Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Side Of Steven
This is a much needed release that compiles a collection of six two track singles that have become very hard to find and much sought after. I'm glad Steven Wilson has chosen to re-release this music and given those who missed out on the originals a chance to hear one of his most obscure releases.

This collection of songs exhibits several sides of Steven Wilson...
Published 2 months ago by Charlie

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insomnia version.
Well produced but compared to his other albums very boring.Hard to listen the whole album all the way through without falling asleep.
Published 29 days ago by NIDGE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Side Of Steven, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Covers [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a much needed release that compiles a collection of six two track singles that have become very hard to find and much sought after. I'm glad Steven Wilson has chosen to re-release this music and given those who missed out on the originals a chance to hear one of his most obscure releases.

This collection of songs exhibits several sides of Steven Wilson that are often absent in the majority of his work. Although he has released three solo albums to date, it is only in this release that he performs entirely on his own (no guest musicians/band members here). Perhaps because of this, the album has a far less 'grandiose' sound. Several of his songs are led by simple piano or strummed acoustic guitar. Perhaps to fit alongside the nature of the six cover versions, his original material is in a similar vein. That is, his music sticks largely to the 3-4 minute 'pop-song' format. Of course there are a few noticeable exceptions; particularly the eerie 'The Unquiet Grave' (actually a traditional English folk song interpreted in typical Wilson style). Also noticeable, is that the music here is far less melancholic than I have come to expect from Wilson (again with exceptions!).

Steven Wilson's choice of covers may come as a surprise; Alanis Morissette, Abba, The Cure, Momus, Prince and Donovan. His cover's aren't always as good as the originals, but they certainly are different. If there's one track that really shone for me, it was his cover of Abba's 'The Day Before You Came'. I cant say that everything here is five-star material, but even his weaker material is very different from the rest of his work and acts as a fitting testament to one of rocks most varied and under appreciated talents. The best material on this album is certainly worth owning and for that alone I would recommend this album even to those who are not familiar with Steven Wilson's previous material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 6 covers, 6 originals, all Steve., 14 July 2014
By 
C. Porter (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cover Version (Audio CD)
Always good to have some new material from SW. Even if it's old material that was previously darned hard to get a hold of. It's an album of 2 halves, and other reviewers have gone into some detail on material and choices, so I won't repeat.

What I will say is that this is every bit the stripped-down experiment that SW describes it to be in his liner notes. Some tracks work better than others, as you'd expect - especially as the source material is almost wantonly esoteric.

Where his voice is used as an instrument, the tracks come off best - as, pared down in a production, it can be (being brutally honest) a thin-sounding, nasal affair. The more experimentation, the better - for me. So, 'A Forest' and 'The Unquiet Grave' will probably bear the most repeat listens. For me.

And hearing Steve cover a Momus track is a very curious experience. Whereas Mr Currie emits a dangerous and edgy persona behind an effete, sexualised delivery, SW just seems like too nice a chap to make good on the Lolita-like threat behind the lyric. It doesn't mar the experience, it's just a bit of a head-scratcher.

His original compositions here bear closest affinity with his earlier Blackfield output. Not a bad thing. Just to give you an idea.

To summarise, the whole is a curio, and every bit as good as you might expect. The homespun feel of it is at once its USP (Steve, Steve and only Steve) and its Achilles heel. It simply doesn't have the depth of a 'Raven' or the production values or sonic pallette of a 'Blank Planet'. It's charming, I suppose. But I can't give it 5 stars because the tone of it isn't magnificent, merely very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insomnia version., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover Version (Audio CD)
Well produced but compared to his other albums very boring.Hard to listen the whole album all the way through without falling asleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover Version (Audio CD)
Haunting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Covers [VINYL] (Vinyl)
no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars covers, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Covers [VINYL] (Vinyl)
another steven Wilson album already? but its different in that its other peoples songs and performed in his own unique way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cover Version
Cover Version by Steven Wilson (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews