Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney greats coming to DVD!
For the young, or simply the young at heart, the coming of Disney classics to DVD is something that is eagerly anticipated - and in this respect Hercules is no exception. In the spirit of Disney, the typical inaccuracies can be overlooked during an action-packed adventure. This movie is worth it alone for the hilarious antics of Pain and Panic, along with the stylish...
Published on 8 July 2002 by Bunnyshed

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Black Borders (DVD) 20/09/2014
DVD copy is 16:9 in ratio yet has black borders at both top and bottom of the screen.

So in effect the image is encased in a big fat black frame.

The problem can be solved by zooming in by 2x.

However inevitably this involves a 50% reduction in the image quality.

Not cool.

Better to pay an extra £3 for the blu ray so...
Published 3 months ago by Bennet


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good film, 27 Sep 2009
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This version of the classic mythological story was very entertaining although not as authentic as it might have been. It had some very exciting scenes and funny scenes. T,here are many interesting characters, Philoctetes(a.k.a Phil) -Hercules` personal trainer with the bottom half of a goat ,Hades- Zeus' vengeful brother and uncle to Hercules who is plotting to take over Mount Olympus, Pain and Panic- Hades` hilarious demon like henchman who were added in for comic relief and Pegasus- Hercules`s trusty horse who has the ability to fly thanks to his bird wings are just a few of them. The stories main protagonist is of course the title character, Hercules demi god and son of Zeus and Hera (the king and queen of the gods). Hades(The god of the underworld) is plotting his death because he has been told by the FAtes that Hercules is the only person who can stop him from taking over Mount Olympus. Hades can't kill Hercules because Hercules is a god and therefore immortal.....or can he?. Hades orders his minions, Pain and Panic, to feed baby Hercules a potion that will turn him mortal. Hades then wants them to kill Hercules, obviously they do something wrong and because he didn't drink every drop he is still partially a god but because he's not a full god he spends most of his years on earth away from his biological parents. The only way he can be re united with his parents on Mount Olympus is by proving himself a true hero on earth. Featuring the voices of James Woods, Rip Thorn, Bob Cat Goldthwaite and Danny Devito and also featuring catchy songs throughout, this film will appeal to a most children and maybe most adults as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Black Borders (DVD) 20/09/2014, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
DVD copy is 16:9 in ratio yet has black borders at both top and bottom of the screen.

So in effect the image is encased in a big fat black frame.

The problem can be solved by zooming in by 2x.

However inevitably this involves a 50% reduction in the image quality.

Not cool.

Better to pay an extra £3 for the blu ray so have requested refund and will order that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I just watched this the other day, for old times sake. It was brilliant - better than I remembered. Whoever said that you can outgrow disney couldn't have been more wrong. I laughed and laughed along with my friend, and even if we were laughing at new found jokes, it didn't matter. It's definately worth buying. But if you're older, watch it with a friend to make it more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more recent Walt Disney classic, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Feeling nostalgic, I decided to buy a few of the Walt Disney films that I loved as a kid, including 'Hercules'. If anything, I found myself enjoying it even more now that I'm older.

This is a film that can appeal to both children and adults alike. A witty and charming tale set in Greek Mythology (it may not always stay true to it but who cares?), it follows the life of Hercules, the son of Zeuz who is kidnapped as a baby by his evil uncle Hades' minions Pain and Panic who feed him a drink to turn him mortal. He is taken in by an older farming couple who raise him as their own, when he is older, he discovers who his real father is and sets out to prove himself a hero so he can regain his god-hood and join his family. Although he is trained by Phil, a goat who is famed for training heroes of the past, Hades' schemes ensure that it won't be an easy ride.

There is much to love about this film, most of the characters (even the villains) are likable and entertaining, the songs are all catchy and memorable and the ending is quite emotional. I regard this as one of the best Walt Disney's films of the last twenty years, and is sure worth having in any DVD collection.

Now, how long do we have to wait for the 'Hercules' TV series that I also loved as a kid to be released on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A First Class Movie But..., 2 Jan 2009
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my 3 year old Grandson based on customer reviews except the oldest review which I unfortunately missed out. If I had read it, I would have chosen another DVD.

I do agree that this movie is for slightly older children (6 or 7 +). My Grandson was very attentive to most of it but kept losing interest as he found it difficult to concentrate on the story, unable to relate to the humour and ancient Greek setting (temples, muses etc). Also, although humourous and funny to us, some of the 'nasty' characters and monsters that play a major role in the film with impressive effects, made him quite scared.

However, I feel this movie is fantastic all round and superbly produced. It is a must see but I would recommend Toy Story and Monsters Inc for the little ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercules DVD, 3 Nov 2008
By 
L. Woolridge "Leewoo" (Stoke-On-Trent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
One of the better Disney movies released
at the price which i got it for (£7) it was a MUST BUY
i think its a great adaptation of the original story of hercules with great music and hilarious scenes
worth considering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hercules shines, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally, Hercules is on blu-ray!
I'm happy to say that the picture quality does not disappoint, Hercules has never looked better! This is the release to go for. Unfortunatley, considering Hercules is one of Disney's black sheeps, the bonus features are the ones from the old DVD, and they're not that great. Making-of featurette, clip video, karaoke, with bad picture quality. When you think about it, it may be the best we get for Hercules, ever. Considering I'm buying it for the movie and nothing else, I'm cool with that.

But to be honest, I'm still giving the blu-ray 5 stars, the picture quality is GREAT, the sound is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining comedy, 12 Sep 2002
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Disney's take on the Hercules mythos does twist quite a few elements of Greek mythology, but then again the Greeks themselves weren't sticklers for consistency in their lore. Hercules is the son of Zeus and Hera, but is abducted from Olympus and transformed into a mortal by Hades to ensure that, according to prophecy, he cannot later thwart the ruler of the underworld's planned takeover of heaven. Forced to grow up with mortal foster parents, Hercules can only return amongst the gods if he can prove himself a true hero through great acts of heroism and self-sacrifice to the Greek people. This is a very light-hearted comedy, lacking the tragedy and melodrama of earlier Disney flicks. James Woods' fast-talking Hades is the best character in the film, almost making you root for him instead. Hercules is a goody boy-scout, and Megara's seductress routine is a little overdone, but they still grow on you in the end. The excellent songs were composed by Alan Menken of Little Mermaid/Beauty and the Beast fame, some of which are performed by a black Gospel choir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, wrong aspect ratio, 6 Oct 2014
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Cannot fault film, story or Disneys magic at all, however dvd seems to be in 4:3 ratio, then when you play film is in 16:9(widescreen/flat) but puts letterbox bars at top and bottom. This then puts film in black border as previous review suggests. Fixed by zooming on tv, but not convenient. Could be isolated to some bluray players/dvd players but still annoying. Great film for a fiver, but wish I didn't have to tweak image settings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hercules [Blu-ray] [1997] [US Import]
Hercules [Blu-ray] [1997] [US Import] by Danny DeVito (Blu-ray - 2014)
£20.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews