Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Eye Opening Book That will Not Disappoint
This book is written to the usual high standard that you would expect from Ross Hoddinott. He explains everything in plain English that makes it very easy to understand. Each subject is covered in great detail and you feel that someone has been talking to you as a friend and you learn more easily. I have bought all his books and have not been disappointed with any of...
Published 15 months ago by Dr. Cole

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Photographic advice fine, technical editing poor
I bought this elsewhere as Amazon's price was a bit too high.
The wildlife photography content is great but this book has a fault common to several recent Ammonite Press publications: there are too many technical errors. Having contacted Ammonite Press authors in the past, I am firmly of the opinion that the problem lies with Ammonite's editors, since Hoddinot and...
Published 14 months ago by Bob Margolis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Eye Opening Book That will Not Disappoint, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is written to the usual high standard that you would expect from Ross Hoddinott. He explains everything in plain English that makes it very easy to understand. Each subject is covered in great detail and you feel that someone has been talking to you as a friend and you learn more easily. I have bought all his books and have not been disappointed with any of them. This one is written with Ben Hall and they fit very well together and complement each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just got the book ,,can't put it down ,great information , great photos ,great reading ,can recommend 100%
This is going to be one of those books which can be read over and over again
Glad I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really do like this book, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really informative book for budding wildlife photographers and encompasses alot of the diverse aspects of this type of photography. This is the first book I have seen that tries to put across a workshop in a book. In an age were you can spend some serious money to go on a course this is great value and a good read. It cover all the fundamental aspects and intermediate attributes budding wildlife photographers require. You should not though expect this book to cover how to use basic camera skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars photo workshop, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are many books on this subject but I rate this one highly. Ok some of the stuff is for the tyro but there are still gems of info
for the more advanced. Particularly liked the shooting detail accompanying each plate. For me a pick-up and browse through book
in quiet moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Photographic advice fine, technical editing poor, 11 July 2013
I bought this elsewhere as Amazon's price was a bit too high.
The wildlife photography content is great but this book has a fault common to several recent Ammonite Press publications: there are too many technical errors. Having contacted Ammonite Press authors in the past, I am firmly of the opinion that the problem lies with Ammonite's editors, since Hoddinot and Hall clearly know their stuff.
What is wrong? The stuff on aperture (p 30) is technical gobbledygook. Example: "if a small aperture is selected it takes longer for the light to enter the lens and expose the sensor". This is rubbish, the speed of light is constant, give or take microscopic variations. The editor has no clue what he/she is on about. Aperture varies the intensity of light, not its speed.
I think that by trying to avoid the statement that the light reaching the sensor is measured by intensity times open shutter time, they are creating nonsense.
Next (p14): "Human eyesight is roughly equivalent to 50mm...". This statement is rubbish as it stands. With a lot of qualification, it just might be useful.
And so it goes on.
The answer is to ignore all such stuff and concentrate on the wildlife photography.
At full price (16.99), the book would be a severe disappointment; at Amazon's price, just about tolerable; at the price I paid (6.99) a bit better.
I now have enough experience of Ammonite to know that I shouldn't rely on their books for technical stuff. They are consistently poor. Worse still, they refuse to acknowledge that there are any problems. They serve their authors ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 8 April 2013
By 
R. Portman (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very instructive text with great photos from two excellent photographers. The Book is a very handy size and represents very good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of practical ideas., 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is full of practical ideas to enhance my photography, it also offers technical information. I like how the photos have the meta data included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for budding Wildlife Photographers, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the best book on Wildlife Photography I've come across in 40 years and by two of the best young Wildlife photographers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive workshop on wildlife photography, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Richard S. Tadman (West Yorkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essentially, it does what it says on the tin. Lots of great photos by 2 recognised experts and guidance on how they captured the various images. Lots of great tips and advice for the novice and accomplished alike. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a present for my husband he think's it great he would recommend it and there are lot's of thing's on dragonflies that he liked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wildlife Photography Workshop
8.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews