Matter review, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nicely done Ian Douglas AKA William H. Keith. Showing that human nature is probably going to be our biggest treat in a odd universe and that the best can overcome the worst of us is what a good story teller is all about. The Journey is believable and nicely delivered. Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An agreeable continuation, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This latest volume in the series introduces a new protagonist with, er, interesting table manners. Full marks to Mr. Douglas for dreaming up these interesting alien physiologies and psychologies - unlike "Star Trek", any aliens we meet out there will almost certainly be vastly different from us. His battle scenes are also good, and it's nice that he allows his heroes to be fallible, and for that fallibility to have deadly consequences.

The only fly in the ointment for me are the politics, in which Mr. Douglas occasionally sounds remarkably like a publicist for the US Tea Party, full of freedom, small government, don't tread on us, etc. all espoused by the good ole' USNA, and not at all like those nasty socialist Yurpeens, out of whom we're currently beating the stuffing. One would hope that, in that far-distant future, we'd have got beyond that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews