Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars13
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2014
Nick Warren has been my favourite DJ for years now from the early days of back to mine and Global Undersground to his Way Out West work with Jody Wisternoff through to his latest mixes for Balance and Renaissance. He consistently delivers beautiful meoldic electronica that never fails to please my hears and this, his newest, compilation is no exception. Everything about this album screams quality from the sublime track choice, to the flawless mixing through to the gorgeous album cover. The thing I love about Nick's mixes, including this one, is the journey they take you on. Unlike so many other big name DJs from the 90's who still work today, Nick Warren has continued to do what he does best; work with outstanding tracks that have soul and substance compared to the sea of bland minimal tunes that so many DJs favour these days.

Following Nick's tried and tested formula of a downtempo cd and a more club orientated cd, this mix is one of the best I've heard for some time and shows that he is still at the top of his game. As this was financed through a pledge music cmpaign, I'm so pleased that it's a stunner of an album as that should mean more of these beauties to come.

I could list my favoutite tracks but they are all wonderful; there's not one tack that doesn't fit. So if you like Nick Warren, or you appreciate fantastically produced, layered, melodic, light and dark electronica mixed to perfection then this cd is for you. Highly recommended.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
The Soundgarden podcasts Nick has been doing for the last couple of years (every 2 months, free on itunes) have been pretty consistently awesome; each follows a particular formula: downtempo and eclectic for the first hour, and music representing his club sets for the second hour. Each show would present new and often unreleased music. This CD mix, the first in what will be a series, follows this pattern, CD1 is downtempo, CD2 is uptempo.

This is nothing new for Nick, GU30: Paris and his latest Renaissance mix are also structured this way. This mix is different to the sound garden shows in one respect though; Nick has asked certain artists to create music especially for this mix, and added it to some big tracks that are almost no-brainers for the set, such as the unbelievable 'Says' by Nils Frahm, probably the best track of last year.

The result is a really pleasing one, with the balance very well kept throughout both discs. Clara Moto's opener introduces CD1 brilliantly, and the post-classical turn it takes with Frahm and Arnalds works superbly. It takes a darker twist as it progresses, but stays deep and thoughtful in its feel throughout.

CD2 was a marked improvement of Warren's uptempo CD2 for his Renaissance mix last year. Not that that mix was weak, but this mix is much deeper, much more textured and has a bigger variety. Simon Shackleton's 'We All Shine On' in particular offers a nice glimpse of Warren's more upbeat dance floor bright side.

The Soundgarden has proved to be a very welcome edition to the Nick Warren collection.

5/5
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
As fans of Dance music many of us have grown to appreciate a lot more than just the music itself. It could be the atmosphere that it creates, it could be how it effects our emotions or it could just be the way it helps us to cast away our thoughts for a short while. During this time we have grown to love our DJ's, seeking out our favourite styles and genres and as fans we have placed a trust in them which is both unconditional and unbreakable.
A release from such a well established DJ is sure to be met with high regards, high expectations and a lot of critical praise. Anyone out there who is expecting to hear another down beat selection of tracks will in some sense be right but this release goes much further than this. It all starts with a soft and gentle twist of harmonic moments and brings together a serene collection of spaces and elements which are moved together with gracefulness and stature. The composition of the mix is elegant, sensual and dramatic where focused moments are dropped in random succession as an unexpected entity slowly begins to push the direction almost backwards in time. The motion then mellows towards the middle of the set as light turns to dark and dark begins to disappear into an invisible memory. A tight forceful grip flawlessly holds the set together and tracks such as Of Norway - A Forest and Fait Du Prince - Wintersonne reassure the listener that an experienced set of hands is responsible for the transposition of elevation as the pace and structure dissolve into a mysterious expanse.
Continuing on, the mix enters into a continuous drift of darkness and seductive rhythms now play a more dominant role as a controlled deepness draws on the soft floating light and tracks such as Simon Shackleton - We All Shine On and Stas Drive Pres. Quattar - Arjuna slowly drive to break down defences in order to reach out and touch the soul. The mix pushes on and when Tero Civill -Paper Girl strikes home, the entire shape of balance takes a decisive turn, where a subtle combination of forcefulness and poise bring the entire compilation into question. A dramatic change brings a swift burst of brightness and once again a sensation of loss encloses the space and the set slowly drifts away to its motionless self. Unbelievable!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Found this by accident, have loved Nick's Global underground series and though this will be a decent buy.
I was a bit taken a back by the first CD at how down beat it was on the first listen, I wasn't expecting it. but it grew on me and has become a great mood listening CD.
The second is the CD that gets you going with more bpm.

Both CD's are so well thought out and put together, if you are a fan or even know of him and you like Nick style, you have to have this in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
If you like Nick Warrens Master Series Mix and GU mixes, you will simply love this.
Fantastic mix of music that just sounds like one long journey rather than a series of individual tracks. Seamless and sublime!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
CD 1 def one for the collection. CD 2 needs more time to digest. Worth buying for 1st CD alone though. Beautiful piece of ambience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
An introduction by Nick Warren to lots of new artists, love Nils Frahm, saw him at the Roundhouse in London awesome!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Fantastic from beginning to the end. Amazing music journey for your mind and body.
Nick Warren at his best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Great melodic deep stuff as expected from Mr. Warren!
Highly Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I'm a massive fan of Nick Warren's music, especially in recent years. I have all his recent mix albums and regularly listen to his podcasts on Delta FM and other stations.......but The Soundgarden really does top the lot. I love CD1, with it's amazing selection of ambient and chilled tracks, but CD2 is the killer for me.......amazing deep, tech and progressive house, with some fantastic tracks. Niko Mayer's "Anunnaki" is the pick of the tracks for me, but there are so many great tunes throughout both mixes. Whatever you do, buy this, because it is classic, timeless Nick Warren.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.45

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)