Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Burzum: love or hate it!
Burzum: love or hate it!
Published 3 months ago by Piotto Luca

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Burzum's finest ambient hour.
The music is almost as magical and immersive as you get on other Burzum instrumental albums. Almost. Burzum (Varg) always creates great mystical immersive keyboard driven music. The sort of music that transports you to another place and time when listened to in the right situation.

The only downside to this album (which caused me to give it 3 stars and not 5)...
Published 1 month ago by Zoon_McCoy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not Burzum's finest ambient hour., 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ways of Yore (MP3 Download)
The music is almost as magical and immersive as you get on other Burzum instrumental albums. Almost. Burzum (Varg) always creates great mystical immersive keyboard driven music. The sort of music that transports you to another place and time when listened to in the right situation.

The only downside to this album (which caused me to give it 3 stars and not 5) is Varg does a lot of spoken narrative parts in most of the tracks. It kills the atmosphere of the wonderful music. The Ways of Yore should have been like the last album. Vocal free. Just instrumental. On the last album Solbjorg would have been ruined if Varg spoke on it. Solbjorg is one of the best Varg tracks ever.

It's good in a way that Varg tried something new with this album. But it didn't work for me. Almost put me off the album completely. I hope if he does any more ambient albums like this. He does them ALL vocal free. This album is listened to one or two tracks at a time. I can't listen to it by hitting play and let it run like I did with the last album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Burzum: love or hate it!, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Piotto Luca - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ways Of Yore (Audio CD)
Burzum: love or hate it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great relax music, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Seweryn Goral "sew" (pl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ways Of Yore (Audio CD)
Better than previous album, really relaxing music.
Can anybody confirm, that import version is a digipack edition ?
Thanks anyone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A calm, relaxing, almost hypnotic slice of musical poetry, 6 Jun 2014
By 
M. A. PRITCHARD (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ways Of Yore (Audio CD)
The feminised liberal elite's who run their banker funded operations through public relations companies, mainstream media outlets, universities, think tanks and NGO's hate it when you question their orthodox, highly deceptive version of reality. They have a number of ways of dealing with dissent. They start off with ignoring it, and then insist that their views are the consensus, and that the argument is already over. This is what they keep trying to do with the man-made global warming debate. When that doesn't work they use ridicule and name calling that is designed to label anybody with opposing views as a crazy, tin-foil hate wearing `conspiracy theorist' that shouldn't be taken seriously. Their next phase of attack is to use their big guns, the four destroyers of all debates. So if you go against their agenda you are either `racist,' `sexist,' `homophobic,' or `anti-Semitic.' Have you noticed that yet? It's bloody annoying isn't it? And that's what they do with the one-man musical project called Burzum.

I can already tell you what other reviews of this album will read like. Most mainstream music commentators will ignore it, and the few metal magazines that do give it a review will start off their reviews by telling their readers not to buy it because it's 'racist.' They'll then go on to say that it's boring and not as good as the other albums they are reviewing that month. Most of these albums will be praising Satan and growling and screeching about how bad Christianity is. You know that stuff that really upset people in the 1980's? Well, they're pretending that it's still cutting edge and rebellious in 2014. The days of biting a head off a bat are long gone, but you wouldn't know that if you are a regular reader of one of today's politically correct metal magazines.

They're so rebellious those metal magazines. So evil, so hardcore, so anti-establishment, except, err, actually no, they're not, at all. Your typical metal magazine is about as anti-authority as a party political broadcast for the Labour/Conservative party, so don't listen to their corporate nonsense and fake rebellion. They criticise Christianity because they are allowed to, it's as simple as that. They are stuck on the corporate plantation, and quite happy to even be allowed there.

`The Ways of Yore,' is not a `black metal' album, so don't purchase it if that's what you want. There are no blast beat drums, no guttural wails, and no screeching guitars and walls of violent, aggressive percussion. This album is by a man who has left such things behind, in his youth, where they rightfully belong. You are not supposed to live your life in a perpetual state of stunted, anguished teenage confusion, anger and misanthropy. Life is about stages of experience, where you learn, grow, develop and change. Varg Vikernes (the man behind Burzum) has made a soothing, relaxing, contented, spiritual, and erudite album that is part hymn to the past, part summoning of the days of yore, and part recognition of the state of balance that we all need to live a fulfilling and contented life.

The album has two standout tracks. The first is the hook laden and catchy `Heill Odinn,' which has a refrain that'll be stuck in your head for weeks after listening to it. The second standout track is `The Reckoning of man,' where a spoken word Varg takes us through what has been lost, but what has also been remembered. It's a call for a re-evaluation of our past, and if you can get over the deceptive `racist' tag used to stop you looking into these things then it's something I highly recommend you look into for yourself.

I found `The Ways of Yore' to be a calm, relaxing, almost hypnotic slice of contemplative, introspective poetry, laden with care for the listener and sprinkled with little nuggets of musical gold that will delight your ears. You need patience to enjoy it, patience and the ability to transcend the corrupt corporate mainstream's name calling tactics that are designed to stop you from even exploring the areas of genealogical research that people like Varg Vikernes are brave enough to be bringing into the public arena. Putting ideological and political matters aside though, this is a rewarding work of music that will put you in a warm place. There are no screams of torment here. This is music coming from a man who knows exactly who he is, what he is doing and where he wants to be. It's music from a man with peace of mind and happiness in his heart, and I fully recommend that you get off the corporate reservation and give it an hour or two of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars seth splatter, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ways Of Yore (Audio CD)
Pretty much follows on from his last album really. There are no longer any obvious signs of his black metal roots. In fact, some of the songs now sound like Tangerine Dream or Popul Vuh more than anything. Quality wise, its a bit mixed. The longer instrumentals at the end of the album, especially the 13 minute 'Emptiness', definitely work the best. His vocals are a bit shaky and off-key in parts.

I just keep hoping he'll produce another 'Belus' or 'Fallen' before he disappears to far up his own firmament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my, 21 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Ways Of Yore (Audio CD)
As a long time "fan" (a word I despise, but it serves as a guidance to the reader) it saddens me to write this. Ok, I have had only a couple of listens to this yet so maybe this is premature, but I fear it's not. I find this time Varg has completely lost his way. We all know Burzum can make great (even genius) music but later releases has become less and less interesting. Still they were all adequate and well worth a listen (and even a buy). Until now. With this badly produced joke of an album I have no idea what he is thinking. It sounds amateurish at best, and his attempts at singing is just embarrassing. Absolutely nothing new here, and the only useful tracks are rehashes of older material (which he does his best at destroying too, listen to the originals instead). Varg, please please please try to reconnect with your roots in metal and find your true path, you are lost in the woods now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ways of Yore
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews