Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb diverse music mix with the common denominator of Santana guitar. Yay!
Superb! Great collaborations which I think enhance the Santana sound more than him alone! ( Obviously I'm not a purist)

I originally bought the album for the first two hits. I'm not interested in the older songs as have them on other albums. The rest of the album was a very pleasant suprise. All songs of course having the strong Santana signature.
My taste...
Published on 21 Jan. 2009 by inspired

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Seems to be shortened versions of songs which is not made clear in product description. Feel cheated
Published 5 months ago by tel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb diverse music mix with the common denominator of Santana guitar. Yay!, 21 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
Superb! Great collaborations which I think enhance the Santana sound more than him alone! ( Obviously I'm not a purist)

I originally bought the album for the first two hits. I'm not interested in the older songs as have them on other albums. The rest of the album was a very pleasant suprise. All songs of course having the strong Santana signature.
My taste is broad so I get to satisy more than one genre in one album hit.
I defy you not to move a bit to most of these tunes.
From the fab hit 'Smooth' to 'Into the Night' with Chad Kroeger from Nickelback - superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Latino guitar god's greatest hits package favours the latterday collaborations, 24 Oct. 2007
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Of the eighteen tracks on this greatest hits compilation, only six date from the band's first three classic albums - Santana, Abraxas and Santana III. So although aged nostalgists can groove to the fluid Latin-tinged workout Oye Como Va or think back to a time when the languorous Samba Pa Ti hadn't become stripper soundtrack, most of the album will appeal more strongly to those who only know Latino guitar god Carlos Santana through his latterday high-profile collaborations.

But what collaborations they were. Purists may call it selling out - but Santana's sweaty-but-elegant Latino-pop made the perfect turn-of-the-century summer soundtrack, with Smooth (featuring Matchbox Twenty's Rob Thomas) right at the top of the heap. Corazon Espinado (featuring Mexican band Maná) is a rootsier version of the same recipe and also features on 1999 comeback album Supernatural.

There are dodgier moments. Brand-new collaboration Into The Night which opens this album features the sub-grunge croaking of Nickelback's Chad Kroeger and neither version of The Game Of Love (featuring Michelle Branch and Tina Turner respectively) really gets onto the scoreboard. And that ancient clunker Black Magic Woman doesn't get any better with age.

The same can't be said of the sizzling new single This Boy's Fire, featuring J. Lo and Baby Bash - a delicious Arabic-tinged groove with some sexy, snappy vocals. Best of the lot, though, is Santana's 1977 cover of The Zombies' 60s hit She's Not There, which dumps the song's original British art-school hysteria and turns sweaty, fearsome and feral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rave review!, 23 April 2010
By 
G. CROCKETT (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
This is a comprehensive album which includes all the old faves plus the hugely successful track, "Smooth". Santana fans will not be disappointed,nothing's missing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Santana, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (MP3 Download)
All the favourites together, wonderful collection, thoroughly recommended. Several duets including with Tina Turner that fully compliment the guitar skills of this performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carlos Santana, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
While on holiday in Tenerife recently my wife and I listened to a local singer/guitarist playing "Smooth", Santana's great Grammy winning track. This inspired us to buy this album - what a terrific decision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 11 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
Great collection of Santana's best and terrific price..it is impossible not to be pleased with with..a must have cd for the car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
Takes me back to the 70s. Picture this, in bed, alseep when sudderly this album comes on to get us kids up for school....lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGICAL SANTANA, 27 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
Whether driving or at home listening to your expensive Hi-Fi unit, you will not be reaching for the skip or off switch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, another Santana great., 12 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
I have a number of Santana CDs and was not dissapointed with this one either. If you like Santana you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Santana (Audio CD)
Wow I love this album and thoroughly enjoyed listening to it in the summer driving around with the roof down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Santana
Ultimate Santana by Santana
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews