Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book about Bombers
Wow!

This is a delight... wasn't sure what I was getting, but extremely pleased with the book.

It looks at the history of post-war British bombers - from the Canberra to the Victor, Vulcan and Valiant (via the slightly cumbersome Sperrin) and then looks in detail at the Buccaneers and Phantoms (with a sad tale of the TSR2), to end with the Tornados...
Published 16 months ago by Mark Shackelford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book gives a general review of the Jet Engine Bombers
As an Ex-Groundcrew Avionics Technician and keen interest in the V-Force White Ghosts this book lacks the specific Technical Details that particularly interest me.
It is ,however, very worthwhile as a general RAF Cold War era Bomber Aircraft publication
Published 6 months ago by Kevin Massey.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book about Bombers, 9 May 2013
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Wow!

This is a delight... wasn't sure what I was getting, but extremely pleased with the book.

It looks at the history of post-war British bombers - from the Canberra to the Victor, Vulcan and Valiant (via the slightly cumbersome Sperrin) and then looks in detail at the Buccaneers and Phantoms (with a sad tale of the TSR2), to end with the Tornados and Typhoons of today.

Lots of black and white photos, a variety of line drawings and a veritable Feast of colour photos in the centre section (although, strangely, no colour Valiants).

Given the author's career in aviation, I suspect the text is knowledgeable, and I am thrilled with the whole book - the paper is glorious, the layout excellent, photo reproduction (especially colour) is splendid.

Definitely the book for the aviation buff with an interest in the goings on of the 1950s onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative mil aviation book on the Cold War, 6 Jun 2013
Books on Britain's V-Bombers are a dime a dozen - similar to the ubiquitous Me-109

However this is a refreshing change as it covers all of Britain's attack aircraft - incl the Canberra ,Scimitar ,Nimrod , TSR-2 ,Tornado etc - it has the right balance between history/development/anecdotes/technical info and drawings with excellent quality of paper and glossy bunch of almost 16 pages of colour photos.

the author seems very well acquainted with a few of the bombers esp the Vulcan and though i was a bit skeptical at first when i first picked it up - its an amazing work for the discerning serious enthusiast.

I can think of a companion volume on cold war fighters which can follow - a must buy or read

4.5 stars - book loses half a star as there are no reference books or an index which is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb aviation books, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought 'Cold War Fighters' and 'Cold War Bombers' at the same time so this review covers both.

Basically, these are superb aviation books and each covers in detail the development of the bomber and fighter types from the second world war onward. Each is copiously illustrated and the books are divided into logical chapters each, in the main, covering each of the major types.

Well researched, Tim Mclellands style is easy to read and easy to follow.

If I was being particularly picky, I'd have wanted a little more on some of the prototypes during this era, but the prototypes for each of the main aircraft which entered service are covered.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book gives a general review of the Jet Engine Bombers, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an Ex-Groundcrew Avionics Technician and keen interest in the V-Force White Ghosts this book lacks the specific Technical Details that particularly interest me.
It is ,however, very worthwhile as a general RAF Cold War era Bomber Aircraft publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant short account of each a/c, 9 July 2014
By 
Alan "Make things easy" (Pucklechurch, centre of the world) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Cold War Bombers (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant short account of each a/c, not only from the technical side, but some of the political machinations. The account of the cancellation of the TSR2 is brief and excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent volume on British best!, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Cold War Bombers (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the nicest and complete volumes on British bombers of the Cold War era I have had the pleasure to read.I would say this is a "must have" for any serious fan of British aircraft! I can't wait to read the companion volume on British fighters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain's Cold War Bombers
6.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews