Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
Spenser Warwick is the author of the rather turgid Wardington-Smythe adventure novels and is drawn into an adventure of his own. He receives some obscure clues in cheap envelopes which are scented with a rare perfume. A youth named Norris is persuaded to help him as he is drawn into attempting to foil a plot which will damage the Commonwealth.

This is a change...
Published 14 months ago by Ignite

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I just found it boring & a little silly (as opposed to humorous)
Sorry, I just found it boring & a little silly (as opposed to humorous)
Published 10 months ago by A. P. Bristow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 6 May 2014
By 
Ignite (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spenser Goes North (Kindle Edition)
Spenser Warwick is the author of the rather turgid Wardington-Smythe adventure novels and is drawn into an adventure of his own. He receives some obscure clues in cheap envelopes which are scented with a rare perfume. A youth named Norris is persuaded to help him as he is drawn into attempting to foil a plot which will damage the Commonwealth.

This is a change from Darren Humphries' recent fare of Agent Ward’s U.N.D.E.A.D. adventures and is set in Victorian times. I loved some of these characters, especially young Norris and The Lady with her wonderfully upfront attitude. I hope we see more in this vein. It's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More delightful Humphries humour, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spenser Goes North (Kindle Edition)
Delightful characters sprinkled throughout with laugh out loud humour. In a departure from his hugely successful UNDEAD books, Humphries introduces us to his suave yet slightly bumbling main character Spenser. I look forward to further adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Lights, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spenser Goes North (Kindle Edition)
Darren Humphries has been building a great series with his Man From UNDEAD novels, and now he slows down the pace a little to bring us Spenser Goes North, in which popular novelist Spenser Warwick gets embroiled in a complex plot that strikes to the very heart of an alternative Victorian Britain. Spenser Goes North shirks the high gag rate of the Agent Ward books for a slower burn, but fans can rest easy - the set-up and world-building dissolves into frantic action as the story reaches its climax.

Hopefully Spenser Warwick will be riding again very soon, as the closing chapter does hint at the setup of a potential series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new direction, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spenser Goes North (Kindle Edition)
Having read all the Undead series this new direction and new characters doesn't disappoint. It is 'easy reading' and none the worse for that - best described as a 'ripping yarn' with strong likeable characters. I hope there is a sequel on the way - if there is I will definitely be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable, 16 May 2014
By 
Lynda Wilcox (Northamptonshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spenser Goes North (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this old fashioned romp with it's homage to the bygone era of Boy's Own adventures.

The book is full of likeable characters - even the dastardly ones are well-conceived - and tongue in cheek humour. I laughed out loud in places at the scrapes the urbane yet bumbling Spenser gets being dragged into.

My only caveat is the mix of alternate history with (towards the end) a few modern references which, for a moment, pulled me up short.

But that's a minor quibble. Bravo Mr Humphries! I sincerely hope there will be more of Spenser Warwick's adventures to entertain me again in the very near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK but......, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spenser Goes North (Kindle Edition)
A reasonable steam punk thriller, but it seems a bit too arch for my liking and the 'hidden jokes' were too obvious for me....not in the same league as his UNDEAD series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I just found it boring & a little silly (as opposed to humorous), 12 Aug. 2014
By 
A. P. Bristow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spenser Goes North (Kindle Edition)
Sorry, I just found it boring & a little silly (as opposed to humorous)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spenser Goes North
Spenser Goes North by Darren Humphries
£3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews