Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No More Real Folk Or Asteroid Blues
Complete collections of Shinichiro Watanabe's masterpiece 'Cowboy Bebop' have always popped up for sale on Amazon intermitently over the years, but more recently all that's been available online has been a clutch of used copies costing an arm and a leg, so it's great news that this series is getting a new release.

Kastuhiro Otomo's anime film Akira is often...
Published 19 months ago by UpInAlbany

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas gift.
A Christmas gift. Can't say much about the series as I am not into anime.
Published 4 months ago by Lou R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No More Real Folk Or Asteroid Blues, 3 May 2013
Complete collections of Shinichiro Watanabe's masterpiece 'Cowboy Bebop' have always popped up for sale on Amazon intermitently over the years, but more recently all that's been available online has been a clutch of used copies costing an arm and a leg, so it's great news that this series is getting a new release.

Kastuhiro Otomo's anime film Akira is often cited as being one of the most influential works in its genre, but Cowboy Bebop is equally as seminal. The series takes aspects of the Wild West and sets it circa 2071. Underpinning the entire thing is a blues and jazz soundtrack of pure perfection. The opening theme 'Tank!' merits its own appreciation society while the scene played over Yoko Kanno's 'Green Bird' in episode 5 is beautifully hypnotic and enchanting. Those enamoured with the prominence of hiphop music and subculture in 'Samurai Champloo' will find this series every bit as appealing- no surprise when you discover Watanabe is responsible for both anime!

Story-wise, the series is similarly paced to 'Samurai Champloo' as well. It follows the crew of the spaceship Bebop as they meander through space and fail to live up to their bounty hunter profession. The characters' pasts are all explored as the series progresses, but beyond that is just the sheer quality of the ideas behind each story. Some are absolutely inspired! Antagonists, too, in the series such as Mad Pierrot are ingeniously developed.

To some, 'Cowboy Bebop' might seem a little ramshackle with too much kitchen sink, but really the whole thing is held together by its musical underpinnings and the strength of its individual stories. Plus, a handful of the episodes are named after Rolling Stones songs so I mean what could POSSIBLY be better?

It might not be as instantly accessible as 'Samurai Champloo' (a slow burner might be an accurate description) but it'll suck you in and live long in the memory way beyond its 2071 setting. There's a reason it garnered international critical acclaim, and those reasons combined put it head and shoulders above everything else in the anime canon.

EDIT: There's been a few space cowboys fretting over whether this will be both dubbed as well as subbed. The answer's yes, and a big thanks to Buzzkillington for finding out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to get into anime buy this!, 12 Dec 2013
By 
John S. W. Hawkes "Captain_Hawkes" (Southend-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cowboy Bebop is one of my all time favorite anime and it's the show that really made me interested in world of anime, the guys at Anime Ltd did a superb job with their release. the packaging is fantastic, the best packaged DVD I own. the video quality is superb and the menus are great, my only problem with this product is that both English dub and full English subtitles are on by default which i find strange.

This is a fantastic dvd and i would recommend it to anyone interested in anime or sci-fi, full marks from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, little gripes, 28 Jan 2014
By 
J. BOTCHERBY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love cowboy bebop, only problem i have is with the DVD audio, its inconsistant, normal volume on the title menu but quiet during playing. other than that great :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resonates with western audiences and culture better than any other anime, 15 Sep 2013
Because Cowboy Bebop was heavily influenced by western sci-fi greats and music, it does away with almost every anime cliche in the book. The end result is the perfect marriage of what makes anime great, and what makes western sci-fi great.

The good -

The story and script is perfect. Shocking moments, amazing and hilarious dialogue, great characters. EVERY corner of the storytelling puts other anime and TV shows to shame. Action in this is masterful - certain fight scenes are done so well that I found myself rewinding the episode just to watch it again.

The art style and direction is jaw-dropping. There are so many memorable scenes where you'll think "this could be a painting!". All the ships, locations and characters look original and just plain cool.

The music is probably my favorite part of the show. It's a mix of neo-noir jazz and 90's indie rock, but with a few other genres thrown in. Every music track is used expertly and fits the scene so damn well. You'll find yourself grinning at how well the music accompanies certain scenes.

The bad -

what?

Conclusion -

There is a reason this is considered the greatest anime that ever lived. It throws away everything you know and hate about anime, but keeps everything you love. It combines everything great about western and eastern TV into a sprawling sci fi epic. Dark action and themes have never been married so well to feelgood comedy and characters. Music, art and atmosphere has never been so perfectly achieved. I literally cant find enough words to describe this masterpiece. Just buy it!

oh, and the english dub is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool setting, cool story, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
LEGENDARY - What else can I say?? Cool setting, cool story, cool characters and one of the best soundtracks ever - If you have friends who want to get into anime or people who turn their nose up at anime then tell them to watch this before they start criticizing anime as 'cartoons' and only for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love cowboy bebop, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The anime is well known, and some may think it's over hyped? but once you've watched it you do realise it's a master piece, from amazing characters to the perfect and wonderful sound track, hell it actually sounds good dubbed and subbed!.

Some amazing episodes and perfect for someone who wants a mature and comedic anime with likeable and admirable characters on an epic space adventure down the back storys of our characters lifes.

IT arrived in perfect condition and i love the tape casset box it came in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait!, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Come very quickly in the post cannot wait to give this as a present to my other half.
Totally crazy about this show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is it the greatest anime?, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe. Deep characters that don't conform to clichés, relatable story themes, humour, action, sorrow... It pretty much has it all.

Each episode usually tells a short story about the bounty head whilst giving development to the main characters and sometimes revealing bits about their past in a realistic way (for example, when certain things naturally come up in conversation or characters from their past return). As most episodes are a story of their own, some will be more entertaining and relatable to some than others and with varying themes and atmospheres to each, you're bound to find some you love and some that you don't. However, there was never an episode I thought was boring or stupid and the high points in the anime were extremely high. Unlike most animes I have seen, I thought it was consistent and ended with a satisfying and believable conclusion which left me with a positive lasting impression.

The animation is also very fluid and impressive, especially for an anime created in 1998, it's better than a lot of today's animes. Voice acting is good, the English dub is very good for the main characters, some characters who were only in one episode were a bit expressionless though, however, the vast majority were very well portrayed.

I'd definitely recommend to any anime fan and even to those who don't like anime because it doesn't suffer from most of the problems common in animes (such as annoying, boring or generic characters, plot holes and fan service).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic!, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. A. M. McCulloch (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who has never seen cowboy bebop owes it to themselves to witness one of the greatest animes of all time. Its as near to perfect as you can get, everything about it flows together buetifuly, from the great animation to excellent cast and voice acting, it all just works. This anime also features a very good musical score and primarily make suse of jazz,funk,blues, metal and even a bit of drum and bass. Very ewmotional but also makes you laugh too with not a boring moment in a single episode.
Do the right thing, buy it and enjoy the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop - DVD Collection (DVD)
great series and the music brilliant, totally recommend it but it now do'nt delay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cowboy Bebop - DVD Collection
Cowboy Bebop - DVD Collection by Shinichirô Watanabe (DVD - 2014)
£23.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews