Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable! Speed Demons!
I was lucky enough to see a preview screening of this film about The Dunlop Dynasty of road racers and oh my god I was blown away! This is honestly one of the most emotional and exhilarating sports documentaries I have ever seen. These Road Racers take their lives in their hands every time they race...and they race a lot every year. Some of the footage is incredible...
Published 6 months ago by BumbleyBear

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not a balanced representation of the sport.
This is not exactly what I was expecting. It's a fairly sombre film that tends to focus mainly on the negative side of the sport. Although there's no getting away from the fact that people can and are seriously injured and killed competing in this sport, there is a reason why they are drawn to it- adrenaline. Road didn't manage to instill any sense of adrenaline or...
Published 1 month ago by Mr W.


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable! Speed Demons!, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Road [DVD] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to see a preview screening of this film about The Dunlop Dynasty of road racers and oh my god I was blown away! This is honestly one of the most emotional and exhilarating sports documentaries I have ever seen. These Road Racers take their lives in their hands every time they race...and they race a lot every year. Some of the footage is incredible (200mph racing on narrow country roads). The talking heads are brilliant too, you get a real insight into the behind the scenes set up of road racing champions like Joey and Robert Dunlop and the nice thing is the film also focusses a lot on the new breed of Dunlops coming though the ranks (Michael and William). Both of whom are taking the Road Racing circuit by storm at the moment. Michael has just won 4 of the 5 races he entered in this year's Isle of Man TT...

Seriously, if you enjoyed TT3D: Closer to the Edge you will love this film. If you like motorbikes, if you like motor sport, if you like speed and in all honesty if you just appreciate top level sport - I cannot recommend this documentary enough! It is truly a masterpiece of film making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Senna!, 30 May 2014
This review is from: Road [DVD] (DVD)
This is a FANTASTIC film! Documenting two generations of the Dunlops, the film is packed with intense racing scenes, fast bikes and raw emotion which grips you throughout. I would highly recommend this, even if you don't have a lot of knowledge about motor racing. Brilliantly shot and Liam Neeson as a narrator is inspired. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW ! WHAT A FILM !, 16 Jun 2014
This review is from: Road [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I can't speak highly enough of this film. It really has got everything, thrills and spills, drama, and very very emotional. I dragged my wife along to see it and she loved it as well ! Isle of Man here we come !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, wow! Whether a biking fan or not..., 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: Road [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film, was lucky to get to see early....my in-laws are from the Isle of Man where TT races are, and I do ride a bike myself, but none of that is relevant - I saw it with 3 friends and also my son, who all loved it. It's an amazing story of the 2 lots of brothers, and the action really keeps you hooked - don't think my eyes left the screen once! Up there with Closer the edge and Rush which I also enjoyed recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most emotional film I've ever seen., 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: Road [DVD] (DVD)
Towards the end, I was actually shaking with emotion. I needed to cry uncontrollably, and was fighting to hold onto some degree of composure. Even if you're not into road racing, it's utterly enthralling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a ride..., 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Road [DVD] (DVD)
What a brilliant film. Not one to write reviews but, this film deserved it! Adrenalin filled throughout, this is a petrolheads dream film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAFTA Worthy, 11 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Road [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Caught this earlier in the month and absolutely loved it. Very rare a documentary has had me hooked from beginning to end, but this is an example pf fact being more extraordinary than fiction. A very important film which I hope gets recognised at the BAFTAs this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White knuckle ride all the way!, 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: Road [DVD] (DVD)
Draws you in from the start and keeps you there till the end. Gripping stuff. Highly recommend it! When you think of them racing on normal closed roads....unbelievable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and moving documentary / film, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I was lucky enough to see this at the cinema and was actually surprised at the number of other people there (in England). I have never sat with a more quiet crowd of people in a cinema in my life, the atmosphere was one of utter respect and at the end as we all left I think most of us had at least a lump in the throat and also maybe a tear in the eye. Joey Dunlop was my childhood hero, when Robert lost his life I turned my back on road-racing. This film made me look at the events of that weekend in a completely different light. Whether you are into motorcycle road racing or not, I defy you not to be moved by this film. Personally I think this is much better TT3D, this is more about the people than the speed.

I watched the blue-ray recently and was equally moved, I can't comment on the quality only to say that I didn't notice any defects. I haven't been through the bonus features yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing family, not so amazing film., 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Road [DVD] (DVD)
This film is great but it needed to be more balanced, the film unfortunately deals in what I like to call tragedy-porn, it concentrates on the negative side of the Dunlop dynasty and is far too intrusive into the younger generations' grief, the funeral scenes of the family are incredibly uncomfortable to watch.
A camera team followed William and Michael for a year and should have shown more of their triumphs than an over-dramatised lead-up to their fathers' death.

The archive footage of Joey and Robert was a joy to see but again, very unbalanced and should have shown more about the positive side of their careers and just how amazing a racer Joey was, instead it's footage of every accident they had and the only triumphs are in adversity after injuries.

This was a very emotional watch and apart from lack of balance it is a good insight into the Dunlop dynasty and the world of road racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road [DVD]
Road [DVD] by Liam Neeson (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews