Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading
An interesting and insightful story written with humour and hope in the face of dark thoughts and times. You can't help but warm to Ben as he blunders through life with passion searching for what we all strive for, happiness. His musings explore the very nature of the human condition and in his case crippling depression. You can't help but admire his tenacity and crazy...
Published 11 months ago by Laura

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
Regretted buying this book not far into it but I can't stop reading a book part way through in case it gets better, in this case not though! It is just the drink and drug fuelled escapades of a private school spoiled brat who has no regard for others. Drink /drug driving on numerous times is nothing to be proud of. If less drugs and alcohol had been taken maybe his...
Published 10 months ago by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 6 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Paperback)
An interesting and insightful story written with humour and hope in the face of dark thoughts and times. You can't help but warm to Ben as he blunders through life with passion searching for what we all strive for, happiness. His musings explore the very nature of the human condition and in his case crippling depression. You can't help but admire his tenacity and crazy escapades. I found the end particularly moving and will be looking out for a sequel in around three decades time to see where Lady Luck and Ben finally end up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully honest, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
A funny but also heartbreaking account of one mans struggle to find happiness.
Painfully sad and laugh out loud funny. An insight into the dark world of depression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
Regretted buying this book not far into it but I can't stop reading a book part way through in case it gets better, in this case not though! It is just the drink and drug fuelled escapades of a private school spoiled brat who has no regard for others. Drink /drug driving on numerous times is nothing to be proud of. If less drugs and alcohol had been taken maybe his mental health would be better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
This is an honest, and at times emotionally charged, tale of one man's battle with depression. As a fellow sufferer I 'get' where he's coming from. The places he's visited and the scrapes he has found himself in make for a fascinating and often hilarious read! I highly recommend Lady Luck and Me and look forward to the next book Ben writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like the book, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
I like the book, on the whole. I can't help but feel some of the stories had been touched with the hyperbole stick. It was very honest, very raw and personal, and really quite funny at times. I don't think Ben's problems were of a spiritual nature though. I think they were closer to home. His issues with his stepfather/father for example, obviously affected his life. I think he had abandonment issues that psychologically affected him, and could have explained a lot of his chaotic and frankly reckless behaviour as an adult. Perhaps he just needs to sit down with his fractured family and thrash out some of the stuff that still rankles. Or maybe some wounds are too deep. he is a promising writer though, and certainly knows how to engage a reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, with an incredibly honest insight into mental ..., 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Paperback)
Beautifully written, with an incredibly honest insight into mental health, laughed out loud on many occasions and was gripped at the highs and lows throughout. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is truly a terrible book. For the stories to be funny you ..., 7 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
This is truly a terrible book.
For the stories to be funny you would have had to have been there and have been high on drugs to even find the smallest humour in the infantile escapades. To be fair there is some humour to be found: the tenuous references to Lady Luck are laughable.
Dobson comes over as arrogant and ignorant in equal measure and there is an unkindness in his writing that is hard to stomach.
To destroy a good book is to kill reason itself.
I threw this book in the rubbbish bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny book - thoroughly recommended., 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
I'm not quite sure what I was expecting from this book but I was very pleasantly surprised. I don't normally read autobiographies but stumbled across this in an email from Amazon and started to read it only to be chuckling away in no time. For an ordinary bloke, Ben has had some great and often very funny adventures and I was sorry to reach the end of his story to date. It wasn't all laughs and there were some serious and downright dangerous times in his life but all very interesting and enjoyable to read. I hope this book does well for him and that Lady Luck shines very favorably on his future. A great read and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touchingly honest with eye watering humour, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
A touching autobiography detailing the life of a 'normal' guy. This is a thoroughly well written account of Bens ups and downs through life.

The book is side splittingly funny while managing to convey a heart breakingly beautiful story of one mans search for happiness.

To truly bear your soul in print must take amazing courage, hopefully that honesty will be rewarded with a successful writing career.

Highly recommended first book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary story of an ordinary man..., 28 May 2014
This review is from: Lady Luck and Me (Kindle Edition)
From the acknowledgements to the heart wrenching last page an hysterical roller coaster. Unexpectedly moving and disturbing whilst making you laugh sometimes out loud (embarrassing on the train!) A truly cracking read. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Luck and Me
Lady Luck and Me by Ben Dobson
£3.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews