Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful sensory experience.
I have recently seen this film at the cinema and it is superb. As the title suggests, it's about birth, life, and death. A collection of images from around the world set alongside an excellent musical soundtrack. The images you see are wonderfully shot and varied: some beautiful, some imaginative, some shocking, all are thought provoking. Images such as: Buddhists and...
Published on 9 Oct 2012 by K. P. Borley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - Appalling soundtrack.
Still trying to get to the end of this film. No doubt the scenery, imagery etc is worth it and they obviously had access to and travel to a lot of places to put this all together, but the story doesn't flow and, most of all, the soundtrack (too artifical and new-age) is incredibly annoying. If you are going to tell a true story include the true sounds as they are key to...
Published 26 days ago by Vivian F.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful sensory experience., 9 Oct 2012
By 
K. P. Borley "Little-bit-of-bread-and-no-cheese" (Battlesbridge, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I have recently seen this film at the cinema and it is superb. As the title suggests, it's about birth, life, and death. A collection of images from around the world set alongside an excellent musical soundtrack. The images you see are wonderfully shot and varied: some beautiful, some imaginative, some shocking, all are thought provoking. Images such as: Buddhists and Buddhist Temples, scenes of the natural world, tribes from remote corners of the world (highlighting the contrasts of lives in the world today), a muscular tattooed man tenderly holding a baby, mass consumerism in the West, technology, fascinating images of people's faces (some not quite what they first seem), and some truths about the food industry that every Human Being should see. I could list hundreds but better just to let you watch the film. When the film ended at the cinema the audience stayed glued to their seats, unable to move as they tried to take in and come to terms with what they had just experienced. In an industry that nowadays seems largely to be about making as much money as possible by churning out shallow trash, how refreshing to have people like Fricke, doing it for the love of art, for the love of producing something worthwhile. I would say the best place to see Samsara is at the cinema but if you missed the opportunity then the next best thing would be to watch it on a large sized plasma/LCD screen with a good speaker set up. And on this occasion it's worth paying out the extra and getting it on blue-ray. Then get yourself comfortable, sit back, and enjoy a fantastic sensory experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Par with Baraka, 15 Jan 2013
By 
R. Potter "Pulsar" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just watched Baraka and Samsara back to back, Samsara story is a little more up to date and uses a little more shock factor in its images compared to Baraka.
Picture quality is faultless, watched it on Samsung 55 inch tv and did not notice any deterioration in picture. Sound was also great.
Overall I was extremely pleased with the content, picture quality and sound.
A superb BluRay and a fantastic thought provoking film that sits alongside Baraka.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsara, 19 Nov 2012
The best film I've seen in all my life. It is mind blowing visually and the music is very good. I saw it at the cinema, but if you have a big screen HD TV I expect it will still be well worth it. It's something I'd like to see again. I couldn't fault the film. It takes you on a kind of journey across the world and shows you every aspect of life in an incredibly stunning way. It's a kind of documentary however there's no commentary and you are left to freely come to your own conclusions. My friends went to see and they said it was great too. We're all quite critical and so it has passed the test of discernment. Samsara (DVD & Blu-ray)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baraka 2.0, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those of us that have had the privilege of basking in the beauty of Baraka in high definition for some time now, Samsara may actually come as a minor disappointment, but then again, how exactly do you follow a masterpiece of film and sound?

Well, simply put, you don't, but you CAN get extremely close, and close they get.

Samsara is another gorgeous film from Ron Fricke and Paul Magison. It's a world filmscape/soundscape for those that haven't had the pleasure of Baraka, Chronos, Koyaanisqatsi & Powaqqatsi. Describing it as a documentary would undermine it in reality. Shot on 65mm film throughout, nearly every single sequence will magically keep you rooted to your favourite armchair, blending haunting organic sound with cinematography that will simply melt your eyeballs. It's about as good as being there.

Samasara is ostensibly an up to date Baraka, showing the human condition as it has developed over millenia. There are many, many similar sequences such as rubbish tip scavenging, ancient ruins timelapsed against starry skies, waterfalls, ancient architecture, volcanoes, the brutality and power of nature and the like but many are quite new, such as the Cebu prison piece (bizarre to say the least) and the night shots of Rio's high rises and other electricity devouring cities (stunning).

Five stars no question, this captivating look at us and our planet should take top spot in any decent natural history film collection. Buy, own and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - Appalling soundtrack., 4 Oct 2014
This review is from: Samsara (DVD)
Still trying to get to the end of this film. No doubt the scenery, imagery etc is worth it and they obviously had access to and travel to a lot of places to put this all together, but the story doesn't flow and, most of all, the soundtrack (too artifical and new-age) is incredibly annoying. If you are going to tell a true story include the true sounds as they are key to our lives, whether they be stressful, natural or just silence (pure silence is of course unlikely). Personally, I find the noise of modern life and the peace of nature the true contrasts of life today. Nevermind that a lot of the time the soundtrack isn't even relevant to the images and, in fact, extremely distracting to what would be an otherwise enjoyable peaceful experience, at times. Sorry, but I feel it is a bit pretentious despite (or maybe because of) its aspirations. Imagery great, idea good, but soundtrack appalling to the point where I muted it and even considered switching off the whole thing. I hasten to say, that I am a keen watcher of alternative and world cinema, so not critical out of lack of interest or sympathy for the message intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique !, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to be in an a dream , buy this DvD. Love the colors, sounds, etc ...

Your HD TV will thank's you.

(sorry if i have made some mistakes in my sentences, but i'm french ;o) )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oversampling is majestic, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this yesterday as I had pre-ordered it.

The image quality is exceptional. No other blu ray (besides Baraka) come close. It's this why I give it 4 stars rather than 3. I just didn't enjoy the film as much as Baraka. Many of the shots were uninteresting and too often seen (even though never with such good quality).

The music also was uninspiring at times. I just did not feel engaged like I did with Baraka even though I really wanted to.

The 70mm film, like for Baraka, has been sampled at 8K (4320p) then transferred to Blu Ray (1080p). This oversampling really bears fruits.
The colours are so intense... it's a marvel to behold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say about this film .. words are not adequate. It is definitely Fricks best film yet, looks absolutely sumptuous. A stunning film, thought provoking in its stream of conciousness style and with an amazing soundtrack which is brilliant in its own right (I own that too) Shot in 70mm film and outputted to 4k digital it has all the beautifull warm dynamic range of film and all the sharpness and clarity of digital, definitely the best of both worlds and I can see why many directors are using this method to shoot movies now. Do yourself a favour and get this aesthetic meditative masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, inspiring and awakening, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a beautiful ensemble of pictures and music. The movie shows so many cultures and peoples, from the monks on the high mountains to the factory floor to the prisoners dancing. There is a clever and subtle sort of story-telling throughout the film which helps you keep your focus. I specially liked the subtle way the movie tries to raise awareness about humankind's consumerist approach and what it means for animals and people who are on the other side of the metaphorical curtain. It definitely puts Samsara above Baraka for me. Very artistically and thoroughly done. Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The eyes have it!, 27 Oct 2014
This review is from: Samsara (DVD)
Clearly this is a film full of impressive cinematography, striking visual images, colour and amazing scenes both natural and man-made. Plaudits all round for this work of art. For me, amdist all the grandeur, I was quite taken with what felt like the intimacy of all the eyes in the film, with so much eye contact from the people being filmed with the camera in a way that felt engaging and personal and conveyed such a range of emotions. A wonderful sensory experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Samsara
Samsara by Ron Fricke
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews