Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow well worth the money Paul Walker was genius.
I went to see this at the cinema, well worth the money great allrounder film to get your mates round plenty of action good solid story line great performances from both Walker and Belle. I loved the humour paul Walker brought to this film without making it into a comedy his facial expressions were brilliant and he and David Belle worked well together. The use of free...
Published 5 months ago by georgina

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I HANDLE WHAT NEEDS HANDLING,
In 2018, downtown Detroit becomes a walled in city...by a four foot wall. The Mayor wants to move the people out and build a place for rich people. Meanwhile Lino (David Belle) in a subplot is thwarting drug dealers as a vigilante. Detective Collier (Paul Walker) is also fighting against the bad guys downtown, while other cops are on the take.

Lino's ex-gf...
Published 8 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I HANDLE WHAT NEEDS HANDLING,, 7 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brick Mansions [DVD] (DVD)
In 2018, downtown Detroit becomes a walled in city...by a four foot wall. The Mayor wants to move the people out and build a place for rich people. Meanwhile Lino (David Belle) in a subplot is thwarting drug dealers as a vigilante. Detective Collier (Paul Walker) is also fighting against the bad guys downtown, while other cops are on the take.

Lino's ex-gf (Catalina Denis) gets kidnapped by the bad guys who also jack a vehicle with a suitcase neutron bomb now on a countdown. Collier has to go get the bomb that just happened to be strolling around the walled in city in a vehicle, something he is not smart enough to question until someone points it out to him how odd is the state of events.

The plot was all over the place and uneven. It appears Walker's dad was killed and he was looking for the culprit, but not that hard. David Belle had the best fight moves highlighted early on...i.e urban acrobatics. There was also a grindhouse cat fight. It is hard to imagine this botched screenplay was done by the same guy who did quality work like "Fifth Element" and "Transporter."

And you can't help but notice that in this film Paul Walker crashes his vehicle at 80-90+ mph and survives because he wore a seat belt.

Action with no substance. Appears to be overrated by Paul Walker fans moved by his untimely death.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The action makes up for the downfalls, 26 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Brick Mansions (DVD)
‘Brick Mansions’ is a remake of a foreign film (which I haven’t seen, so I can’t really compare it to that. However, if you check out the internet forums, you’ll naturally see many comments on how the original is better than the Hollywood remake).

It’s also Paul Walker’s last (fully-filmed) film, which adds an element of poignancy to it all. Even though he never really had a breakout stand-alone film that really catapulted him much higher than a decent B-list action star, I always felt he had it in him somewhere to really move into the mainstream. And, because of his tragic death, many will go easy on his last outing. I would have liked to see him produce something really memorable to go out on and, although you’ll probably have seen much of what’s on offer here before, it is entertaining enough to raise itself above the mountains of generic action B-movies infesting the DVD buckets.

Paul Walker plays an undercover cop (yes, another one – if you’ve seen him in The Fast and the Furious) who has to infiltrate another gang before they blow up the world. Or something. That may just be me making that bit up. But it doesn’t really matter. You know he’s the good guy and will have to bring down the baddies before they do whatever bad things they’re going to do.

And, in my opinion, it’s kind of the baddies who let the film down most. They’re just too clichéd. They all have a weird tendency to shoot dead their own men in front of the rest of the gang. Yes, this is a display of force intended to show just how terrible they are and keep their gang members living in fear. However, I always wonder why the gang don’t leave on account of it might one day happen to them?! Also, the baddies keep exotic fish here and there – all they’d need to be a proper ‘Bond villain’ would be a volcano lair and weirdly-named henchman. Naturally, all baddies use machine guns, yet five of them firing round after round only serves to shoot ‘near’ our hero.

It makes you wonder what the film-makers were trying for. For the most part everything is really serious. Yet, suddenly they’ll throw something funny in there that wouldn’t be out of place in a Roger Moore Bond film.

Paul Walker does what he does best and you can’t fault his performance or what he’s given to work with. But, the best part about the film is its action sequences. Yes, they’re hardly realistic, but they’re so well-choreographed that they’re damn good fun to watch.

So, if you’re into your action movies and fancy a fun, if not a bit generic, one that does its best to say farewell to Paul Walker, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow well worth the money Paul Walker was genius., 16 Aug. 2014
By 
georgina (liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brick Mansions [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this at the cinema, well worth the money great allrounder film to get your mates round plenty of action good solid story line great performances from both Walker and Belle. I loved the humour paul Walker brought to this film without making it into a comedy his facial expressions were brilliant and he and David Belle worked well together. The use of free running in this film was a stroke of genius as it added to the suspense.
I have always been a big fan of paul walkers films and he definitely did not disappoint his action work has always been first class and has a charming believable natural ellemet that only Walker can deliver such a great loss of a truly talented young man. Check out this film you won't be disappointed and if you have only seen walker in the fast and furious films check some of his other action films he won't disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and it doesn't disappoint. Brilliant acting from Walker and Belle, 9 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Brick Mansions [DVD] (DVD)
Don't listen to the negative reviews of this film. The last full film Paul Walker was in before his demise, and it doesn't disappoint. Brilliant acting from Walker and Belle. Great story line and plot twist, great fight and parkour scenes. And the tribute to Paul at the end of the film would leave anybody a little emotional. Five star performance from a treasure who was taken from this planet far too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars built as a brick Shhhh house, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
James Koppert (Scarborough England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brick Mansions (Blu-ray)
Dumb action film but you know, that is exactly what I wanted to watch. Stupid scenes a la Die Hard like the main character unclipping someones seatbelt and crashing into a wall so his suspect flies through his window, the building window and straight into the police station on the second floor. Excellent free running and action scenes. perfect for a friday night in. Oh and it has the RZA in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brick Mansions [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant film shame it was the last one that Paul walker made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly not bad, 18 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Brick Mansions (DVD)
A great little film this, not my normal thing but easy to watch, a bit of free running/Jackie Chan type fighting with a bit of a cheesy storyline. Perfect for a Sunday when theres nowt on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good action movie, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brick Mansions [DVD] (DVD)
A nice action movie. I got really stuck into the action. Paul Walker co star is really good too. This is a movie for people who like adrenaline, there s fight, pursuit, twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Class Movie, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brick Mansions [DVD] (DVD)
Marvellous fast paced action well thought out and with fantastic actors how the world can you go wrong. Ideas with thrills and spills that take you on a journey of unexpected events that have you too engaged not wanting to move. I found this to be brilliant, the twist and turns to the very end plus all that energy performing the jumping from place to place, to keep up I would have to step back 40 years or more. The story is great, a young undercover cop is sent into a ghetto of brick buildings to take down a drug lord and needs a help from another man who survives in the ghetto and is not willing to have him tag along, Than there is the rocket, a few bad cops and a bad mayor I don't remember missing out anyone did I. Oh well they are just a few objects that the cop has got to overcome. Oh the Girl yes I forgot her, Now who wins I'm not telling because that is cheating I brought it and now it's your turn to see and watch it. I rated this an A grade plus for sheer delight in a great show that deserves to be named the best for this year. Highly entertaining so what are you waiting for go on get the movie, pick up the popcorn jump to your favourite chair, put your feet up and relax for a fabulous night in at home with a terrific show that will have you on the move. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very bad movie. American version of district 13, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very bad movie.
American version of district 13.
If you see that movie don't watch this.
Is a cheap copy of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brick Mansions [DVD]
Brick Mansions [DVD] by Camille Delamarre (DVD - 2014)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews