Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
This is a review for the 2014 model Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Baby Monitor.
We have the old model from 2011 and were always very happy with it except that the power jack thingy got a loose contact very early on and the monitor randomly ran out of battery and started beeping, which was less fun in the middle of the night. So after resorting to hold it in place...
Published 11 months ago by R S

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money
Less Than 4 months after buying this, the parent unit will not charge.
At £30 a month, this is daylight robbery.
Amazon say it's outside the return window.
Not fit for purpose. Don't waste your money.
Published 5 months ago by Miss M Long


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
This is a review for the 2014 model Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Baby Monitor.
We have the old model from 2011 and were always very happy with it except that the power jack thingy got a loose contact very early on and the monitor randomly ran out of battery and started beeping, which was less fun in the middle of the night. So after resorting to hold it in place with sticky tape, we gave up and ordered this new version.
The good:
The power jack thingy is MUCH more stable as it cannot move in its little socket on the monitor.
The picture is clearer and so is the sound
The power cable of the camera is longer so easier to position high up

The bad: We have twins and so need two cameras. We naturally assumed that the new monitor would be compatible with the old cameras. It is not! And there is no Motorola MBP36S additional camera available as yet.
The movements are jerky and not smooth any more. I suppose this is due to the higher resolution. It annoys me but is no big deal I suppose.

Apart from that it has some clever new additions such as that you can have two camera displayed on one screen- except of course that there is no second camera that works with it :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
Less Than 4 months after buying this, the parent unit will not charge.
At £30 a month, this is daylight robbery.
Amazon say it's outside the return window.
Not fit for purpose. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor customer service from Amazon and Motorola, 10 May 2015
By 
G. O'kelly "G1" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
Sadly the low score is not for the performance of the unit as it worked really well for 7 months. The low score is for the woefully unhelpful and lacking customer service from both Amazon and Motorola after we called to see what could be done.Both parties said it was not their responsibility and neither offered to repair or replace the electrically faulty item The screen unit kept switching itself off and making very odd noises. The screen battery now seems drained and I have now had to order a new battery. If that does not work then it will go in the bin. Incidentally i bought a wheelie bin today on Amazon so at least will go straight into use .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camera function and like that I can move the ..., 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
Great camera function and like that I can move the camera view without going into the room, shame the battery does not last longer as only just manages an evening when I am down stairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as its predecessor, 25 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
After having the MBP36 model, we tried to find an extra camera when we had another baby with no luck.

We ended up purchasing the MBP36S thinking is was pretty much the same camera with a slight upgrade.

This camera was slow, clunky, had a large delay on the camera, and if you try to move the camera, it would move very slowly if at all.

If you can find the 36 model NOT the 36S!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Problems within 1 month of purchase, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
We bought this monitor in June 2014, worked perfectly for 3 wks and then we had problems with the night vision. We returned it to amazon and ordered a replacement and the same problem is happening again. We've contacted Motorola directly hoping for a solution, if we don't get it sorted, I'll be returning the second monitor and requesting a refund. This is far too expensive to be having problems within the first month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No charge, 24 April 2015
By 
Si "Barely human." (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
When it works it's great, aside from a slightly fuzzy resolution - good range, good night vision, decent sound - but after five months the unit has stopped charging. It appears the connection on the unit itself has become loose and it fails to make a proper connection with the cable. I see this problem is reflected in a number of other reviews. Amazon are sending me a new one (24 hours turnaround time - great service) and I'm posting this one back with free postage, so that's excellent, but the problem lies with Motorola and their apparent unwillingness to fix a known fault. Let's hope the new one will last longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better., 28 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
This is probably the best baby monitor on the market, well as far as I'm aware. It allows you to watch your children from the monitor, communicate with them from a reasonable distance and best of all you can control the camera to rotate an almost 360 degrees. The sound is good, it can be set quite loud to make sure you are aware of any sounds and calls made by the children in the room your monitoring and it allows you to connect multiple cameras to one monitor.

Now the not so good stuff, it is a little overpriced for what it is, the build is cheap and fragile. We had one in the past and the power cable broke in a little over a year because it has a rigid cable that if it gets too many twists in it, it will literally break by itself, so you have to make sure that you unwind the cable now and again especially if your moving the camera or the monitor around too much if plugged into the wall. The battery life on the monitor could be better, I believe it runs at about an hour with the screen switched on or for around 3-4hrs with the screen off in sound only, obviously not a problem if plugged in to the mains.

We have tried a few monitors and without a doubt this is the best, it gives you the best of all worlds, you can see, hear and communicate with your children in whatever room they are in through the camera and believe me once you have had a system like this you will not want to go back to the other systems where you have sound only, or a non-moving camera. We have found we can keep an eye on the kids without having to run into the room each time we hear a sound and what happens is that the kids sit up for a moment and then go back to bed, if we didn't have this facility then we would end up making our own lives more difficult by waking the kids as we entered the room and getting stuck in the room until they fell asleep again.

This could be so much better and is in need of modernisation but it is definitely one of the better units available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price - update - had to return, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
******UPDATE******
Had to return this monitor 2 months after purchase because the viewer would not charge. Amazon exchanged the item immediately (excellent service! I had the replacement in 2 days). However I am having the same issue with the replacement product, a faulty connection for the charger, making the monitor unusable. Amazon are issuing a full refund.

Very happy with this monitor. The camera is excellent quality and the screen is nice and big. The battery drains quick enough, but we always leave the picture on rather than the sound, and it's to be expected that the picture will drain the battery quicker. The lead of the plug is very long, so the battery isn't an issue because of this. There is really good range on it too. I can bring it outside the house, hanging laundry and the signal is the same as inside. It's great having the room temperature on it, and love the zoom function.
I see an issue in the comments about seeing in to the crib. The camera needs height to see in to the crib. With the zoom function and quality of the picture, I can put the camera on our bookshelves and still get a great view of baby on the other side of the room. The camera doesn't need to be in the child's face to see she is okay.
The only annoying this about this monitor is where they put the power button on the viewer part, it makes it fiddly to turn on and off. This wouldn't stop me from recommending it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One fatal flaw - it won't charge! This is not a one-off, it's happened twice just to me., 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor (Baby Product)
This is the perfect baby monitor, great camera, great range, great audio BUT after around a month the plug/socket on the monitor loosen and it refuses to charge, meaning you run out of battery after a few hours and you're left with a useless plastic box! This is the second one we've had after Amazon kindly replaced the first, and we've had the exact same problem with both. Don't usually leave reviews but don't want other parents to suffer the same issues.

Such a shame because the thing is brilliant apart from that! Not sure why Motorola didn't test it more thoroughly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motorola MBP36S Digital Video Monitor
£116.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews