Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anacondas -non blu ray [snake eyes cover]
Anaconda is a 1997 adventure horror and sees a film crew head up the Amazon to find a lost tribe. Instead they find a shipwrecked Paul Serone [Jon Voight]. This sinister seasoned adventurer soon has everyone at each others throats following an onboard accident after which he suggests a short cut to return to base. The mission soon changes to capturing a giant anaconda...
Published 11 days ago by Throda tzen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This river can kill you in a thousand ways..
A National Geographic crew head down the Amazon in a boat to make a documentary on a long-lost tribe of natives.

On the way, they rescue a hunter from his sinking boat and take him on board. After the ship's captain is attacked by a poisonous insect and goes comatose, the hunter commandeers the boat.

taking the crew hostage, he makes them go along on...
Published 14 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This river can kill you in a thousand ways.., 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Anaconda [DVD] (DVD)
A National Geographic crew head down the Amazon in a boat to make a documentary on a long-lost tribe of natives.

On the way, they rescue a hunter from his sinking boat and take him on board. After the ship's captain is attacked by a poisonous insect and goes comatose, the hunter commandeers the boat.

taking the crew hostage, he makes them go along on his insane quest to capture a giant anaconda.....

First things first, the film is awful, its all over the shop and there has to be some of the most over the top acting I've ever seen in a movie. Saying that, I had a blast from beginning to end.

Any film that can dub Trejos voice and kill him off in literally the first two minutes, has to be seen. The rest of the film is owned by Voight and a really dodgy looking reptile. Considering this is four years after Jurassic Park, and they spent a hundred grand every second that beast was on screen, its pretty laughable.

The rest of the cast are there for filler. Lopez is good, Ice Cube is just a happier Doughboy, Wilson getting into Hollywood big time, and Jonathan Hyde as the token British snob, which is xenophobia if I've ever seen it.

But there is so much fun to be had, guessing who will die first, the amount of times Voights accent changes thought the film, and obviously how much better Lopezs' nose looks today.

But it is a bad film, and although I had lots of fun watching it, I cannot justify giving it a high rating.

But its the best movie ever made where Eric Stoltz is asleep for 80% of the running time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray product review, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anaconda [Blu-ray] [1997] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
This review is about the PRODUCT and not the actual film.

The casing is a slim-line Blu-Ray case.
The sleeve states that the film is Region A, but I have tested the disc on my player and it runs perfectly fine on a Region B machine.

Picture quality is an improvement over the DVD but still could be better. With the scenery on offer (jungles, rivers, vibrant colours) the video quality delivers well in this transfer.
Some night-time shots look a bit grainy, but overall it is a satisfactory release on Blu-Ray.

There are absolutely no extras whatsoever. When you put the disc into the machine, it rolls past the Mill Creek logo and straight into the film without even offering a menu.
The film is split into a very disappointing 4 chapter breaks, which is quite shocking if you want to navigate the disc!

Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0
Video: MPEG4-AVC
Chapters: 4
Rating: PG-13
Running time: 89mins 17secs
Ratio: 2.40:1 Anamorphic widescreen
Region: A,B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anacondas -non blu ray [snake eyes cover], 18 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Anaconda [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Anaconda is a 1997 adventure horror and sees a film crew head up the Amazon to find a lost tribe. Instead they find a shipwrecked Paul Serone [Jon Voight]. This sinister seasoned adventurer soon has everyone at each others throats following an onboard accident after which he suggests a short cut to return to base. The mission soon changes to capturing a giant anaconda which seems to be ever present.
Plenty of twists and turns involving changes of loyalty, keep this going at a lively pace. Despite bring nearly 20 years old, the special effects are still very good [with a few that now look dated]. One by one the group are whittled down, but who will survive –if any. The real buzz with this film are the characters, some great overacting in the arms waving and screaming stakes, but Jon Voight excels as the ’creepy guy’, Eric Stoltz ]as Professor Steven Cale] the know it all annoying Professor, Jonathan Hyde [as Warren Westridge] is a stereotypical English fop –excellent, while Kari Wuhrer appears at her glamorous best [–and unusually keeps her clothes on] whilst the others are good but those four stand out.
The single disc comes with standard features [languages. audio select [but only English 5.1 or Dolby surround], subtitles [7 languages], scene selection, play and resume [which just puts the film into play]. This is exactly the same as the copy in the Anacondas 1-4 box set.
If you like Indiana Jones type movies mixed with horror, the this is a must see. It’s not really a blood and gore film, neither is it a slasher or edge of your seat, but it does have its moments, and if you hate snakes, it’ll be even scarier. This is a definite **** rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One word...., 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anaconda [DVD] (DVD)
CLASSIC. I remember seeing this when I was quite young and it's remained one of my favourites. The throat scene sticks out as a cringy but great moment of modern movie. Sad to say all the sequels are not much cop but if you're a fan of big snakes eating humans.....crack on :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars READ, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BLU-RAY ANACONDA (Blu-ray)
Very Good Product, Didn't Know You Could Get This Film On Blu ray But I'm Happy That I Bought This Item. 'Perfect' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snake, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anaconda [DVD] (DVD)
If you like snakes then you will like this film.
The story is about a group of people that goes to find a lost tribe on the travels
they meet a madman (played by jon voight) he is obsessed to capture a anaconda.
The acting is really good and well directed.
Top cast in this film with lopez ice cube voight stoltz and Wilson in it.
If you haven't seen this yet it worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Annaconda, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anaconda [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
brilliant film excellvery times and well worth the money end delivery................................................................................................................................................................................................................I would recomend this film to anyone that likes snakes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scarey b movie type thrills, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know its a load of old rubbish nevertheless I thought it was great Snarling villian semi clad damsels in distree and pompous twit who gets his comeuppance whats not to like. Blueay transfer not wonderful but still improvement on dvd sound great . Once again well done Amazon. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Laughably Lame Film, 1 May 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Anaconda [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I should have known better than to make myself comfy and get ready for a little Channel 5 Film known as "Anaconda". Usually they're 9 o'clock slots give way to some entertaining films, but this was entertaining for all the wrong reasons. It's meant to be some sort of a thriller!

Housed around poor directing that gives little lead or flow into the story line, we know as much as one comment made at the start of the film;

"We're producing a documentary of the tribes in the Amazon Rainforest", say's 'Ice Cube'. Little thought is given to the script either, which dull and doesn't keep you hooked. I found it quite laughable that our usual stereotypical English actor is given the 'David Attenbrough' role, and keeps repeating English-originated dialect such as "What the bloo*y hell is going on?" and "What the devil do you think you're doing??".

But, just like any low budget movie, the highlight is in the effects department. Here, we see a lame Anaconda that isn't textured correctly, thus the real natural lighting doesn't match to that of it's own skin. It's not even blended well into the film, as scenes in which the silly thing wraps itself around helpless screaming bodies results in jagged edges were the human meets the CGI.

I need not mention how predictable most themes are running throughout the film; who looks a bit suspicious, who's the scaredy cat, who's actually going to survive this Anaconda with its odd growl at times (I haven't figured that one out yet... lack of research probably?...)

1 star would have been generous, but I felt for the fact it had me in stitches at times when Owen Wilson tried to act concerned, I gave it an extra star. This is no buy, but if it's a late show on TV, it has to be seen to be believed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars dvd used, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anaconda [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I.'ve only given one star as the DVD didn't work....however a refund was given.....I have ordered from here before with no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anaconda [Blu-ray] [1997] [US Import]
Anaconda [Blu-ray] [1997] [US Import] by Ice Cube (Blu-ray - 2014)
£3.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews