Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2014
I've looked forward to this collection of short stories since it was first announced. The stories are most certainly varied and in some cases interesting, but nothing particularly excited me, possibly because I'm a regular reader of the "Railway Detective" books. This could possibly be a disadvantage, perhaps a NEW reader to the series would get more enjoyment out of the collection, but to ME, there appeared nothing particularly new and the same old foibles which appear in the main series appear time and again here, which gets wearing after a while.
Some of the stories had very weak connections to anything railway related, which has been picked up before, especially in the "Stationmasters Farewell". Missed opportunity's to explore the individuals who make up these stores. In fairness it must be really difficult keeping up the momentum for this series and perhaps the steam is running out slightly.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
I have read all the Railway Detective "full" novels and so admit to being a Marston/Colbeck fan. This was an enjoyable summer read and excellent for picking up and putting down between tasks, given the short story format - there are 13 in all. Short stories they are however and so they lack the draw of the full Railway Detective novels and the engagement in a well developed plot. I guess they will only attract Colbeck fans and would not suffice as a means of someone tasting the Railway Detective novels..
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Some interesting ideas within this collection, some of which may have originally been intended for books in their own right.
Having read, and enjoyed all of the Railway Detective Series, however, I was left feeling a little disappointed.
Obviously short story writing does not allow opportunity for the same level of plot and character development and observed details as one complete book, but I found some of the stories did not hold my attention and were too predictable.
I found the Casebook to be a well written 'taster' aimed at the reader who may be new to the series with numerous 'catch-up' references.
I look forward to reading the author's next full railway novel.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Quite a good read in the form of small stories of the Railway Detective Inspector Colbeck.It's the type of book you could read at night after a hard days work when not too much hard thinking is required.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Continues with the believable adventures of D I Colbeck and D S Leeming in each enthralling tale. I started this book as soon as it was dowloaded onto my kindle and found it increasingly difficult to put down to get on with other tasks! Edward Marston's writing and powers of description are definitely honed to a very fine degree.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
I rarely review books but this one is for those who don't like too much gore, sex, complicated love lives and concentrating on the mystery in hand. A nice twist at the end. It's difficult to find a detective story without graphic torture, paedophillia, screwed up investigators nowadays. But this is good to read before sleep
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
inspector colbecks casebook. thirteen tales from the railway detective. good read. enjoyed as much as previous stories from the detective.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Once again a good easy read, but I felt Inspector Colbeck found the suspect too quickly. A little bit more deviousness required.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
Having very much enjoyed Mr Marston's Nicholas Bracewell series, and even more his novels about the Domesday Commissioners, I found the first of his Railway Detective stories rather dry when I read it on publication, and therefore decided to spend my money on other authors instead. However, the opportunity to buy this book of short stories on Kindle having come up several years later, I was tempted to try again, and have to admit to finding these short stories most enjoyable. They are fast moving, with unusual plots, and, while the motive did not always for me fit the nature of the crime, and I found Madeleine to be particularly weak (and therefore out of character) in 'Helping Hand', the collection was still well worth buying, and has persuaded me to give the full length novels another try.

It was also a joy to read such an impeccably produced book on Kindle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
These thirteen short stories provide light reading indeed. Each tale lasts for no more than 10 - 15 minutes, tops, and hardly taxes the brain cells overmuch; that said they're not bad, just not really good. The short story is a difficult genre, and to be fair, Edward Martston's full length writing is very good as a rule, it is simply that this foray has failed to stir any excitement.

A Useful Tip: it would benefit the reader to tackle the thirteenth story first. For some obscure reason the story that gives the fullest physical descriptions of the three main protagonists, Colbeck, Leeming and Tallis, has been placed at the end of the series. Whatever was the editor thinking of I wonder?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse