Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swinging Tarzan for the new Millennium.
I must admit, that having caught the trailer for this movie on Youtube last year, I wasn't at all sure about the look of this new CGI Tarzan. A bit too 'surfer-dude' for my liking, but having now watched the full movie I can honestly say "Excellent Dude!" I've been saying for ages that with modern CGI they could make a really terrific Tarzan movie, and here we...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Eric Townend

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LAND OF THE LOST
The film starts out with a meteor destroying the dinosaurs and in 20 minutes takes us to Tarzan with the apes. Jane enters the picture shorty thereafter. It seems this meteor has some sort of power or energy. It also has it own ecosystem unique to the rest of the planet. Jane is with the bad guys who want to take over meteor land. They want to kill Tarzan, because he is a...
Published 8 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swinging Tarzan for the new Millennium., 28 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I must admit, that having caught the trailer for this movie on Youtube last year, I wasn't at all sure about the look of this new CGI Tarzan. A bit too 'surfer-dude' for my liking, but having now watched the full movie I can honestly say "Excellent Dude!" I've been saying for ages that with modern CGI they could make a really terrific Tarzan movie, and here we have it. I didn't imagine that they would animate all the human characters too, but yes it really worked for me. As for the humans, imagine if Gerry Anderson had progressed from his Thunderbird/Captain Scarlet puppets and was now making CGI animated movies. The motion-capture is superb and within minutes you are totally immersed into this fantastical adventure. The jungle and landscapes are to die for, and do not suffer from any comparison with the 'Avatar' movie. I do hope they continue to make more adventures of this new animated Tarzan. I'm hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 20 May 2014
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This a review of the film only..After hearing all the negative stuff about this i was pleasantly surprised.. my daughter of 9 really wanted to see this , the animation is my view was overall above average considering everything these days is compared to Pixar/ Disney and Dreamworks, the jungle, creatures and water effects were fantastic, specially the Chameleon and Crocodile..i guess where it lets the animation slip is in the human characters although i think Tarzan himself looked fine and the later adult Jane..i disagree with other reviewer, i thought she was not created as pretty Barbie doll..no hour glass figure there and quite Tomboyish..yes of course Tarzan had to rescue her everytime, thats what tarzan does. The other human characters kinda made me think of The Sims tho, bit odd looking and vacant..voice work was adequate and actually like that they did not use big famous voices which i always feel is like a ' Spot the Actor' game.
Storyline is a bit hokey but different and i loved the use of music..especially Coldplay's Paradise which was sadly missing in Life of Pi after hearing it in that trailer but it worked really well here..i enjoyed the romance between Tarzan and Jane as that is also a big part of what Tarzan is for me, a romance..although telling him she loves him after a few hours lost together is a bit much lol.
One last thumbs up for the Gorilla animation and not having cartoon like apes or silly sidekick jokey apes, the roars and fights can be quite brutal sounding..another point for having that more serious feel to the film and not loaded with burp and fart jokes...this gives the film more touching scenes between mother ape and Tarzan.
So don't go expecting to be blown away but hopefully and hour and half pleasing entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not sure why the bad reviews for this film, I loved it!!, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
After reading the negative reviews about this film on Amazon I nearly didn't purchase this film, but so glad I did, People seem to comparing this version to the Disney version.
Firstly it isn't a disney film so don't expect it to be the same.
I enjoy the story of Tarzan and how he was brought up living amongst the Apes until he meets his Jane, great version of the film, great animation, and great narration at the beginning of the film too explaining the story as it starts. I will definitely watch this again and would definitely recommend to children and adults, as long as your not expecting the characters from Disney and Phil Collins to start singing halfway through, just enjoy it for what it is, you won't be disappointed :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go and BUY it and watch in 3D, 1 Sept. 2014
Bought for my grandsons but loved it myself some normal bits like me Tarzan you Jane stuff bt quite funny and with a serious message attached
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why there are any bad reviews. It's not Disney - but never the ..., 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Tarzan (Blu-ray)
I found nothing wrong with this film. I don't know why there are any bad reviews. It's not Disney - but never the less... it's a great Tarzan film. Animation of the Jungle and Water , caves etc... were fantastic. I would definitively recommend this movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story line, 27 Aug. 2014
This film is very entertaining, good story line, good concept bringing it into the modern era, graphics are very good, but there's always a but, it's not " Tarzan ".
Why has he turned American ???
The closest to the books is "Greystoke the Legend of Tarzan", but why oh why can't the books be brought to the big screen.
Enjoy the film for what it is but it isn't " Tarzan ".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good effort from germany that was filmed in 3d., 21 Nov. 2014
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a German animated film and a pretty good one It's about Tarzan of course and they do a good job with the story. The animation is of course not as great as a Hollywood film but it's not bad at all. The 3d blu ray looks great and this was filmed in 3d so it's a very good 3d experience. if you collect 3d films then this one is worth owning for sure. And if you like Tarzan then you will like this story as well. This is much more lush than anything Germany has ever put out and that's a good thing. The blu ray has a 2d version as well which cannot compare to the 3d one in depth and power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love and a sci-fi/green element, 1 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Tarzan (DVD)
I went to see this with my sister and her daughter with the expectation it would be "OK" , as this was how it was reviewed by 'experts' . Well it was quite a gripping thrill ride from the start with action, excitement, danger, love and a sci-fi/green element . Not suitable for very young children as it can upset them with the death of cute animals , but this only adds to the real dangers brought to life in this re-imagining of the original Greystoke story line. Thoroughly enjoyable with a harder European edge to the normal Disney fare :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LAND OF THE LOST, 13 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The film starts out with a meteor destroying the dinosaurs and in 20 minutes takes us to Tarzan with the apes. Jane enters the picture shorty thereafter. It seems this meteor has some sort of power or energy. It also has it own ecosystem unique to the rest of the planet. Jane is with the bad guys who want to take over meteor land. They want to kill Tarzan, because he is a Greystoke. Tarzan saves Jane's life ad infinitum until she falls in love and makes this into a a young girl chick flick with our Barbie doll unable to fend for herself, relying on the big muscled man for everything.

I liked the idea of combining Tarzan with a new animated world. The problem is that they didn't do enough mindless new world, new life animation. I hate to say this, but they spent too much time developing the story, making sure to include every Tarzan nuance. Kellan Lutz as the voice of Tarzan didn't make it and where was his hand when he said, "You Jane?"

There was too much narration in the first 20 minutes of the film that wasn't needed. The voice was annoying too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't BUY THIS!!!!!!, 1 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a lot of bull!!! Greystoke's American?????!!!!!
Give me a break!!!!!
Disney Jackanory!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarzan [DVD] [2014]
Tarzan [DVD] [2014] by Reinhard Klooss (DVD - 2014)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews