Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait.
"Sorry I’m Late” is the sophomore album by British bubble-gum pop sensation Cher Lloyd, who made a big splash in 2011 with her debut record “Stick + Stones.” Now, she is back with a 11-track CD that has the Swedish Shellback serving as executive producer. It also shows why it wasn’t a fluke that the former X-Factor UK phenomenon has...
Published 7 months ago by D. C. Stolk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay. I bought it for my daughter. ...
its okay. I bought it for my daughter. personally preferred her debut though there are some reasonable tracks. a bit cheesy in places but that's okay if you're in the mood for cheesy pop.
Published 2 months ago by RANDAMNATION


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait., 29 May 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
"Sorry I’m Late” is the sophomore album by British bubble-gum pop sensation Cher Lloyd, who made a big splash in 2011 with her debut record “Stick + Stones.” Now, she is back with a 11-track CD that has the Swedish Shellback serving as executive producer. It also shows why it wasn’t a fluke that the former X-Factor UK phenomenon has morphed into a multi-platinum British singer-songwriter, as Cher wrote or co-wrote 7 of the tracks on this album that’s filled with radio-friendly electro-pop melodies.

“Just Be Mine” is the album opener, its groovy jams turning this track into an appealing bubblegum ode about an on and off relationship. Next song, the catchy pop-song “Bind Your Love” with its outstanding “When you call me, I will always find you” chorus, is one of my favorites on this album. This is followed by “I Wish,” a track that features guest vocals from American rapper T.I. These days, you have a lot of overused guest raps that can be a detriment to a great pop song, but on this kiss-off anthem, the pop and rap blend well together. The beautiful power-ballad “Sirens,” another favorite, shows a very different side of her, and it’s no wonder this was released as a single.

The bouncy and bubble-pop fun of “Dirty Love” gets suggestive as she sings about: “I need a wild boy, Something unpredictable, Go ahead and be a caveman.” The melancholy power-pop ballad “Human” is an outstanding showcase for Cher Lloyd’s vocals, revealing what she is capable off vocally. Another standout is “Sweet Despair,” a heartbreaking ballad-meets-EDM that again showcases her growth as an artist. Next, she shows that she hasn’t completely left the brat-pop behind, as we find out on “Killin’ It.” She raps and sings her way through another track with explicit lyrics, but a dance-floor ready stomper, rampant with infectious hooks and a killer chorus.

She again shows a very different side of her with the stripped-down ballad “Goodnight,” her very delicate vocals turning this into a track that would make for a great lullaby. The snappy track “M.F.P.O.T.Y.” is another return to brat-pop, as the explicit lyrics on “M.F. Party Of The Year” bear witness. A powerful teenage-girls anthem, it has snarky lines like “Keep it all in your pants, boy” to keep the brats away for when the girls just wanna have some fun on the dance floor. The album closer “Alone With Me” is another glitchy, Euro-pop/pop-rock track.

Cher might offer us an apology for being late in the form of this aptly-titled record, since the release of this album was pushed back almost a year, but it was certainly worth the wait. “Sorry I’m Late” turns out to be (so far) one of the better pop albums of this year. Because of the ballads, it might have less off the trade-marked Cher Lloyd-attitude of her debut album, but it does have enough bangers so it shouldn’t be alienating the fans of the previous CD. All in all, “Sorry I’m Late” shows her potential as a pop star who’s here for the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars slow Burner, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
This is a grower of a album. Not as good as Sticks and Stones but still a very good album. Sirens is a brilliant single and should of performed a lot better. If the album lacks anything it's a killer tune that makes the album stand out. There is a slight progress in sound from her 1st album but nothing to drastic . A very enjoyable album which will grow on you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You might like it, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This album shows how grown up Cher Lloyd the tracks on this album have some very grown up subject matters. I love the direction that Cher Lloyd is taking, being married has really helped her writing. Check the following tracks out:

Sirens
Human
Sweet despair
Goodnight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT CD, 28 Sep 2014
By 
D. Hutchinson (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
I first saw Cher Lloyd as she auditioned on X Factor, though not an avid viewer of the programme I found her a very excellent singer/artist I LOVE all these songs on this CD and listen to it most days. I find it superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its okay. I bought it for my daughter. ..., 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
its okay. I bought it for my daughter. personally preferred her debut though there are some reasonable tracks. a bit cheesy in places but that's okay if you're in the mood for cheesy pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A mature Cher!, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
A fantastic album throughout with a much more grown up mature feel.....definately recommend it to all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE LOVE LOVE SORRY IM LATE GO BUY IT NOW, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS ALBUM!

Loved cher since day one when she was on xfactor, she's grown as a person and her music has matured so much, love sticks+stones but I think sorry I'm late has beaten it by far! Amazing love it!!! Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great mix of pop hits, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (MP3 Download)
Such an underrated album. Cher has matured a lot in recent years, and it is evident in the voice and lyrics displayed in this album. A great mix of pop hits, R&B and emotional ballads. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, definitely worth the purchase!, 7 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
Amazing Album! Loved Cher Lloyd since seeing her on X Factor. This album is even better than the first! Constantly singing the songs and its a great mix of classic Cher and brilliant ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... I first saw her audition on x factor I loved it & felt she would make a name for ..., 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry I'm Late (Audio CD)
Cher LLoyd well when I first saw her audition on x factor I loved it & felt she would make a name for herself I love her music & songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sorry I'm Late [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews