Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Stand of the Legion
One of the best military science fiction books I have ever read and I've read dozens,Rod Carstens has started what looks to be an epic,interesting characters,great plot,epic combat in space and on the ground and a totally despicable enemy,the only down side is awaiting the next chapter.
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average?
I enjoyed this book, not a new plot line, but imaginatively outlined. I look forward to its sequel.
However I do hope that the next instalment is proof read. A few sentences here were all but unintelligible. Proof reading should not be an option even in a self published book.
See me after class. 7/10
Published 8 months ago by Westlake the Photographer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Stand of the Legion, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
One of the best military science fiction books I have ever read and I've read dozens,Rod Carstens has started what looks to be an epic,interesting characters,great plot,epic combat in space and on the ground and a totally despicable enemy,the only down side is awaiting the next chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi and military combined, the best genres possible., 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
SciFi and military combined, the best genres possible.
Nothing new about the content of the story but well written with believable characters.

I read this in two days and found it quite enjoyable and very absorbing, once you get over the spelling mistakes and grammatical howlers eg; lots of "they're" instead "their". Putting someone "in status" ( why do I need to know their social standing?) when it should be "in stasis" as in suspended animation.
Apart from that I'm actually looking forward to the second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average?, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, not a new plot line, but imaginatively outlined. I look forward to its sequel.
However I do hope that the next instalment is proof read. A few sentences here were all but unintelligible. Proof reading should not be an option even in a self published book.
See me after class. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste yor time life is too short, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Terrible, it reads like a eight year old's homework done on a word processor where copy and past is the new feature. Repetitive badly constructed sentences that do not flow. More a set of statements than a story to be honest I cannot see how this got published it reads as if the longest previous piece of written work by this author was a 100 word email to the boss. The characters were flat and uninteresting and the plot so obvious that when combined the poor writing skills it would have been better just to replace the first five chapters with the story plan. Did I mention it was rubbish?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stonking stuff, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great all action military SF. Shame there was no proof reading. Extra words, missing words, misspelt words and misplaced words, some sentances don't even make sense but still a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story - dodgy proof reading, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm liking the story and the attention to detail.
HOWEVER, yet another kindle book that could do with some serious proof reading. The missing words and 'quirky' punctuation mean that some sentences have to be re-read several several times before they make sense. This is unfortunate as the actual story telling is very good, it's not Tom Clancy - but it is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the story, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the story. Full of action with a few twists here and there. Quite believable plot though some of the dialogue between the main characters was a bit laboured at times. The only reason I marked it down was the number of typos throughout. Did no one proof read this first?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very good I throughly Enjoyed tgis book and ive read a lot of sclfi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great Story I really enjoyed it thank you.

Combat was fast paced and well detailed and had me wanting the next fireteam chapter.

Should be a great series, waiting for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A ripper, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Stand of the Legion: Rift (Blood War Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Start of a great story, a well written page turner where you can enjoy what happens to the character's and really root for them in their trials ahead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews